Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

D* Channels Missing After Restart


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SFjr

SFjr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:23 AM

I have had the HR20 only since Saturday. To troubleshoot another issue, I power cycled the DVR this morning.

After restarting and going through all of its testing, the HR20 resumed normal operations. However, I could only tune to the following HD channels - ESPN2-HD, TNT-HD, Discovery-HD, HDNet, and FOX East HD.

ESPN-HD, UHD, and HDNet Movies were no where to be found. If I did channel up from ESPN2-HD, it went straight to TNT-HD. If I manually entered 74, the HR20 would say channel not available. None of the missing channels showed up in the guide either.

After a few minutes, ESPN-HD returned. Followed by UHD. Then after about 3 more minutes HDNet Movies returned.

Has anyone else seen this type of behavior?

(I immediatley checked my HD-Tivo - hooked up to the same 5-LNB dish - and verified that it was able to tune to the channels above that were missing on the HR20. I have signal strength between 95-100 on all transponders available in my area on each satellite).

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,906 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:25 AM

Welcome to the forum!

This has happened to me once. I wasn't as patient as you, and reset the receiver again. The missing channels came back.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   mhayes70

mhayes70

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,224 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:26 AM

I wonder if for some reason it had trouble seeing one of the sat's that carry those channels?

#4 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:27 AM

Your HR20 was still downloading additional SAT-Information/processing your packages ect.. (hence why they returned after a few minutes).

You will see similar things at times, with the Locals after a reboot.
And it is not exclusive to the HR20... other units like the D10/11/12, H20/21 ect... will act the same.

You will sometimes see it on a DTiVo, after a full rebuild of the system
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   deweybroncos

deweybroncos

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:39 AM

I have the same problem. I can tune get ESPN2 HD, but not ESPN HD etc. The tech that was here last week and the CSR's tried resetting,aligning the dish, checking my programming, and finally said my HR-20 wasn't seeing the 119 sat. which is where the missing channels come from. They were supposed to be here today with a new HR-20 but the "truck never came in", so tomorrow they will bring out a new one. It seems odd to me that this is the problem. I hate to give up my current HR-20 as it work(s)(ed?) fine and i have stuff saved on there that I haven't burned to dvd.

#6 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:46 AM

I have the same problem. I can tune get ESPN2 HD, but not ESPN HD etc. The tech that was here last week and the CSR's tried resetting,aligning the dish, checking my programming, and finally said my HR-20 wasn't seeing the 119 sat. which is where the missing channels come from. They were supposed to be here today with a new HR-20 but the "truck never came in", so tomorrow they will bring out a new one. It seems odd to me that this is the problem. I hate to give up my current HR-20 as it work(s)(ed?) fine and i have stuff saved on there that I haven't burned to dvd.


Are any of your other receivers seeing the channel/sat ?
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#7 OFFLINE   deweybroncos

deweybroncos

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 24 July 2007 - 10:07 AM

Are any of your other receivers seeing the channel/sat ?


One of my other receivers (D-10) shows the 119 sat with good numbers on the transponders, however one others (R-15) doesn't. The HDTV with the HR-20 and the R-15 dvr tv do not show the 119. My station losses all occured two weeks ago right after the directv guy came out and switched out one of my D-10's for the R-15 dvr. Did they change something on on my multi-switch or what would cause this?

#8 OFFLINE   deweybroncos

deweybroncos

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 24 July 2007 - 11:54 AM

Anybody else have this problem?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...