Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Splitting HR20 HDMI?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   psubill78

psubill78

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Nov 21, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:29 AM

Anyone successfully splitting the output from your HR20 to 2 HDMI TVs?

If so, what splitter did you use? I've read all sorts of non-success...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,371 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 24 July 2007 - 10:22 AM

You means something like this .....
http://www.amazon.co...e/dp/B000FMJLQC

The problem can be that some equipment won't work with the weaker signal coming out of the splitter. Their not too expensive, though, and you won't hurt anything by trying one.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,281 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 11:02 AM

You means something like this .....
http://www.amazon.co...e/dp/B000FMJLQC

I tried that same cable, but only 1 of the outputs had a signal. :( Decided to use a component cable for my second tv. If you do want to try that type of cable, it is about $4 cheaper at monoprice:

http://www.monoprice...format=2&style=

#4 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,920 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 11:07 AM

You means something like this .....
http://www.amazon.co...e/dp/B000FMJLQC

The problem can be that some equipment won't work with the weaker signal coming out of the splitter. Their not too expensive, though, and you won't hurt anything by trying one.


It's not just a weaker signal problem. The HDCP and HDMI resolution can only be negotiated with one TV, and the link to the second TV may then not work correctly.

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,371 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 24 July 2007 - 11:50 AM

It's not just a weaker signal problem. The HDCP and HDMI resolution can only be negotiated with one TV, and the link to the second TV may then not work correctly.


Good point. I was trying to keep the explanation simple :)
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   ajwillys

ajwillys

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 314 posts
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 11:55 AM

It's not just a weaker signal problem. The HDCP and HDMI resolution can only be negotiated with one TV, and the link to the second TV may then not work correctly.


It can still be done though, you just have to get a *more expensive* HDCP compatible splitter. Here's a little more info:

http://www.hdmi.info...i-splitter.html

Disclaimer: I've never tried this product or splitting an HDMI signal, just passing along what I've seen.
AT9->WB68->HR20 and (2) R15's
Networked, HR20 Audio->Optical Digital->Pioneer VSX-D812K, HR20 Video->6' HDMI->Sony KDS-50A2000
R15's->Composite->TV's not worth mentioning

#7 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 24 July 2007 - 12:07 PM

It's not cheap.

http://www.monoprice...format=2&style=

#8 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,165 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 12:13 PM

The problem is that with HDMI being a bi-directional communication protocol both pieces of equipment need to "shake hands" before they communicate successfully with one another.

A true HDMI splitter is actually more of a repeater. It has to decode and re-encode the signal to the two outputs and each of those outputs has to shake hands with the display devices.

This cannot be reliably done with a Y-cable type solution. It may work on devices that use HDMI but don't employ HDCP (e.g. HD Home Camcorders) but with protected content HDCP handshaking becomes an obstacle because you have three "hands" trying to shake.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa




spam firewall