Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Some set-up advice on the HR20


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 24 July 2007 - 06:17 PM

Just installed today and the tech set the video to crop. It seemed like everything was way oversized at this setting. I have a 57 inch Hitachi Widescreen and seems like strech worked better. Just wondering what is the typical setting for SD channels. The HD seems to be coming in fine, it was just the SD. Any other tips would be great. I have not had a chance to play with it as of yet but will a bit later.
Thx for all the info on this sight
Oh it is the HR20-100 so I guess the CE updates are gonna be slim to none :-(

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 06:19 PM

Stretched or pillar box. I always use stretched.

#3 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,830 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 06:31 PM

I like stretched the best, crop is a visual disaster.:)

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#4 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 06:40 PM

crop is for "letterboxed" SD stuff only..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#5 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 24 July 2007 - 06:44 PM

Thx I hated Cropped also. I guess I will stick with stretched it seems to look ok

#6 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,137 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 06:53 PM

Got mine on stretch

JACK,
 
 


#7 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 07:03 PM

Just installed today and the tech set the video to crop. It seemed like everything was way oversized at this setting. I have a 57 inch Hitachi Widescreen and seems like strech worked better. Just wondering what is the typical setting for SD channels. The HD seems to be coming in fine, it was just the SD. Any other tips would be great. I have not had a chance to play with it as of yet but will a bit later.
Thx for all the info on this sight
Oh it is the HR20-100 so I guess the CE updates are gonna be slim to none :-(


Use what looks best to you.

For me, most SD programming is set for pillar box. However, on letterboxed shows such as Eurkea on SciFi, I change to crop. With Scifi letterboxing and the HR20 pillaring it, the whole picutre gets framed. So, crop actually turns into zoom, very little gets cut off and people don't gain 20 pounds. :)

I also use stretch for some things where I really cant tell a difference.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#8 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:00 PM

If you keep it on pillar do you take the chance for burn in ?

#9 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:08 PM

If you keep it on pillar do you take the chance for burn in ?


On my LCD, not a chance. On any recent plasmas, not unless you have the settings waaaaaaaaaaay out of whack. AKA Torch mode. First generation plasmas, sure there is a chance. Don't think its an issue with DLPs, but not 100% sure.

Bottom line, set it for whatever looks best to you for the program your watching. After all, your the one watching, not some guys out on the net. :grin:
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#10 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:12 PM

Thx I will keep it on pillar since it looks best, I was worried about burn in. I had read it was an issue in the past if you watched SD with the side bars. That is why I have always used stretch. Thx again

#11 OFFLINE   DawgLink

DawgLink

    Woof Woof Woof

  • Registered
  • 1,542 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Posted 24 July 2007 - 09:12 PM

Stretch for me




spam firewall