Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Look what a SWM will let you do.


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   daniellee

daniellee

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 28 July 2007 - 03:15 PM

With things being slow around here, I thought I’d share this with ya’ll (you guys, if you’re not from The South).

When we remodeled our kitchen last year I had a wall cabinet built especially to hold a DirecTV HD DVR. It is 14” deep instead of the usual 12”. While it may sound extravagant to have an HD DVR in a kitchen this was my thinking. First, the TV in the kitchen is the most watched TV we have – on most of the time. Second, when MRV comes along this could be the common DVR to record shows that my wife and I both like to watch - I have my DVR in the den, she has her DVR in the bedroom and with MRV we could share the one in the kitchen. I ran the cables, RG6, CAT3 (phone) and CAT5 into a false bottom area of the cabinet and then up through the shelf to the receiver. I only ran one RG6 drop thinking I could run the other one if MRV actually happened. Well the fly in the ointment turned out to be the thick, bulky and hard to manage nature of RG6 cable in such a confined space. I was having a hard time working with just one cable so adding another would certainly have made matters even worse. But now with the HR20 & the SWM a second cable is no longer necessary.

But would the SWM let me get rid of the RG6 in the back of the cabinet completely?

The first picture shows a very thin & very flexible coax cable with push-on connectors – about 5 feet long. I think it came with an old Sony receiver I had a few years back to connect the receiver to the antenna input on a TV. Remember, you would turn the TV to channel 3 or 4... Anyway, it works. Now the HR20 has two tuners running through this one tiny cable. The other pictures tell the rest of the story.

Attached Thumbnails

  • DSCF0091.JPG
  • DSCF0095.JPG
  • DSCF0096.JPG
  • DSCF0098.JPG
  • DSCF0102.JPG
  • DSCF0103.JPG
  • DSCF0106.JPG
  • DSCF0108.JPG

-Danny

AU9S Slimline Dish -> SWM-16
(1) HR20-700, (1) HR20-100, (1) HR21-100, (1) HR21-200, (1) HR21-700 (all DECA network with internet connection)
See my kitchen wall cabinet setup here

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 28 July 2007 - 03:22 PM

Very nice setup!
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#3 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,496 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 28 July 2007 - 03:24 PM

With the exception of it being JG on your TV I'd have to say it looks pretty slick!
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#4 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,661 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 28 July 2007 - 03:31 PM

Sweet setup! This will give a lot of people ideas, I'm sure.

I know it gives me some!

#5 ONLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,645 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 28 July 2007 - 04:00 PM

It looks like it's flexible to accommodate whatever comes along in the future, too! Great job!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   rsblaski

rsblaski

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2003

Posted 28 July 2007 - 06:35 PM

With the exception of it being JG on your TV I'd have to say it looks pretty slick!


I agree. A pic of TS or his Big Orange would have looked better.
Hopefully tomorrow there will be a fence that needs climbing!
Remember, when it comes to audio/video, more is always better. (This does NOT apply to remote controls!)

#7 OFFLINE   Drewg5

Drewg5

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 716 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 28 July 2007 - 07:11 PM

I want one.....drool's with hope

My Junk

ATT Uverse

45" Sony

30" Visio web connected


#8 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    High tech and loving it.

  • Super Moderators
  • 20,245 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 28 July 2007 - 07:18 PM

The second largest TV in the house is in our dining room and Kitchen open space. So I fully understand your kitchen arrangement. Currently only one HR20, but it also features the H21 because SWM enables me to.

Cheers,
Tom
Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)

#9 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,629 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 28 July 2007 - 07:22 PM

Even better yet 2 on one cable with ota to boot :)
http://www.dbstalk.c...60&d=1174018253

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#10 OFFLINE   Joelh1

Joelh1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2006

Posted 28 July 2007 - 08:24 PM

Even better yet 2 on one cable with ota to boot :)
http://www.dbstalk.c...60&d=1174018253


Looks like R2D2 threw up.

#11 OFFLINE   rrrick8

rrrick8

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,020 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2007

Posted 28 July 2007 - 08:32 PM

Even better yet 2 on one cable with ota to boot :)
http://www.dbstalk.c...60&d=1174018253


Posted Image
--------------------------------------------

MY SETUP

Vermilionweather.com

#12 OFFLINE   daniellee

daniellee

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 01 August 2007 - 06:03 AM

As described in the OP...

For those interested in trying mini coax for the last few feet of a SWM run, I found a very reasonable (read cheap) source here. They have other good stuff too. I've been looking all over the place for these. Max shipping is only $5. I can not vouch for their service - just placed my first order with them a few minutes ago.

Edit: 8/2/07 - no email order acknowledgment or confirmation (not good) but did get email "to notify you that the package information below has been transmitted to UPS" with a tracking #. Delivery date is tomorrow.

Edit: 8/3/07 - order arrived today and everything is OK. Cable quality seems good - now running 3 HR20s with mini-coax at the end of the SWM runs.
-Danny

AU9S Slimline Dish -> SWM-16
(1) HR20-700, (1) HR20-100, (1) HR21-100, (1) HR21-200, (1) HR21-700 (all DECA network with internet connection)
See my kitchen wall cabinet setup here

#13 OFFLINE   mocarob

mocarob

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 186 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:23 AM

How did you guys get your single wire switch?
I live in L.A. and the installers keep on telling me theyre not available..

#14 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,791 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:26 AM

Very Nice!!

However, being originally from northern NJ, that would be Yous Guys..... :)

Mike

µß
If you don't want to do sub-models at least do the new equipment...I'm just sayin'
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#15 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:32 AM

Nice going. Should get a HDMI wall plate behind that TV though :D
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#16 OFFLINE   fluffybear

fluffybear

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,032 posts
  • LocationPeachtree City, GA.
Joined: Jun 19, 2004

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:34 AM

How did you guys get your single wire switch?
I live in L.A. and the installers keep on telling me theyre not available..


You can obtain them through 3rd party sources such as Solid Signal.

You can also contact dave29 as I believe he is offering them to DBStalk members at a fantastic price

Proud DirecTV customer since July, 1994

My Q2 2014 Set-Up


#17 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    High tech and loving it.

  • Super Moderators
  • 20,245 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:36 AM

How did you guys get your single wire switch?
I live in L.A. and the installers keep on telling me theyre not available..


Some participated in a field trial last year, others are purchasing from Soligsignal or other online retailers.

SWM rollout is expanding all the time, LA installers should have it soon.

Cheers,
Tom
Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)

#18 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,823 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:43 AM

SWM rollout is expanding all the time, LA installers should have it soon.

It should be noted that they aren't currently giving them away to existing customers and it is unlikely that they will in the foreseeable future. Further, if you have a collection of legacy receivers, they probably won't show you much lovin' either.

#19 OFFLINE   HaRrrgh20!

HaRrrgh20!

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 113 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:51 AM

The wiring in my kitchen cabinet is not quite as clean...

3 HR20s, 6x8 Multiswitch (cascaded from basement with 4 coax lines), HDMI outputs to 2 rooms (including a beefy 25' cable), 75' dual component cables back to the bedroom (so, that's 10 more coax lines).

I used to have an amplified OTA antenna in there too, but took that out when I added the third HR20.

SWM would have been nice! I still have an HR20 downstairs that's running off of 1 line.

#20 OFFLINE   DBSNewbie

DBSNewbie

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 807 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 28 August 2008 - 10:22 AM

The SWM makes installing TVs, in locations that otherwise would have been nearly impossible or impractical to get to, a relatively easy task.

I was able to split and extend a single coax line from the Master Bedroom to another HD Receiver. From that receiver, I fished component cables to a wall-mounted 20" LCD in the Master Bathroom, which can be viewed from the Shower, Jacuzzi, Double Sink, and Make-up vanity. I also ran a composite feed from the receiver to a Sony wireless AV transmitter, which sends the D* feed to a Sony Playstation mounted on the door of our Master Bath water closet. :grin:

We have RF remotes on the vanity table, shower (in a waterproof pouch), and in the water closet. So, thanks to the SWM, we can still watch TV while getting ready in the morning. :)
Slimline, WB616 (2), SWM8 (2), OTA, MRV (U)
Den: Sony KDS-60A3000 -> HR20-700; Sony KDL-40S2000 (5) -> HR20-700 (2) & HR20-100 (3)
Master Bed: Kuro PDP-5020FD -> HR34-700
Master Bath: Sony KDL-26S3000 + PSP -> HR24-200
Daughter's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR20-700
Son's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR24-500
Kitchen: Sharp 20" -> H24-700
Guest: Sharp 20" -> H20-100
Patio: SunbriteTV 3220 -> H25-500
Living Room: Sony 42" XBR Plasma -> HR20-100

Diagram of Setup




spam firewall