Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Add 2nd HR-20 for HD programming


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   nevets140

nevets140

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2007

Posted 30 July 2007 - 01:09 PM

I have a second room wired with just one coaxial and it would be almost impossible to run a second coaxial.

I would like to order a 2nd HR-20 with the understanding I can't record/watch two different HD programs. The HR-20 would be to feed a Sony 1080p projector to watch HD programming.

With only one inbound coaxial and a phone line, is that all I need to use with a HR-20 or do I have to settle for just a HD receiver due to the one coaxial line situation?

Thank you.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 30 July 2007 - 01:13 PM

I have a second room wired with just one coaxial and it would be almost impossible to run a second coaxial.

I would like to order a 2nd HR-20 with the understanding I can't record/watch two different HD programs. The HR-20 would be to feed a Sony 1080p projector to watch HD programming.

With only one inbound coaxial and a phone line, is that all I need to use with a HR-20 or do I have to settle for just a HD receiver due to the one coaxial line situation?

Thank you.


You are able to use a HR20 with only one SAT line. You do not need two. But like you already said you will only be able to record one program or watch one program. But later this year the SWM (single wire multi-switch) will be coming out and it would work great for you. If you don't know what SWM is do a search and you will find a lot of threads about it.

#3 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,704 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 30 July 2007 - 01:13 PM

For now, you can use the one line and you can then record at any time:

1 OTA
2 OTA
1 Satellite
1 Satellite/1 OTA

Both OTA tuners, if you have an antenna connected, are active.

At some time in the not too distant future, the Single Wire Module (SWM) will be available and installation of that will allow for 2 satellite signals on a single line.

The SWM is discussed in the Cutting Edge forum.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,908 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 30 July 2007 - 01:50 PM

...but if you're not planning to record, a receiver-only unit's pretty much free.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   nevets140

nevets140

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2007

Posted 30 July 2007 - 01:52 PM

Thank you for the info




Protected By... spam firewall...And...