Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 RV compatable?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bushead

bushead

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2007

Posted 15 August 2007 - 02:08 PM

Does anyone know if the HR20 is certified to use in an RV? I know I read something about DVR's not generally being good for that type of application, but I can't seem to find a list of RV "certified" recievers - if such a list exists.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 15 August 2007 - 02:12 PM

I would expect it to be as good as a computer.. just make sure the power is off when traveling (so harddrive will park)

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,874 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 August 2007 - 02:16 PM

You might want to PM Spanky_Partain, I understand he's got Hi-Def and Couch to Go.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 15 August 2007 - 02:19 PM

I sure you probably will be you do need to have a SAT signal for the HR20 to boot up. So if you don't have one you can not just take it to watch recorded shows.

#5 OFFLINE   Beardedbosn

Beardedbosn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2002

Posted 16 August 2007 - 08:57 PM

Another question for RV use is will the unit record without a phone line attached??
Chris & Judi, Retired Coast Guard, Fulltime RVers 3/93 to 12/07

#6 OFFLINE   moparman76_69

moparman76_69

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2007

Posted 16 August 2007 - 10:58 PM

Another question for RV use is will the unit record without a phone line attached??


I can answer that one :) yes it will still work properly without a phone connection, you won't be able to order ppv from your remote, but that shouldn't matter.

#7 OFFLINE   philslc

philslc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 164 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 17 August 2007 - 01:06 AM

Does anyone know if the HR20 is certified to use in an RV?


I have an HR-20 in my RV. I have 101, 110 and 117 now. Still working on a way to get 99 and 103. Motosat says they are working on the problem.
HR20-100

#8 OFFLINE   Beardedbosn

Beardedbosn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2002

Posted 17 August 2007 - 03:35 AM

:) Thanks moparman76_69. I have "E" experience but was not sure about the HR20.
Chris & Judi, Retired Coast Guard, Fulltime RVers 3/93 to 12/07

#9 OFFLINE   DFDureiko

DFDureiko

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2006

Posted 17 August 2007 - 03:36 AM

Dont' you mean 119?
I have a Motosat MHDTV that get's 101,110,119. I had called Motosat over the last year. The last time was about 4 months ago and they said at that time they had no plans for a five LNB dish or upgrade. I have an an HR10 with a Samsung 23in HDTV. also sometimes run off a trace U2512 inverter, everthing works great except we cant get the new programing on the new sat's this septemer. So no point in upgrading to the HR20 until there was a way to access the other sats
have you been givin a timeline for a Motosat Upgrade?
Dan

#10 OFFLINE   philslc

philslc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 164 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 17 August 2007 - 06:00 AM

Dont' you mean 119?


Dan,

Actually, I mean 101, 110, 117 and 119. I don't use the 119 so, I don't think about it.

I have a Datastorm internet dish with transmit and receive on 117 plus BOW receive on 101, 110 and 119.

I visited Motosat in June and they were playing with 99 and 103 but no solution yet. They did say there would not be an upgrade to the MHDTV system. Their 5 SAT prototype was much larger than the MHDTV.
HR20-100

#11 OFFLINE   DFDureiko

DFDureiko

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2006

Posted 17 August 2007 - 07:19 AM

Dan,

Their 5 SAT prototype was much larger than the MHDTV.


which means no doubt more expensive than the MHDTV.
Needless to say, there must be some po'ed MHDTV owners that purchased this with the understanding they were to recieve DirecTV HD programming. (I purchased mine less than a year ago, september '06) and it's obsolete in less than a year.
I am beyond dissappointed in the way Motsat is handling this.

We are looking at a newer airstream and I'm thinking to go with the MD500 and switch our household over to DISH. as I believe the MD500 gets most HD?

#12 OFFLINE   Beardedbosn

Beardedbosn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2002

Posted 18 August 2007 - 10:58 AM

This is another thread I came across. I look around DBSTalk to gather information on the "D" products in case the deals for new suscribers get too good to resist
:grin:

I fulltime RV and this weekend I am sitting in a grove of trees without the dish attached and can still watch previously recorded with an "E" SD DVR. The information I got is that you cannot do that with an HR20. That lack of function would make it hard for me to say the unit was "RV Certified"

Chris
Chris & Judi, Retired Coast Guard, Fulltime RVers 3/93 to 12/07

#13 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 18 August 2007 - 12:28 PM

To answer the issue in your subject line:

As long as when booting up it can see the sats, you can watch any recorded program on the drive. If it would be without power when you are driving around and then you turned it on and you didnt have the dish pointed at the satelittes, it will not play previous recordings. So it CAN be used without a dish in that situation. You cant disconnect the sat cables, take it to a friends house and playback previous recordings, unless he has a D* sat dish. It MUST see at least 101 when you plug it in.

#14 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,631 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 18 August 2007 - 12:36 PM

The no-satellite issue on boot up is a known bug. A while back, DirecTV tested a CE release that was supposed to fix that issue. It didn't and that correction was pulled back. It is assumed that they will eventually get back to fix that bug but I haven't seen anything on it recently.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#15 OFFLINE   bushead

bushead

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2007

Posted 19 August 2007 - 07:57 PM

Thanks for the help guys. From reading the replys, I assume it is not a good idea to run the HR20 while driving? - we have an in-motion satellite connected

#16 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,010 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 19 August 2007 - 08:01 PM

The HR20 has a hard drive. The risk of running it while driving it motion damage to the drive (hit a bump or something). The in-motion dish/antenna most likely does not receive the two new mpeg4 satellite positions (99 and 103), so you won't be getting the new HD offerings.

Carl

#17 OFFLINE   techntrek

techntrek

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 298 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2007

Posted 20 August 2007 - 05:12 AM

carl6 - yes it has a hard drive but like all modern drives, it can handle a fair amount of abuse. I wouldn't worry about running it while going down the road.
How do I enable DLB for my life?

#18 OFFLINE   moparman76_69

moparman76_69

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2007

Posted 20 August 2007 - 08:38 PM

I'd say as long as you're on a somewhat smooth highway you'd be fine. If you have to go down a rough road or field then I'd power it down before you do.

#19 OFFLINE   Thaedron

Thaedron

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,886 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 20 August 2007 - 09:03 PM

My father now lives in an RV, their computer runs all the time while they are driving with no issues.
Main viewing system HR20-100 via SWM-8, using HDMI, networked, using DirecTV on Demand and MRV!
Samsung HLT-5689S | Oppo DV-981HD | Denon AVR-4306 | QNAP TS-219P NAS and Media Server

Full Setup


Proud supporter of the HR20 Wish List Survey

#20 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,631 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 21 August 2007 - 01:27 PM

My father now lives in an RV, their computer runs all the time while they are driving with no issues.


A desktop or a laptop. Most desktops are not meant to be used that way.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo




Protected By... spam firewall...And...