Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

External Hard Drives That Work


  • Please log in to reply
527 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   HobbyTalk

HobbyTalk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,659 posts
Joined: Jul 14, 2007

Posted 24 August 2007 - 10:04 AM

I know there are a couple of threads about drives that don't work and a few posts about some that do, but the info is scattered in different threads. Maybe we can start a thread that lists the make and model of drives that do work (at the present time) for those that are looking to purchase an external drive.

Here is a list of EHDs that work taken from the posts below

Buffalo Technology DriveStation SATA 500GB
Cavalry 500GB
Fantom Titanium 500GB
Hitachi 500GB
HP Personal Media Drive 500GB
I/O Magic Gigabank 500 - 500GB
IOmega 500GB Desktop
Maxtor 750GB OneTouch
Maxtor 320GB Personal Storage 3200
Maxtor 500GB Personal Storage 3200
MAXTOR DiamondMax 9 80GB ATA/133 HDD
Maxtor OneTouch II 200GB
Maxtor OneTouch II 300GB
Maxtor OneTouch III 500GB
Maxtor OneTouch IV 500GB
Seagate Baracuda ATA V 120GB
Seagate Free Agent Pro 320GB
SimpleTech 320GB
SimpleTech 500GB
WD My Book Essentials 250GB
WD My Book Essentials 500GB
WD My Book Essentials 750GB
WD My Book Home Edition (USB, Firewire, eSATA) 750G
WD My Book Essentials 1TB
WD My Book Premium Edition 750GB (Some reports of issues on this drive have been reported. See WD thread for more details)

Updated 05/20/08

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 24 August 2007 - 10:22 AM

I've said it a few times now, but I have still not had any problems with the Maxtor 750 gig OneTouch drive.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#3 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 24 August 2007 - 10:48 AM

Good idea HobbyTalk.

I have a WD MyBook 250GB and I have not noticed any issues.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#4 OFFLINE   twindaddy

twindaddy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 24 August 2007 - 11:01 AM

If possible, please highlight/color your drive in red bold so people can easily skim through this post. Thanks!

#5 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 24 August 2007 - 11:12 AM

Ok... I colored the initial posts. Good idea twindaddy. Will make it easier to scan
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#6 OFFLINE   Farmer Dave

Farmer Dave

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2004

Posted 24 August 2007 - 11:14 AM

IOmega 500GB Desktop

#7 OFFLINE   mwsmith2

mwsmith2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 123 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2004

Posted 24 August 2007 - 11:28 AM

No problems at all. Acquired from Fry's

500GB Maxtor Personal Storage 3200

#8 OFFLINE   David-A

David-A

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2006

Posted 24 August 2007 - 11:46 AM

No problems with my second 750GB WD My Book Essentials. The first one, though, was DOA.

#9 OFFLINE   Ken Green

Ken Green

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,105 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2005

Posted 24 August 2007 - 11:59 AM

I/O Magic 500GB
WD MyBook 750GB
No issues with either :)
ViP722 - ViP622² - ViP612 - ViP211 - 510
Slingbox SOLO
Dish 1000+ 110/118/119/129 - HD Locals/118w - DPP44²
EHDD - 750g/500g - Broadband via HomePlug
Sony 51" HDRPTV² - Dell 23" HD LCD - Sharp Aquos 17" HD LCD
OTA - Winegard HD9095P - 55 miles

#10 OFFLINE   ViP9999

ViP9999

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2007

Posted 24 August 2007 - 12:56 PM

Seagate Baracuda ATA V 120GB

#11 OFFLINE   tedb3rd

tedb3rd

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 357 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2006

Posted 24 August 2007 - 01:32 PM

Maxtor 750 gig OneTouch--no problems thus far. But I would recommend placing the hard drive somewhere hidden because the light on it is bright, flashy, and annoying.


#12 OFFLINE   dpd146

dpd146

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 415 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2005

Posted 24 August 2007 - 02:56 PM

WD 750GB My Book Premium Edition

So far so good.

#13 OFFLINE   DanoP

DanoP

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 24 August 2007 - 03:55 PM

WD MyBook 750GB is working well.

#14 OFFLINE   Marriner

Marriner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2006

Posted 24 August 2007 - 04:31 PM

Having good performance so far from my 500GB Maxtor Personal Storage 3200
ViP722K with OTA tuner (Dual Mode SW L6.86), Western Digital 1 Tb USB hard drive, Sharp LC-52D64U HD TV, Sony V-333ES, Bose AM-10. ViP722K with OTA tuner (Dual Mode SW L6.86), Sling Adapter, Maxtor OneTouch 3 750 Gb hard drive,Vizio E422VA, Sharp 1-bit SD-HX500 surround.

#15 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 24 August 2007 - 05:16 PM

If possible, please highlight/color your drive in red bold so people can easily skim through this post. Thanks!


What? Skim through the posts? You don't like to read unless it is in red? :lol:
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#16 OFFLINE   odbrv

odbrv

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: May 12, 2006

Posted 24 August 2007 - 06:18 PM

SimpleTech 500GB has worked fine
DBS user since 1996: 2 622s with 2 SimpleTech 500GB and 1 WD 1.5 TB EHDs , 1st 622 has 1-PROSCAN LCD 240hz 42" via HDMI (using a Pioneer VSX 516 home theater) and a Toshiba 36" SD via tv2; 2nd 622 has 1-Vizio 3D HDTV 42" via HDMI (with a Panasonic Blu-Ray 3d via HDMI) and 3 SD TVs connected to tv2.

#17 OFFLINE   TNVOL1111

TNVOL1111

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Apr 13, 2006

Posted 25 August 2007 - 10:16 AM

Is there a list of HD's that consistently don't work with the 622?

#18 OFFLINE   Grandude

Grandude

    RichardParker II

  • Registered
  • 875 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2004

Posted 25 August 2007 - 10:21 AM

Maxtor OneTouch III 500GB Works with no setup or user problems.

Brian...reporting from the left coast
 2 Hoppers,1 Joey, 1 VIP211K active receivers
 I still believe in magic
!


#19 OFFLINE   chiefclerk

chiefclerk

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2005

Posted 25 August 2007 - 10:29 AM

SimpleTech 500GB has worked fine


Set up:

Early 622
Latest Software

Called to activate hard drive feature.

Attached a SimpleTech 500G drive, brand new. The system reformatted the drive as expected. After the receiver reset itself, the USB Storage function was accessed and gave me the error message indicating no device was attached. A second reset produced no change.

#20 OFFLINE   hdaddikt

hdaddikt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 197 posts
Joined: Jul 02, 2005

Posted 25 August 2007 - 11:27 AM

Is there a list of HD's that consistently don't work with the 622?


I think the Seagate FreeAgent series is the biggest offender. (although there is a work-around).
There have been a sprinkling of problems with few other drives I've noticed here and there, especially on satelliteguys.. but did not see any real pattern.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...