Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HBO and Sho HD's on new channel #'s?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Teamfour

Teamfour

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2007

Posted 31 August 2007 - 07:57 AM

I noticed last night that I can get Sho HD on channel 543 and HBO HD in the same range. Is this new?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ansky

ansky

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,167 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2005

Posted 31 August 2007 - 09:00 AM

I noticed last night that I can get Sho HD on channel 543 and HBO HD in the same range. Is this new?

No, HBO HD has been on Ch 509 for a long time now.

#3 OFFLINE   Teamfour

Teamfour

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2007

Posted 31 August 2007 - 01:49 PM

Thanks. So what is the objective of also having HBO HD and SHO HD on channels 70 and 71?

#4 OFFLINE   dhines

dhines

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 398 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 31 August 2007 - 01:52 PM

Thanks. So what is the objective of also having HBO HD and SHO HD on channels 70 and 71?


HD grouping

#5 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,570 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 31 August 2007 - 05:05 PM

Actually 509 and 543 are the real channel numbers for those channels. It's your receiver that maps them to 70 and 71 so that the current HD channels are grouped.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#6 OFFLINE   dbmaven

dbmaven

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 807 posts
Joined: May 29, 2004

Posted 31 August 2007 - 05:14 PM

Actually 509 and 543 are the real channel numbers for those channels. It's your receiver that maps them to 70 and 71 so that the current HD channels are grouped.


LOL - looks like someone here besides me who remembers when 509 and 543 were the only places to get HBO/SHO HD... :righton:
HundredNation! DirecTV since 2000 - AU9S - SWM-8 !
HR20-100 - Sony KDS60A2000 - Onkyo TX-DS787 - MK Sound THX Select Speakers // HR20-100 & R15-500 (for PIP) - Vizio GV42LF // R15-500 - Hitachi SD TV // HR20-700 Sony KDL-40XBR6

#7 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,870 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 31 August 2007 - 08:54 PM

The 70 and 71 are "virtual remaps" of the other channels.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#8 OFFLINE   syphix

syphix

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 31 August 2007 - 08:58 PM

Will 509 & 543 disappear anytime soon to be similar to what's gonna happen with the new HD channels? (i.e., 202 is both CNN and CNN-HD...would 501 be both HBO and HBO-HD??)
Nathan
setup:
- 50" Plasma 1080p HDTV (Samsung PN50A760), 46" LCD 1080p HDTV (Samsung LN-T4665F), 32" LCD 720p HDTV (Insignia). 1 Hopper, 2 Joeys.

#9 OFFLINE   Teamfour

Teamfour

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2007

Posted 01 September 2007 - 08:36 AM

Will 509 & 543 disappear anytime soon to be similar to what's gonna happen with the new HD channels? (i.e., 202 is both CNN and CNN-HD...would 501 be both HBO and HBO-HD??)


Ahhh...someone who can put into words what I was trying to say earlier.

Another thread has a discussion about why grouping isn't necessary when the new HD channels appear. And yet, HBO and SHO HD were put in a group.

#10 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 September 2007 - 08:43 AM

They will probably move, when they are switched to MPEG-4 and moved to the 99/103 Sats
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...