Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

WGA54G Problem


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Rpbertxyz

Rpbertxyz

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 31 August 2007 - 03:59 PM

I can't get the HR20-700 to connect to the internet. I have the WRT54GS wireless router and the WGA54G wireless game adapter. These are the steps that I took to try and get this thing to work. See if you can see where I've gone wrong. Thank You.

1-Enter setup on the CD for the wga54g.
2-enter password (admin)
3-Select console to internet
4-enter ssid double checked
5-Disabled security
6-Set IP addresses A-IP address 192.168.1.102
B-IP mask 255.255.255.0
C- Gateway (grayed out)
7-Save settings.

1-Disconnect from PC and now to hook up to the HR20-700

A-Connect Ethernet cable
B- Power plugged into surge protector
2-Turn HR20-700 on, go to menu and select network
3-Select connect now, message comes up saying, receiver not connected to internet.
4-Select get connected
A-Select wireless
B-Continue
C-Continue
5-Select connect now
A-Problem was detected
B-IP address 169.254.11.108
C-Subnet mask 255.255.0.0
D-Default Gateway (nothing)
E-DNS (nothing)
F-Network connected
G-Internet not connected
6-Selected error info
7-Select advanced setup, can change the addresses in the boxes, but to get out of the screen, you have to select restore defaults, because the connect now option is grayed out.

All linksys products are up to date as far as firmware is concerned. I'm running Vista operating system.

Any help will be appreciated. Thank You Bob H.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Greg Alsobrook

Greg Alsobrook

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,453 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2007

Posted 31 August 2007 - 08:01 PM

try 'dhcp'... let the router assign the ip addresses for you.. don't assign them yourself.. also.. go into the setup of your router (192.168.1.1) and make sure on that first page that it's set to 'Automatic Configuration - DHCP'

#3 OFFLINE   Rpbertxyz

Rpbertxyz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 01 September 2007 - 12:37 PM

try 'dhcp'... let the router assign the ip addresses for you.. don't assign them yourself.. also.. go into the setup of your router (192.168.1.1) and make sure on that first page that it's set to 'Automatic Configuration - DHCP'



DHCP Server: Enable Disable

I have enable selected, didn't work. The WGA54G does show up in the DHCP client table now. Any more ideas?

Thank You Bob H.

#4 OFFLINE   Rpbertxyz

Rpbertxyz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 03 September 2007 - 12:13 PM

3 days and I still can't get the receiver to connect to the internet. (disgusted)
The HR20-700 is set up this way now.

IP 192.168.1.105
SUB 255.255.255.0
Gate 192.168.1.1
DNS 192.168.1.1
Network OK
Internet not connected

Have gone through the many posts and tried all suggestion that I could apply. Now could we be talking about equipment failure of the game adapter or the HR20-700?

I tried one test of pinging the game adapter. When it was hooked to the router, it answered the ping, but when I took the game adapter downstairs and hooked it to the HR20-700, it wouldn't answer. Is that normal?

I am really stuck on this, so looking for help.
Thank You Bob H.

#5 OFFLINE   Bajanjack

Bajanjack

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 661 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2006

Posted 03 September 2007 - 05:49 PM

3 days and I still can't get the receiver to connect to the internet. (disgusted)
The HR20-700 is set up this way now.

IP 192.168.1.105
SUB 255.255.255.0
Gate 192.168.1.1
DNS 192.168.1.1
Network OK
Internet not connected

Have gone through the many posts and tried all suggestion that I could apply. Now could we be talking about equipment failure of the game adapter or the HR20-700?

I tried one test of pinging the game adapter. When it was hooked to the router, it answered the ping, but when I took the game adapter downstairs and hooked it to the HR20-700, it wouldn't answer. Is that normal?

I am really stuck on this, so looking for help.
Thank You Bob H.


Robert, I'm not good with this stuff, but got mine to work with help from some members... Try downloading "easy adviser" from the Linksys web site, it helps with setup and problems....
HR34-700, HR20-700, HR21-100,HR24-500,H24-100, R16-300

#6 OFFLINE   steve053

steve053

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 327 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 03 September 2007 - 07:39 PM

I can't get the HR20-700 to connect to the internet. I have the WRT54GS wireless router and the WGA54G wireless game adapter. These are the steps that I took to try and get this thing to work. See if you can see where I've gone wrong. Thank You.

1-Enter setup on the CD for the wga54g.
2-enter password (admin)
3-Select console to internet
4-enter ssid double checked
5-Disabled security
6-Set IP addresses A-IP address 192.168.1.102
B-IP mask 255.255.255.0
C- Gateway (grayed out)
7-Save settings.

1-Disconnect from PC and now to hook up to the HR20-700


I think you are jumping steps.

1-7 look good, except I would assume you would be able to enter a gateway. The gateway ip should be your router's ip. I'm assuming your router's ip is 192.168.1.1

Next:
- disconnect the pc from the WGA54G
- type 192.168.1.102 into your browser on your pc

Can you connect to the WGA54G?

If not, then you have a set up problem w/ the WGA54G and need to reconnect it to your pc and check the wireless settings. If yo can connect then you know the problem is on the HR20 side.

On the HR20 you have the following settings:

B-IP address 169.254.11.108
C-Subnet mask 255.255.0.0
D-Default Gateway (nothing)
E-DNS (nothing)


They should be:
B-IP address 192.168.1.103 (assuming that no devices have 103 as their addy)
C-Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
D-Default 1923168.1.1 (assuming this is your router's ip)
E-DNS (use the dns from your isp)

Steve

#7 OFFLINE   Rpbertxyz

Rpbertxyz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 04 September 2007 - 07:53 AM

Solved the problem by turning off security, on Router and Game Adapter. Now the problem is that if I turn the security on, then I'm back where I started at. Is there a work around for this problem?

Thank You Bob H.

#8 OFFLINE   Rpbertxyz

Rpbertxyz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 05 September 2007 - 04:16 PM

Still looking for help.

If I set the encryption securities in my Wrt54gs wireless router and Wga54g wireless game adapter on, I can't get the HR20-700 to connect to the internet. If I shut them off it will connect to the internet. Is there a solution to this problem?
Thank You Bob H.

#9 OFFLINE   steve053

steve053

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 327 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 05 September 2007 - 07:26 PM

Still looking for help.

If I set the encryption securities in my Wrt54gs wireless router and Wga54g wireless game adapter on, I can't get the HR20-700 to connect to the internet. If I shut them off it will connect to the internet. Is there a solution to this problem?
Thank You Bob H.


1) Hardwire the WRT54G to your router.
2) Go into the WRT54G configuration and select WEP (either 64 or 128 bit)
3) Select "shared" key
4) Choose a default transmit key (1-4)
5) Enter a passphrase to create a key.
6) Write down the key that is genereated for the default number you chose in step #4
7) Save

8) Log into your router and configure the wireless security for WEP (same 64 or 128 bit as in step 2)
9) Select "shared" key
10) Choose the same default transmit key number as in step 4
11) enter the key from step 6 into the key number (most likely entering the same passphrase will generate the same key, but just in case make sure that it matches teh WRT54G key)
12) Save

12) Power down the router and WRT54G
13) Power up the router
14) Move the WRT54G back to your HR20 and power it back up.

It "should" be working with some pretty basic security.

#10 OFFLINE   Rpbertxyz

Rpbertxyz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 06 September 2007 - 10:30 AM

1) Hardwire the WRT54G to your router.
2) Go into the WRT54G configuration and select WEP (either 64 or 128 bit)
3) Select "shared" key
4) Choose a default transmit key (1-4)
5) Enter a passphrase to create a key.
6) Write down the key that is genereated for the default number you chose in step #4
7) Save

8) Log into your router and configure the wireless security for WEP (same 64 or 128 bit as in step 2)
9) Select "shared" key
10) Choose the same default transmit key number as in step 4
11) enter the key from step 6 into the key number (most likely entering the same passphrase will generate the same key, but just in case make sure that it matches teh WRT54G key)
12) Save

12) Power down the router and WRT54G
13) Power up the router
14) Move the WRT54G back to your HR20 and power it back up.

It "should" be working with some pretty basic security.


I guess what you're saying is that I use WEP instead of WPA?

Thank You Bob H.

#11 OFFLINE   steve053

steve053

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 327 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 06 September 2007 - 10:32 AM

I guess what you're saying is that I use WEP instead of WPA?

Thank You Bob H.


Yes, try WEP 64 bit first. After you get that working bump it up to 128 bit on both devices.

#12 OFFLINE   Rpbertxyz

Rpbertxyz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 06 September 2007 - 02:11 PM

Yes, try WEP 64 bit first. After you get that working bump it up to 128 bit on both devices.

Didn't work at WEP64, but did get it to work at WEP128.

Update: I now have the security set with WPA. I think the one step that made the difference was turning the power off on the router.

Thank You For your help. Bob H.

#13 OFFLINE   aquafuzz

aquafuzz

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 12 October 2007 - 09:53 AM

Ive set up my WAG54G and have it downloading programing. The issue Im having is that Im getting an IP Conflict error on both of my computer, and when I receive the error I receive an error on the HR20 that I have a connection problem.

What do I need to do to resolve this. My work around is to disable the internet connection on both of my computers while downloading.

Thanks,
aquafuzz
HR20-700 cabled to WRT54GS
H21-200
HR21-700 wirelessly to WGA54G
Time Warner High Speed
CID/CW

#14 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 12 October 2007 - 10:20 AM

Ive set up my WAG54G and have it downloading programing. The issue Im having is that Im getting an IP Conflict error on both of my computer, and when I receive the error I receive an error on the HR20 that I have a connection problem.

What do I need to do to resolve this. My work around is to disable the internet connection on both of my computers while downloading.

Thanks,
aquafuzz


Either increase the number of DHCP addresses that the router will distribute or assign a static IP address to the HR20 that is outside of the DHCP assignment lot.

Then power off everything starting with powering off the dsl/cable modem then bring that up, bring up the router, then bring up your PC then the HR20, etc...

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#15 OFFLINE   ICM2000

ICM2000

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 12 October 2007 - 10:26 AM

Ive set up my WAG54G and have it downloading programing. The issue Im having is that Im getting an IP Conflict error on both of my computer, and when I receive the error I receive an error on the HR20 that I have a connection problem.

What do I need to do to resolve this. My work around is to disable the internet connection on both of my computers while downloading.

Thanks,
aquafuzz


What is your operating system and which installation procedure did you follow? CD, Setting up using your computer with a static IP, or web based set up. My first guess is that during the set up process you need to select DHCP for the IP on ethernet converter as well as both your computers and router.

#16 OFFLINE   newsposter

newsposter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,429 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2003

Posted 19 December 2007 - 08:25 AM

Robert, I'm not good with this stuff, but got mine to work with help from some members... Try downloading "easy adviser" from the Linksys web site, it helps with setup and problems....


can you tell me how you used ez adviser with the gaming adapter? When i ran it it just seemed to want to copy settings from one router to a new router and of course following the directions was impossible since the gaming adapter has only one cable sticking out of it and the instructions said to hook up 2

edit, i fixed my adapter but can you even use the adviser anyway?
57 inch Hitachi 57F710S
Tivo Premiere
Panasonic E80 Dvd recorder
HR10-250 63 hrs w/DB8 antenna (parts :))
1/2 full Sony T60 (historical value)




spam firewall