Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

eSATA is Awesome!!!


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
98 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   deepthinker

deepthinker

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2006

Posted 02 September 2007 - 12:58 AM

Well with the pending arrival of the new HD channels and the new upcoming TV season I decided to take the plunge with the eSATA. Found a Seagate 750 GB drive and an external enclosure for $250 shipped. Plugged it in and all was good from the get go. Man that is so much nicer than the old Tivo days with the Linux boot CD and having to stick crap in a PC. When the terabyte drives drop in price, I'll stick this drive on the second HR20 and grab one of those for the primary HR20. Bring on the new HD channels!!!!!!!:hurah:

Now, as soon as the Remote Booking and DOD options are mass released it's time to network. :)
William
2 HR20-700's, 1 with eSATA 750GB Seagate HDD and Rosewill Enclosure
2 Tivo HD units both upgraded with 1TB drives
Samsung HLT6187SAX 61-Inch LED Engine 1080p DLP HDTV

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 01:38 AM

Well with the pending arrival of the new HD channels and the new upcoming TV season I decided to take the plunge with the eSATA. Found a Seagate 750 GB drive and an external enclosure for $250 shipped. Plugged it in and all was good from the get go. Man that is so much nicer than the old Tivo days with the Linux boot CD and having to stick crap in a PC. When the terabyte drives drop in price, I'll stick this drive on the second HR20 and grab one of those for the primary HR20. Bring on the new HD channels!!!!!!!:hurah:

Now, as soon as the Remote Booking and DOD options are mass released it's time to network. :)


After seeing a WD 750 GB bare disk drive on sale for $179 at Fry's this weekend, I was planing on doing the same thing, but then I got to thinking, why spend another $25-35 for an external ESATA enclosure and leave my current disk spinning uselessly inside my HR20 when I could just take my original disk out and replace it with the 750 GB one. Unlike what I've heard about the HR20-700s, disk access and removal/replacement is very easy on the HR20-100s, and as an added bonus, my HR20-100 didn't come with a "warranty void if seal broken" sticker, so if I ever need to return or replace my leased unit, I’ll just put the original disk back in and nobody will ever be the wiser.

The new 750GB disk is up and running inside my HR20 with no problems, and it seems to have about tripled my recording capacity, and best of all, no external enclosure to clutter things up and I’m not needlessly spinning my old disk while it’s not being used by the HR20 which will save a bit of energy and give me some additional backup power time from my UPS in the event of a power failure.

#3 OFFLINE   SoCalYJ

SoCalYJ

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 02:41 AM

Is the drive formatted in NTFS or FAT32?

#4 OFFLINE   or270

or270

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 528 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2006

Posted 02 September 2007 - 02:44 AM

Drive replacement on the HR20-700 was not that bad, takes about 15 minutes.
Trickiest part is removing the front faceplate.
HR34, H24-100

#5 OFFLINE   finaldiet

finaldiet

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,158 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2006

Posted 02 September 2007 - 06:32 AM

I'm going to give it a try this holiday. Costco has a Seagate 750 for $225 and the only thing I need is an esata cable from somewhere. I believe you only have to pull plug on receiver, attach esata and plug receiver back in. Did you check to be sure esata is your main drive?

#6 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,411 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 September 2007 - 07:01 AM

Is the drive formatted in NTFS or FAT32?


DIRECTV uses their own format in partitions with Linux partition types. Very little else along those lines may be shared here at DBSTalk.com.

Cheers,
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#7 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,411 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 September 2007 - 07:02 AM

Moving this thread to the HR20 Information Resources subforum.

Cheers,
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#8 OFFLINE   jayerndl

jayerndl

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 07:47 AM

After seeing a WD 750 GB bare disk drive on sale for $179 at Fry's this weekend, I was planing on doing the same thing, but then I got to thinking, why spend another $25-35 for an external ESATA enclosure and leave my current disk spinning uselessly inside my HR20 when I could just take my original disk out and replace it with the 750 GB one. Unlike what I've heard about the HR20-700s, disk access and removal/replacement is very easy on the HR20-100s, and as an added bonus, my HR20-100 didn't come with a "warranty void if seal broken" sticker, so if I ever need to return or replace my leased unit, I’ll just put the original disk back in and nobody will ever be the wiser.

Is there any detail information available on how to do this. I agree this seems better than an external drive upgrade. Thanks.

Jay

#9 OFFLINE   BRSlim

BRSlim

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 07:51 AM

After seeing a WD 750 GB bare disk drive on sale for $179 at Fry's this weekend, I was planing on doing the same thing, but then I got to thinking, why spend another $25-35 for an external ESATA enclosure and leave my current disk spinning uselessly inside my HR20 when I could just take my original disk out and replace it with the 750 GB one. Unlike what I've heard about the HR20-700s, disk access and removal/replacement is very easy on the HR20-100s, and as an added bonus, my HR20-100 didn't come with a "warranty void if seal broken" sticker, so if I ever need to return or replace my leased unit, I’ll just put the original disk back in and nobody will ever be the wiser.

The new 750GB disk is up and running inside my HR20 with no problems, and it seems to have about tripled my recording capacity, and best of all, no external enclosure to clutter things up and I’m not needlessly spinning my old disk while it’s not being used by the HR20 which will save a bit of energy and give me some additional backup power time from my UPS in the event of a power failure.


I like this idea! Just got 2 HR20-700s and have one question; did you simply unplug the existing drive and plug in the new un-formatted drive? Or, did you have to do anything else to get it up and running? Besides opening and closing the case, of course. Oh, and which drive interface is needed?
Having been a D* customer for 12 years it just seems too simple.

#10 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,384 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 02 September 2007 - 08:10 AM

I like this idea! Just got 2 HR20-700s and have one question; did you simply unplug the existing drive and plug in the new un-formatted drive? Or, did you have to do anything else to get it up and running? Besides opening and closing the case, of course. Oh, and which drive interface is needed?
Having been a D* customer for 12 years it just seems too simple.

You have to power down the unit, plug in the eSata, and then plug in the HR20-700 again. I have 2 of these setups that work perfectly....yes...you are right...its great to have all that storage! :)
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#11 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,411 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 September 2007 - 08:18 AM

Replacing the internal drive does not require formatting or file copy in advance. Some settings and all programming will be lost, but the drive is automatically discovered and formatted as necessary. (And this is true of either an internal replacement or external drive.)

Cheers,
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#12 OFFLINE   Paladin369

Paladin369

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 08:34 AM

On an External, do I plug it into the USB port? Or what best?

Thank you

#13 OFFLINE   BRSlim

BRSlim

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 08:34 AM

Replacing the internal drive does not require formatting or file copy in advance. Some settings and all programming will be lost, but the drive is automatically discovered and formatted as necessary. (And this is true of either an internal replacement or external drive.)

Cheers,
Tom


Thanks Tom!
Do you know if the drive interface matters; can it be Serial ATA or Ultra ATA?

#14 OFFLINE   BRSlim

BRSlim

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 08:41 AM

Drive replacement on the HR20-700 was not that bad, takes about 15 minutes.
Trickiest part is removing the front faceplate.


Any hints on removing the faceplate?

#15 OFFLINE   tombet

tombet

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 02 September 2007 - 10:08 AM

Back to the eSata solution. DeepThinker, can you tell me the exact enclosure you used - I may as well get one known to work ok. Thanks

#16 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 02:55 PM

I like this idea! Just got 2 HR20-700s and have one question; did you simply unplug the existing drive and plug in the new un-formatted drive? Or, did you have to do anything else to get it up and running? Besides opening and closing the case, of course. Oh, and which drive interface is needed?
Having been a D* customer for 12 years it just seems too simple.



Yep, nothing to it other than physically swapping drives, and plugging the power and data cables into the new drive (and don't forget to plug the fan back in if you disconnected it in the swap process).

You need a 3.5" Serial ATA (SATA) drive, NOT an IDE drive.

I did it on a HR20-100 which was very easy to access/remove/replace the disk. The HR20-700's are a little trickier as far as mechanically getting to and removing the disk, but people here have done it.

#17 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 03:04 PM

Is there any detail information available on how to do this. I agree this seems better than an external drive upgrade. Thanks.

Jay


I will write up step by step instructions for the HR20-100 and post them in a new thread in this forum.

#18 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 05:09 PM

Drive replacement on the HR20-700 was not that bad, takes about 15 minutes.
Trickiest part is removing the front faceplate.


Thankfully, it has been greatly simplified on the HR20-100 on which no removal of the front faceplate is necessary.

#19 OFFLINE   Cyrus

Cyrus

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 422 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 02 September 2007 - 05:43 PM

I much prefer the eSATA solution to changing the internal drive. It's easier to set up and much better for archiving stuff. If eSATA fills up and I want to keep it's content it's easy to get another eSATA and then switch back and forth between the 2 eSATA drives.
HR20-700, native on, HDMI - Sony KLVS23A10
HR20-700, native on, component - Sony KF50WE610

#20 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 05:54 PM

I much prefer the eSATA solution to changing the internal drive. It's easier to set up and much better for archiving stuff. If eSATA fills up and I want to keep it's content it's easy to get another eSATA and then switch back and forth between the 2 eSATA drives.


Changing out the internal drive still allows you to do that, but now instead of a small capacity/unused internal drive, you have a big one and still have the ability to archive even more stuff on external eSATA drives. Also, I'd be very warry of building up a huge archive on external drives as it is all "locked" to that individual HR20 that it was recorded on. If you ever need to replace your HR20 for another unit (even the same model HR20), your archive will turn into a bunch of useless bits on all your external disk drives.

#21 OFFLINE   Cyrus

Cyrus

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 422 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 02 September 2007 - 06:02 PM

Also, I'd be very warry of bulding up a huge archive on external drives as it is all "locked" to that individual HR20 that it was recorded on. If you ever need to replace your HR20 for another unit, your archive will turn into a bunch of useless bits on all your external disk drives.


I am not archiving stuff (at least not yet). I know about the data being tied to the specific hr20. They should change that so the data is tied to the account and not the unit.
HR20-700, native on, HDMI - Sony KLVS23A10
HR20-700, native on, component - Sony KF50WE610

#22 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 02 September 2007 - 06:10 PM

I am not archiving stuff (at least not yet). I know about the data being tied to the specific hr20. They should change that so the data is tied to the account and not the unit.



They should, but if it's done with some kind of encryption tied to an unchangable key embedded in the hardware, they won't be able to do "account level" data access even if they wanted to.

#23 OFFLINE   racermd

racermd

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 02 September 2007 - 10:46 PM

Getting psyched for the new HD channels when they arrive soon. I'm thinking about doing hard disk upgrades in my HR20-700s (I have 3 total)

Question that I haven't seen answered yet - can the replaced hard disk (the original unit that comes OUT of the HR20) be re-formatted for use in a computer? What about re-using a drive connected to the eSATA port?

With the UltimateTV units I owned before, some security bit was set to prevent any drive it used from even spinning up unless it was started while connected to the UltimateTV box. As a result, I wound up with some useless 40GB IDE hard disks.

Assuming a lack of formal response from DTV staff, would anyone that's already upgraded their disk(s) be willing to affirmatively test this?

Thanks in advance!

#24 OFFLINE   BRSlim

BRSlim

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2007

Posted 03 September 2007 - 07:50 AM

I would think that even if there was a problem using standard OS based formatting tools, the formatting disc that usually comes with a new drive might solve that. It's worth a try.

I would like to keep the drive internal simply because it's not another piece of equipment hanging out on the shelf or stand.

This whole leasing thing and seals on the cases has me a bit annoyed. Not to mention a little cheated after buying the HD directivo, but thats another story for a different post.

In all I'm not a fan of the new HR20 and only have it because its needed for the additional HD channels. While I'd like to use the internal option, I'm not sure how D* will react to the broken seal when the unit is returned to them. Unfortunately they sent me the 700 units since the 100s have 2 ethernet ports, and as Cartrivision states his HR20-100 didn't come with a "warranty void if seal broken" sticker. So, in the end I'll probably go with the external option.

I think the HD offerings from the competition will be more plentiful when my 2 year commitment is up and after about 15 years as a D* customer there will be some rethinking on D* as my TV provider. Then again none of the other options treat us any better.

Sorry for the little rant, its just another choice that we should have that D* has taken away, at least for those with a 700.

#25 OFFLINE   BRSlim

BRSlim

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2007

Posted 03 September 2007 - 11:04 AM

Well with the pending arrival of the new HD channels and the new upcoming TV season I decided to take the plunge with the eSATA. Found a Seagate 750 GB drive and an external enclosure for $250 shipped.


May I ask who you ordered from? I've been shopping around and haven't found a deal that good yet.
Thanks!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...