Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is there a Wireless Gaming Adapter for Two or More Devices?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
33 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,192 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 30 September 2007 - 11:47 AM

I have been reconfiguring things and got a second Buffalo ethernet converter. I set it up like the first one, but after entering the encryption key, it wasn't recognized by the network. I tried a few times with the same result. I left it on anyway and the next morning it was connected. Weird!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   dxdenis02

dxdenis02

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 10 October 2007 - 09:48 AM

Yes:

Linksys WET54GS5



this would be an added expense just add a switch to your gaming adapter

#28 OFFLINE   ajwillys

ajwillys

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 314 posts
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 10 October 2007 - 10:57 AM

this would be an added expense just add a switch to your gaming adapter


He's right, none of this fanciness is necessary. Just buy a cheap switch (~$15) and you can get 4 or more wired ports that'll do the same thing as all these options with zero configuration.

Couple of examples:

D Link DES-1105 or DES-1108
Netgear FS105NA
AT9->WB68->HR20 and (2) R15's
Networked, HR20 Audio->Optical Digital->Pioneer VSX-D812K, HR20 Video->6' HDMI->Sony KDS-50A2000
R15's->Composite->TV's not worth mentioning

#29 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 10 October 2007 - 12:01 PM

He's right, none of this fanciness is necessary. Just buy a cheap switch (~$15) and you can get 4 or more wired ports that'll do the same thing as all these options with zero configuration.


Correct.

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#30 OFFLINE   Dr_J

Dr_J

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2007

Posted 10 October 2007 - 12:07 PM

You need to upgrade to version 2.53, which is now available again on the Buffalo website http://www.buffalo-t...rnet-converter/.


When I set mine up, the Buffalo Ethernet converter website said that the most updated version was 2.50. When I tried to upgrade to 2.53, the thing wouldn't work. I had to reset to the factory defaults and start all over. My HR20 connects to the Internet just fine with the 2.50.

#31 OFFLINE   jhruth

jhruth

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2007

Posted 10 October 2007 - 12:30 PM

Umm ok - why do I want to hook up my DVR to the internet ? My understanding was there was no online scheduling etc??? I'm obviously missing something ! :D

#32 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 10 October 2007 - 12:42 PM

Umm ok - why do I want to hook up my DVR to the internet ? My understanding was there was no online scheduling etc??? I'm obviously missing something ! :D


You don't need to. You may or may not want to network your DVR. You do if you want access to "on demand" programming, and/or want to use the media sharing functionality.

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#33 OFFLINE   hells_bells

hells_bells

    AllStar

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 64 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2007

Posted 12 October 2007 - 09:13 AM

I had great success connecting my HR20 using a Linksys WGA54AG Wireless Game Adapter (WGA).

I added a second HR20 in the family room so that I could have Dual Live Buffers and Picture in Picture (DLB PIP). It works great by the way!

I need either a second Linksys WGA54AG or a multi-port device of some sort. I would prefer a multi-port device. Can you recommend one? I do not want to spend a weekend reinventing the wheel...

Does the WGA have a big brother?

A little background. I have a basic 2Wire DSL Modem/WiFi in another room. A laptop, the HR20, and a PS3 currently connect wirelessly.

Ideally this new WiFi box would sit where the WGA is now and connect 2 HR20's instead of 1.

What do you suggest?

- Craig


Did you get media sharing between a media a server and the HR20 to work with a WGA54AG so you could play music and view photos via the HR20? I could not so I used a WET11 instead and it work perfectly (except for the slower speed).

If so, what version of firmware are you using on the WGA54AG?
-----------------------
HR20
13" CRT TV
HI-FI VCR
:)

#34 OFFLINE   dxdenis02

dxdenis02

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 12 October 2007 - 01:15 PM

WGA54AG... im using this with the hr20 and am able to play mp3s... firmware 1.16




Protected By... spam firewall...And...