Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discussion: The History Channel (Channel 269)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
84 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   shendley

shendley

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,747 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2005

Posted 26 September 2007 - 03:07 PM

Anyone else seeing an overscan issue on the History channel? I'm seeing an alternating white and black line on my Panasonic (see sig for more details there). I used to see that occasionally on HBOHD when I was watching SD programming via HDMI on my older 42" Panny, but not over component. That problem went away with my newer 58" Panny. Am I the only one seeing this?

Also, getting a fair amount of pixelation - picture break up on THCHD.

AU9, SWM8
Panasonic TH-58PX60U, HDMI to HR44-100, Native, DD, HDMI to Pioneer VSX-1123-k Receiver, Harmony One, Networked with Ethernet Cable, 35/4 Mbps DSL.
Panasonic TH-42PD50U, Component to HR 24-100, Antec MX-1 w. WD10EVDS ESata, Native, DD, DTV Remote.
Panasonic TC-L32X2, HDMI to C41-100, DTV Remote.
Whole Home.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   djzack67

djzack67

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 03:11 PM

Sweet! Hugh "the Polar Bear" Rowland in High Def!! :eek2: :lol:

Posted Image


How is this show ? Have not seen it yet?
Waiting for
BBCA HD

#28 OFFLINE   GP_23

GP_23

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 207 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 03:32 PM

:nono2: History channel could have won the cookie this morning if they had shown Mohicans in true HD. Instead they win the Golden Fart for showing the worst Stretch-O-Vision around.


That's funny right there, I don't care who ya are!:goodjob:
I am a HD Spoiled Brat!

#29 OFFLINE   HD AV

HD AV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 178 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 03:55 PM

We really should band together to have Stretch-O-Vision eliminated. Show Upconverted SD in OAR side bars and all. It will look a heck of a lot better than when stretched and better than the SD original if the upconverting equipment isn't made in China and bought for next to nothing. Stretch-O-Vision makes me nauseous, literally. I can not watch it. Any HD channel using it I refuse to watch, and if everyone that dislikes it did the same, the ratings would force them to change.
Slimline Dish
LR - Sony 60" XBR2 SXRD
HR20-700
5.1 DD w/Pro. JBL Studio Reference Monitors
2 Velodine SPL 1200s
BR - H20-600
Sony KDL-40S2010
Yamaha Stereo Amp
Bose 901s

#30 OFFLINE   nlk10010

nlk10010

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2004

Posted 26 September 2007 - 04:14 PM

If the original was filmed in 35mm or above, there is more than enough quality to attain an HD conversion. However, they have to be converted. It is an expensive,...-snip-


Sorry, don't quite get this. Are you saying that "filmed with HD cameras" (the tout for IRT) doesn't mean it can be BROADCAST in HD without further massaging? Are you saying that no station is recording in a manner that doesn't require further processing before the show can be broadcast in HD?

How then would you explain shows that are broadcast in HD one time and then in stretched/letterboxed format another (same episode)?

=NLK=

#31 OFFLINE   Citivas

Citivas

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 265 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 04:20 PM

Remember, they can only broadcast HD programs that were filmed in HD. Was LOTM filmed in HD? How many programs were filmed in HD??

In time we will start seeing a lot more programs...filmed in HD.

Let the HD times roll!!!!:sure:


LOTM was shot on film. They can show any feature shot on film in HD if they do a proper transfer. If this wasn't true, there wouldn't even be a point to all the Starz HD channels, HDNet, etc. which are almost all programs that originated on film.

BTW, no one "films" in HD -- they shot in HD. And this is mostly only relevant to TV shows not movies (except for a few new digitally shot movies like SW:ROTS, etc...)

#32 OFFLINE   ziggy29

ziggy29

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 691 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2004

Posted 26 September 2007 - 04:42 PM

The real HD stuff produced in 16:9 looks nice. But man, the stretch-o-vision created by modifying 4:3 pictures is just horrible. I'd prefer to see the pillars on each side over that...
My stuff: D* HR20-700 (living room) / R15 (bedroom) / OTA 91XG+YA1713+HDP269 / Harmony 880

#33 OFFLINE   bjdraw

bjdraw

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 06:20 PM

What a disappointment, the biggest kick in the head is that some of the stretched content is marked as HD in the guide.
How good can it be, if it isn't HD?
Ben
Engadget HD

#34 OFFLINE   jdmac29

jdmac29

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 401 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 07:10 PM

The Lost World show looks great to me in HD, no stretching that I can see. I switched to the sd channel that is in letter box format.

#35 OFFLINE   ChrisR

ChrisR

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:16 PM

With the stretched letterboxed programming, why could they not simply upconvert an SD letterboxed program to their HD feed and format the picture so that the aspect ratio fits entirely on a 16:9 display? There is no need to put black bars at the top and bottom and stretch out the content in the center - I've never seen anything like it.

#36 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:47 PM

Stretched letterbox........... NOT acceptable!

Aspect ratio is not a “feature”; please broadcast the shows in their original aspect ratio.

I refuse to watch distorted shows.

Please take notes from HDnet. The king of HD.

#37 OFFLINE   bafuerst

bafuerst

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 10:57 PM

Please everyone here go to http://www.history.c...om&NetwCode=THC and let them know that you are not happy with the stretched picture.

I can't believe that someone a A&E Television networks thinks that stretched letterboxed content looks good. Why wouldn't they at least crop it?

#38 OFFLINE   vertigo235

vertigo235

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 293 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 11:27 PM

ugh! Stretching leterboxed content, oh my god why would they do this?

Just zoom in and fill the screen like Discovery HD does.

I am totally amazed that a broadcast company makes such stupid decisions like this. Why does this make any since?

#39 OFFLINE   vertigo235

vertigo235

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 293 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 11:30 PM

I filled out that web form, I don't expect much but I wanted to let them know that I will not watch any programs presented in that format.

#40 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 27 September 2007 - 09:27 AM

Please everyone here go to http://www.history.c...om&NetwCode=THC and let them know that you are not happy with the stretched picture.

I can't believe that someone a A&E Television networks thinks that stretched letterboxed content looks good. Why wouldn't they at least crop it?


Thanks for posting the link. I just shot them my comments.

#41 OFFLINE   Larry G

Larry G

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 313 posts
Joined: Apr 13, 2006

Posted 27 September 2007 - 11:09 AM

This was my biggest disappointment of all yesterday. I was really looking forward to full screen 16X9 History HD programming. Man what a letdown!!!

#42 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 27 September 2007 - 11:27 AM

Please everyone here go to http://www.history.c...om&NetwCode=THC and let them know that you are not happy with the stretched picture.

I can't believe that someone a A&E Television networks thinks that stretched letterboxed content looks good. Why wouldn't they at least crop it?

Posted Image
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#43 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,512 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 27 September 2007 - 11:43 AM

Captions don't work properly on the HD version. Dang, I hate that.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.

#44 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,048 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 27 September 2007 - 10:21 PM

History HD is still not showing up when I do a search by title. I can highlight it in the guide and press INFO and get a list though.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#45 OFFLINE   cjever19

cjever19

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2007

Posted 27 September 2007 - 11:21 PM

Anyone else seeing an overscan issue on the History channel? I'm seeing an alternating white and black line on my Panasonic (see sig for more details there). I used to see that occasionally on HBOHD when I was watching SD programming via HDMI on my older 42" Panny, but not over component. That problem went away with my newer 58" Panny. Am I the only one seeing this?

Also, getting a fair amount of pixelation - picture break up on THCHD.


+1

I just watched history hd 269 for the first time. I saw this while watching Boneyard: Oil Rigs 10pm - 11pm PDT. I think I would describe it as underscan. ?? Not sure which is right but I think they need to zoom in just a touch. Also not sure who "they" would be. Is this a D* issue or History channel? I was seeing a constant white broken line at the top. Only 1.5 - 2 pixels at the top. I am trying to find my camera so I can take a pic but can't find it.

have a panny 42PX-60U
HR20-700 via HDMI to Panny TH-42PX60U
Antec MX-1 with WD10EVCS running flawless since 10/08 HR
HR22-100 to Panny SD-CRT
R15-500's via Coax Ch. 3 to 29" Panny SD-CRT's
(Details here)

#46 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 28 September 2007 - 05:54 AM

History channel seemed to be attempting closed captioning last night. It was garbled and useless and rather infrequent.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM

#47 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,048 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 28 September 2007 - 07:55 AM

I'm getting very excited to see "Modern Marvels" in HD.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#48 OFFLINE   vertigo235

vertigo235

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 293 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 28 September 2007 - 09:44 AM

I'm getting very excited to see "Modern Marvels" in HD.


I was excited too until I found it was the Stretched-Leterbox presentation that everything else is.

Ugh!

#49 OFFLINE   Radio Enginerd

Radio Enginerd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,913 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2006

Posted 28 September 2007 - 02:06 PM

Anyone else thing the History Channel HD logo needs some work?

It looks like someone made that logo in 5 minutes w/ Photoshop.

Yes, this is the only thing I have complained about with the new channels. :D
If you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything.
- Emmett "Doc" Brown


Equpiment: SL3 Dish, SWM-16 w/ DECA, HR20-700, HR21-200, HR22-100, Genie HR34-700
Detailed Setup: LINK

DirecTV since 2006

#50 OFFLINE   ShawnL25

ShawnL25

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 571 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2007

Posted 28 September 2007 - 03:00 PM

Please everyone here go to http://www.history.c...om&NetwCode=THC and let them know that you are not happy with the stretched picture.

I can't believe that someone a A&E Television networks thinks that stretched letterboxed content looks good. Why wouldn't they at least crop it?


DONE!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...