Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discussion: Showtime / The Movie Channel (Channels 537-545)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
25 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,920 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 18 September 2007 - 02:06 PM

Discussion thread for the new HD channels: Showtime / The Movie Channel (Channels 537-545)

Topics: PQ, Programming, Stretch-0-vision (we hope not!), etc.

And don't forget our other coverage of the new DIRECTV HD channels:

The list of Launched Channels,
Troubleshooting Tips for the New HD Channels,
and just for fun, The "I Got Them!" Challenge.


DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,920 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 04:45 AM

TMCHD - Channel 544
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   jj4u0

jj4u0

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 04:51 AM

Is anyone having problem with chennal 544 in HD, im getting message chennel not purchased when im able to get that chennel 544 in SD?

#4 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 26 September 2007 - 04:57 AM

Is anyone having problem with chennal 544 in HD, im getting message chennal not purchased when im able to get that chennal 544 in SD?

This is happening with Starz channels as well. I am not having this problem but others are.
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#5 OFFLINE   EaglePC

EaglePC

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 745 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 05:02 AM

No Starz in HD 721

I call CSR waited like 40 minutes do a little of this n that with her on my HR20-700 then lost all my HD access;my HD access came back after she reset my account .she did more research a bit more and says D is aware of this. it will be taking care of later today
Eagle PC for President :flag:

#6 OFFLINE   jj4u0

jj4u0

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 05:05 AM

This is happening with Starz channels as well. I am not having this problem but others are.


Im getting all Starz chennels in HD without any problem. Only problem in The Movie Chennel HD.

#7 OFFLINE   elvistcb

elvistcb

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 05:27 AM

Is anyone having problem with chennal 544 in HD, im getting message chennel not purchased when im able to get that chennel 544 in SD?


No problem here. Got them all. How great is it that we have both coasts in HD!!!! Brotherhood, Dexter, Weeds, Californication, Meadowlands.......... They all usually conflicted for me and I had to wait a day or two to catch the repeat. Not any more.......... same day now in HD!!!!!

This is awesome!
Elvis

#8 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 26 September 2007 - 07:03 AM

Are we getting both the Showtime and TMC channels for free this weekend? Or just the Showtime channels?
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#9 OFFLINE   nafl_mangler

nafl_mangler

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 07:23 AM

Anyone know when the free preview begins/ends for Showtime and/or TMC?

#10 OFFLINE   bmatic586

bmatic586

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:28 AM

friday and runs through sunday

#11 OFFLINE   gpg

gpg

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,732 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:37 AM

Nevermind my problem is solved. Does anyone know if 537 is MPEG2 mirrored from 71 or is it MPEG4 from D10?
HR24-200,HR23-700,HR21-200, HR21-100, HR34-700,
Sony KDS-R50XBR1,HDMI, LG 37LH40,HDMI Vizio 390-A1,HDMI,Sony KDL-40NX711, HDMI, Vizio VO320E, HDMI, SWM16 with DECA,
Sony STR-DG1000 AV Receiver optical cable connection for HR24-200, GenieGo

#12 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:41 AM

friday and runs through sunday

Is it just the Showtime channels? Or does it include the TMC channels too?
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#13 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:41 AM

Nevermind my problem is solved. Does anyone know if 537 is MPEG2 mirrored from 71 or is it MPEG4 from D10?

I think it's MPEG2 mirrored from 71. I wish it was MPEG4.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#14 OFFLINE   gpg

gpg

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,732 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:52 AM

I think it's MPEG2 mirrored from 71. I wish it was MPEG4.



I think so too. No point in moving SLs to save drive space if it's MPEG2.
HR24-200,HR23-700,HR21-200, HR21-100, HR34-700,
Sony KDS-R50XBR1,HDMI, LG 37LH40,HDMI Vizio 390-A1,HDMI,Sony KDL-40NX711, HDMI, Vizio VO320E, HDMI, SWM16 with DECA,
Sony STR-DG1000 AV Receiver optical cable connection for HR24-200, GenieGo

#15 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,023 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 10:11 AM

I wonder why Into the Blue is not listed as being in HD at 12:30? I know there is an HD transfer available since the movie is available on BD.

My Setup

 

Why can I get to the "Adult's Only" area faster than I can get to the "ToDo" List?  DirecTV, that is messed up!!!


#16 OFFLINE   Blurayfan

Blurayfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,748 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 26 September 2007 - 10:15 AM

I wonder why Into the Blue is not listed as being in HD at 12:30? I know there is an HD transfer available since the movie is available on BD.

Could just be a guide data issue. Many reports of inaccurate guide data have been found today.

Slimlin-5 with SWM16
HR44-700 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 4.0 TB
HR24-500 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 2.0 TB
HR21-700 with DECA adapter for network
Network: Netgear R7000
Internet: Comcast 105/20


#17 OFFLINE   man_rob

man_rob

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,439 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 10:23 AM

I think it's MPEG2 mirrored from 71. I wish it was MPEG4.


A work around would be to watch/record the new Showtime West HD.

#18 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,023 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 11:10 AM

Could just be a guide data issue. Many reports of inaccurate guide data have been found today.


That seems to be it. It sure looks HD.

My Setup

 

Why can I get to the "Adult's Only" area faster than I can get to the "ToDo" List?  DirecTV, that is messed up!!!


#19 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 27 September 2007 - 06:29 AM

A work around would be to watch/record the new Showtime West HD.

Good call. Thanks.

On a separate note: I know we are getting the Showtime channels free this weekend. Are we also getting the The Movie Channel (TMC) channels free too (channels 544 and 545)? Thanks.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#20 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 27 September 2007 - 08:00 AM

Can anyone confirm if their is a Showtime Freeview this weekend?

Maybe they are doing this so that people will see that ShowTime now has:

Showtime HD (71 or 537)
SHO Too HD (538)
Showtime HD West (540)

This also gives a great opportunity to compare

Showtime HD (71) MPEG2

to

Showtime HD West (540) MPEG4

I have only done limited testing but it will be hard for DIRECTV to defend the MPEG2's as not being HD-lite. Especially now that we can compare the exact same feed in lite and regular.

- Craig




Protected By... spam firewall...And...