Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Pole mounting the slimline dish


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 827 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 22 September 2007 - 05:13 PM

I know from searching you need an 2" od pole to mount this dish, but 2" isn't really 2" is it? What do I need to buy and can I get it at say Lowes. I would like to avoid the adapter if i can?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,400 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 22 September 2007 - 05:19 PM

The mounting clamp on the dish is designed for a 2" OD pipe. The band clamp has very little leeway, you must use 2" OD exactly.

#3 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 827 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 22 September 2007 - 05:45 PM

The mounting clamp on the dish is designed for a 2" OD pipe. The band clamp has very little leeway, you must use 2" OD exactly.


i know, but pipe sold as 2"od is really 1.9" isn't it. What do i ask for when i go to buy real 2" pipe?

#4 OFFLINE   BimmerImmer

BimmerImmer

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2007

Posted 22 September 2007 - 05:47 PM

I used 1.5" galvanized steel pipe (from Home Depot).
The nominal outer diameter is 1.9", but this can vary a little.
If you have a micrometer, you might want to take it with you...
The installer had to torque the nuts quite a bit to make it secure, but I don't think it's going anywhere :)

-Brian

#5 OFFLINE   Dave Carney

Dave Carney

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2004

Posted 22 September 2007 - 05:51 PM

The 1 1/2" I.D. black plastic pipe sleeve over a 1 5/8" O.D. pipe or tubing works great. And gets you right to 2". Use about 6" of the plastic pipe and cut it length ways to get it over the pipe.

#6 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 22 September 2007 - 06:22 PM

The 1 1/2" I.D. black plastic pipe sleeve over a 1 5/8" O.D. pipe or tubing works great. And gets you right to 2". Use about 6" of the plastic pipe and cut it length ways to get it over the pipe.

The mounting bracket "likes" 2" OD. 2" OD aluminum antenna masts are available. If you put something < 2" OD into the bracket, you risk having a mount that is out of plumb - something you really don't want.

There are 2" sleeve adapters from Solid Signal, etc. , but unless you've got a short mast, you're sort of asking for trouble physical strength wise. Don't forget to put a bolt through the mast below ground level so it won't turn in the concrete, and check the plumb periodically while it's "setting." I let mine cure for 2 days before I mess with them. If it's not slap up against the side of your house, it'll need grounding with an 8' ground rod.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#7 OFFLINE   MLock

MLock

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 108 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2007

Posted 22 September 2007 - 06:25 PM

Long story short, you're gonna want exactly 2 inch OD, not quasi-2" OD, for best results.

And no, it isn't terribly easy to find.

Here you can see my 2" OD sleeve mounted over (and bolted through 8 times) my old 1 5/8ths pole

#8 OFFLINE   aim2pls

aim2pls

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 560 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2007

Posted 23 September 2007 - 08:49 AM

IF all you can get is a 1.9

peak the dish then

1) torque down the clamp to a resonable pressure

2) drill an undersized hole and put a self tapping tech screw in it .. that will prevent any movement

#9 OFFLINE   M.Wong

M.Wong

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 23 September 2007 - 08:55 AM

Use about 6" of the plastic pipe and cut it length ways to get it over the pipe.

I did exactly that, and it worked great! :)
1 5/8" OD pipe with a sleeve of a
1 1/2" ID black plastic pipe

Attached Thumbnails

  • Dish Pole 1.JPG
  • Dish Pole 3.JPG
  • Dish Pole 2.JPG


#10 OFFLINE   Dave Carney

Dave Carney

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2004

Posted 23 September 2007 - 09:15 AM

Looking good there. I think some people believe that somehow this will not work properly or will be loose or something, but no way. That plastic pipe is tight on the pole even before you clamp it, which makes it bulletproof. It's rock solid and already tested in Kansas daily, and thunderstorm winds. :) Here's mine. 10' length of DOM tubing (rollcage tubing), 3 1/2' of it in the ground, double spiked in 2 different directions with .250" diameter steel rod, set in 240 pounds of concrete. 2 monopoles.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Dish1.jpg
  • Dish2.jpg


#11 OFFLINE   jrd4849

jrd4849

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 23 September 2007 - 09:29 AM

Go ahead and use the 1.5" pipe or 1.5" rigid conduit. Make a sleeve out of .035" aluminum shim stock or flashing. OD with then be 1.97" and will work great with the AT9 or AU9 mount. Two to three 80# bags of concrete in a 2.5' to 3' hole and you will be good to go. As others have said make sure you put a long bolt through the bottom on the pole to prevent twisting.

#12 OFFLINE   beavis

beavis

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 528 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2005

Posted 23 September 2007 - 09:37 AM

Solid Signal sells a 12" adapter that will get tested tomorrow when I get my HR20 + slimline installed. I'm glad your setup works in Kansas cause I'm in OK and we get our fair share of high winds.

#13 ONLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,400 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 23 September 2007 - 09:44 AM

You can use 2" OD exhaust tubing. Heavy duty aluminized straight tubing is sold by the foot at most NAPA stores. Quite inexpensive, strong and the "exact" size.

#14 OFFLINE   Tebbens

Tebbens

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2004

Posted 23 September 2007 - 08:36 PM

This will not move if you properly anchor it !! :)

http://www.onlinemet...198&top_cat=197

#15 OFFLINE   dale_holley

dale_holley

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2007

Posted 23 September 2007 - 09:54 PM

This will not move if you properly anchor it !! :)

http://www.onlinemet...198&top_cat=197


$75 for 6' thats a bargain!

#16 OFFLINE   Fuzzybear

Fuzzybear

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 23 September 2007 - 11:13 PM

I used this configuration also and it worked great. I used a 8' pole for greater ground depth and I secured it to my split rail fence with monopoles. I have some pictures floating around here somewhere.
1 5/8" OD pipe with a sleeve of a
1 1/2" ID black plastic pipe

#17 OFFLINE   willardcpa

willardcpa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
  • LocationEugene, OR
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 23 September 2007 - 11:40 PM

I bought a pole at home improvement store that is used for cyclone fencing, eight feet long and I think it was about 1.75" diameter, used a pole driver and drove it about 3'+ into the ground. Then used a foot long 2" OD exhaust pipe from the auto parts store - only cost about $4 along with a muffler clamp to secure it to the cyclone fencing post. Works like a charm, reasonably priced, and without the plastic that some are using it grounds itself.
Come to think of it, I didn't use the clamp, the exhaust pipe was an adapter - with different diameters at each end. I placed it on the fence post and drove them on as a unit. The exhasut pipe ended up "wedging" itself onto the fence post as I drove it on. I know that there was plenty of force placed on it, as when I was through driving I had a 1/2" mushroom on the top of the pipe that I had to saw off.

#18 OFFLINE   redskin9

redskin9

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 97 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2005

Posted 24 September 2007 - 06:04 AM

Go to local fencing supply. Ask for 2" OD schedule 40 pipe. They will cut it to length for you. Long Fence in this area. About $3.00 / ft.

#19 OFFLINE   JB3

JB3

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 06:08 AM

I used 1.5" Galvanized Pipe plus a plastic shim made from a 1.5" PVC plumbing trap extension - Slit the long way and pushed over the pipe. This gets the pipe which measures about 1.75" OD up to about 1.9". Real solid.

I've read that 2" Metal electrical conduit will work too, but can't vouch for it first hand.

#20 OFFLINE   MIMOTech

MIMOTech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 07:17 AM

Here is a good source of almost any type of metal tube/pipe available.

http://www.metalsdepot.com/

Two inches exactly is actually a very tight fit for the DTV 5 LNB dishes.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...