Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Super Bowl in Dolby Digital?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bigrig

bigrig

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 16 January 2003 - 08:41 PM

I've read that ABC is going to be broadcasting the game in HDTV and Dolby 5.1, but when I look at the game in the DirecTV guide, it doesn't indicate that.

Anyone know if I'll be getting 5.1 on my Houston local ABC station?

Matt

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   James_F

James_F

    Damn you woman!

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 5,205 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 16 January 2003 - 10:23 PM

It will be in Dolby Digital on HDTV, but not SDTV.

#3 OFFLINE   raj2001

raj2001

    Icon/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 929 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2002

Posted 16 January 2003 - 10:30 PM

Sometimes the DirecTV guide has stuff from ABC listed as being in DD, when in fact DirecTV's feed of it isn't.

#4 OFFLINE   bigrig

bigrig

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 17 January 2003 - 08:16 AM

Damn...all or nothing, huh?

I gotta get a HDTV!

Matt

PS: What is the ABC HDTV channel?

#5 OFFLINE   alfbinet

alfbinet

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: May 18, 2002

Posted 17 January 2003 - 06:56 PM

ABC (Network) may broadcast in 5.1 but it is up to your local affiliate to be able to pass the signal. I know in Cleveland, Ohio that our local affiliate does not have the equipment to pass the signal, we will get DD 2.0. I think that may be the case for most affiliates.
Jim Kilbane

#6 OFFLINE   alfbinet

alfbinet

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: May 18, 2002

Posted 17 January 2003 - 07:03 PM

My Bad. This only applies if you are getting the signal OTA through your D* receiver.
Jim Kilbane

#7 OFFLINE   James_F

James_F

    Damn you woman!

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 5,205 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 17 January 2003 - 08:51 PM

Yep, they don't have LIL HDTV and most likely never will...




spam firewall