Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Super Crop Bug: List of Affected TVs


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
210 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,829 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 17 September 2007 - 07:50 PM

About 50% of HR20 users experience the Super Crop bug, where pushing the Format button yields a picture that's distorted to be about twice as tall as it should be.

About 50% don't. Why is that? Is it in the hardware? Is it in the software? Is it the TV?

Below is a list of TVs affected by the super crop bug, according to our members. Can you add to this list?

More important, can you say, "I use the FORMAT button to change from Pillar to Crop to Wide, I DON'T have the Super Crop Bug, and I DO have one of those TV's.

If you can add to the list, please do. Post your TV's model and either Coffey77 or I will add it to the next post.
Thanks in advance...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Coffey77

Coffey77

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 2,533 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2006

Posted 17 September 2007 - 08:21 PM

HR20-700
  • Hyundai PD421 (Component)
  • Insignia NS-LCD32 via (HDMI)
  • LG E 32FZ4D (HDMI)
  • Magnavox 42MF231D (HDMI, Component) (Updated to latest Firmware R23)
  • Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI)
  • Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI)
  • Mitsubishi WD-52525 (Component)
  • Mitsubishi WD-52725 (Component)
  • Mitsubishi WS-55857
  • Mitsubishi WS-55313
  • Mitsubishi WS-65907 (Component)
  • Mitsubishi WS-65857
  • Mitsubishi WS-73321
  • Mitsubishi WT-46805 (Component)
  • Mitsubishi HC-5000 (Projector)
  • Olevia 32" (Component)
  • Panasonic 50PX60U (HDMI)
  • Panasonic PT47WX51 (Component)
  • Panasonic TC-32LX50 (Component)
  • Panasonic TH-50PX20U (HDMI)
  • Philips 37PF9431D (HDMI) - Updated to Latest Firmware/Software
  • Philips 42PFL5332D (HDMI, 0x18a)
  • Pioneer 1140HD (Component)
  • Pioneer PDP 4340 (HDMI - 1080i only)
  • Pioneer PDP-5010FD (HDMI)
  • Pioneer PDP-5030HD (Component)
  • RCA HD61LPW42 (Component through Slinbox)
  • Samsung 4095D (HDMI, 1080i)
  • Samsung LNT-4665F
  • Samsung LNT-2342H
  • Samsung LN-S4051 (HDMI)
  • Samsung LN-3251D (Dec. '06)
  • Samsung HC-R4245W (Component)
  • Samsung HL-S5687W (HDMI)
  • Samsung HL-S5086W (HDMI)
  • Samsung HL-R4667W
  • Samsung HL-R4266W (Component, HDMI)
  • Samsung HP-S5053 (HDMI)
  • Samsung HP-R4252 (Component)
  • Samsung HP-R6372 (HDMI, Component)
  • Samsung TX-R3080WH
  • Samsung TXP-2675 (Component - DVI)
  • Samsung TXS-3082WHX (HDMI, HR20 also connected to Sony KD-34XS955 below)
  • Sharp LC-32D40U
  • Sharp LC-32D62U (Component)
  • Sharp LC-37GB5U (Component, 720p only)
  • Slingbox AV (S-Video?)
  • Slingbox Pro (Component)
  • Sony Plasma PFM-42X1 (HDMI-DVI).
  • Sony KDF-50WE655 (HDMI)
  • Sony KV-30HS420 - (Never Had, HR20 Software Upgrade Fix)
  • Sony KE-32TSTU (Component)
  • Sony 34-XBR-910
  • Sony 34-XBR-960
  • Sony 34-XBR-970
  • Sony KD-34XS955 (Component, HR20 also connected to Samsung TXS-3082WHX above)
  • Sony KD-34XBR2 (Component)
  • Sony KDF-46E2000 (HDMI)
  • Sony KDL-40XBR2 (HDMI)
  • Sony KDL-46XBR2
  • Sony KDL-V32XBR2 (HDMI)
  • Sony KDL-40v2500 (HDMI)
  • Sony KDS-50A2000 (HDMI)
  • Sony KDS-60A2000
  • Sony KDS-R70XBR2 (HDMI)
  • Toshiba 37HL95 (HDMI)
  • Toshiba 42HL196 (HDMI)
  • Vizio GV47LF (HDMI)
  • Vizio VX37L (HDMI)
  • Westinghouse LVM-37w3 (HDMI)
  • Westinghouse 22" LCM-22W2 - YouTube Video
  • Westinghouse LVM-42W2
RED - TV's with and without SCB Issues
GREEN - TVs without SCB

HR20-100

  • Hitachi 65F59A (Component)
  • Panasonic 42PX600U (HDMI)
  • Panasonic PT-44LCX65 (Component)
  • Philips 37PF9631D/37 (Component)
  • Samsung HL-T5675S
  • Samsung LN-T4661F (Component, HDMI)
  • Sharp LC-52D92U (HDMI)
  • Sharp LC-32DA5U (HDMI)
  • Toshiba 42HL67 (HDMI)
  • Toshiba 51H94 (HDMI)
  • Toshiba 34HFX83 (Component)


Reproduced Channels - Programming
244 - SCIFI - Eureka
248 - FX
251 - OXGN - Paid Programming
TCM
640 - CSN SD

Software Versions
Moved to Post 16
- Andy
My Setup - (Computer Setup Included)
HR20-700 - / - / H20-100 -
PLEASE SUBSCRIBE<-- to DBSTalk.com and become a DBSTalk Club Member!

#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,829 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 11:14 AM

OK, here's your chance to shine... let's help get this bug squashed!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   MattWarner

MattWarner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 24 September 2007 - 11:24 AM

You can add Sharp LC32D40U to the mix as well. I've had the super crop bug for as long as I can remember...

-Matt

#5 OFFLINE   66stang351

66stang351

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,212 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 11:57 AM

Just to add a little info, I have seen the SCB on 194, 197, 19A, 19D and 19E. Prior to 194 I never saw the SCB, but it has consistantly shown up ~5-10 hours after a reboot since 194, not including standby time.

#6 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,639 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 12:19 PM

Add Rescue Me on FX, since that's the main place I see it other than SciFi. (My Mitusibishi is already listed).

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#7 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 12:53 PM

Here's a youtube video of SCB in action while I was watching Stargate Atlantis:



Video taken of my HR20-700 hooked up to a Sony KDF50WE655 via HDMI.
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#8 OFFLINE   Philtor

Philtor

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2007

Posted 24 September 2007 - 02:35 PM

I'm seeing this crop issue with my Sony KDS-60a2000. I'm running 0x19e firmware on the HR20-700. Seems to do it no matter which channel I use it on.

#9 OFFLINE   Coffey77

Coffey77

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 2,533 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 03:02 PM

HR20-700 Manufacturing Dates : Super Crop
  • 09/21/06 - Mexico
  • 10/07/06 - Mexico
  • 12/13/06 - Mexico

HR20-700 Manufacturing Dates : No Super Crop
  • 09/11/06 - Mexico

- Andy
My Setup - (Computer Setup Included)
HR20-700 - / - / H20-100 -
PLEASE SUBSCRIBE<-- to DBSTalk.com and become a DBSTalk Club Member!

#10 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 03:25 PM

Let me know if you think we should do programs because I am almost able to recreate it anywhere SD.


The program doesn't matter, at least not that I've seen. I have seen it with Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis, Battlestar Galactica, Dirty Jobs, Mythbusters, American Chopper, Deadliest Catch, and several other shows that don't come to mind right now.
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#11 OFFLINE   r0n

r0n

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 24 September 2007 - 03:42 PM

Supercrop is noticably worse for me in the latest CE. It's been there in each of the current group of CEs, in varying degrees of severity. The last national release seemed stable.

HR20-700

019D

Samsung LNT-4665F
------------------------------
DIRECTV HR20-700
Samsung LNT-4665F

#12 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,829 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 03:44 PM

Andy, there's nothing wrong with listing programs, but for my part, when I've got the bug I can make it appear in ANY program. Great job!!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#13 OFFLINE   69hokie

69hokie

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 716 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 03:54 PM

My Samsung 6372 is listed as HDMI connection, but I have both component and HDMI connected from my HR20-700 to the Samsung and have seen the bug initiate via the component input path to the television.... can't recall seeing it initiate while using the HDMI input to the television, but then I am usually not initiating a format command....typically leaving it on HDMI 1080i crop. I usually see the bug crop up upon using format command as I move from 1080i crop to 480p crop or back to 1080i crop since my Samsung's zoom only works on 480p from the component inputs (zoom feature doesn't work in HDMI input). When I operate the format command, works for a while, but eventually upon operating the format command on the HR20, it goes to the dreaded bug and will only go away via a reset. The bug only "cropped" up for me in earnest recently since I started using the format/component path more frequently in the last couple weeks. Since I disdain looking at black bars (my apologies to the purists!!), I have found that most HD movies that are shown in "original" format can be watched "full screen" by setting the HR20 on 4/3 ratio output and using the zoom 1 feature of my Samsung. Picture quality suffers a little, but is still much better SD...and eliminates my black bars without distortion of the picture. Hence my more frequent recent utilization of the format button during component input to the Samsung....resulting in the dreaded super cr"a"p bug!!!!
Wayne
Go Virginia Tech....and "Hoo"ever is playing UVa!

My Setup

#14 OFFLINE   Ken S

Ken S

    RIP

  • Registered
  • 6,201 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2007

Posted 24 September 2007 - 03:56 PM

You can add these sets/connections to your list. I can make it happen by cycling through the format button fairly regularly. Every so often crop works on SD programing...but it's rare.


1. HR20-700 via Denon AVR-4306 Home Theater Receiver to Sony KDSR70XBR2 70" 1080p Grand Wega SXRD XBR HD through HDMI

ALREADY ON THE LIST:

2. HR20-700 through HDMI to Sony KDL40XBR2 40" BRAVIA XBR 1080p LCD HD

3. HR20-700 through HDMI to Sony KDLV32XBR2 32" BRAVIA XBR LCD HD

4. HR20-700 through HDMI to Vizio GV47LF 47" LCD HD; Bose Lifestyle 20


#15 ONLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,886 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 04:13 PM

Forgive me if this has already been asked. But HDMI has been mentioned a lot. I know that it has been proven that it happens on component also. But, #1 when proving it, is the HDMI cable still hooked up to either end? #2 Has anyone who said they get the bug using a receiver to switch the video as well as audio? I ask because as much as I try I cannot reproduce the bug. My Sunfire Pre-amp gets the component video first. Granted I do not log hours on end using crop, only look for it while testing for this site.

#16 OFFLINE   Coffey77

Coffey77

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 2,533 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 04:16 PM

Software Versions
(there are probably more)
0x10b
0x12a
0x134
0x168
0x15c
0x178
0x179
0x194
0x197
0x19a
0x19d
0x19e
- Andy
My Setup - (Computer Setup Included)
HR20-700 - / - / H20-100 -
PLEASE SUBSCRIBE<-- to DBSTalk.com and become a DBSTalk Club Member!

#17 OFFLINE   Coffey77

Coffey77

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 2,533 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 04:17 PM

Forgive me if this has already been asked. But HDMI has been mentioned a lot. I know that it has been proven that it happens on component also. But, #1 when proving it, is the HDMI cable still hooked up to either end? #2 Has anyone who said they get the bug using a receiver to switch the video as well as audio? I ask because as much as I try I cannot reproduce the bug. My Sunfire Pre-amp gets the component video first. Granted I do not log hours on end using crop, only look for it while testing for this site.


It's a good question but shouldn't a pre-amp mainly just grab the audio and just pass-through the video?
- Andy
My Setup - (Computer Setup Included)
HR20-700 - / - / H20-100 -
PLEASE SUBSCRIBE<-- to DBSTalk.com and become a DBSTalk Club Member!

#18 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 04:25 PM

Have any of us actually tried disconnecting the HDMI or component cables when the SCB pops up? Worth seeing if disconnecting and reconnecting the inputs to the TV has any affect at all. I'll definitely try it the next time I see it.
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#19 ONLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,886 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 September 2007 - 04:31 PM

sorry to hijack tv type thread, moved to

http://www.dbstalk.c...99643

#20 OFFLINE   DJeneral

DJeneral

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2007

Posted 24 September 2007 - 04:33 PM

HR20-700 0x18a (last time I checked) HDMI to Pioneer PDP-5010FD has the super crop




spam firewall