Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discussion: The Science Channel (Channel 284)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
46 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   mdl

mdl

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 28 September 2007 - 12:07 PM

I still don't have the science channel but should be getting it. It is the only channel out of the new HD channels I don't get. When I talked to a CSR, he had me reset it and did some things on his end but still no Science Channel. Finally, he told me to wait a couple of days and call back.

Anyone have any advice?


I'm in the same boat. So, we should call and have them refresh our HD packages?

Is this the consensus?

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   purtman

purtman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,950 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 28 September 2007 - 12:52 PM

I still don't have the science channel but should be getting it. It is the only channel out of the new HD channels I don't get. When I talked to a CSR, he had me reset it and did some things on his end but still no Science Channel. Finally, he told me to wait a couple of days and call back.

Anyone have any advice?


Call right back. Don't wait.

#28 OFFLINE   Radio Enginerd

Radio Enginerd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,913 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2006

Posted 28 September 2007 - 09:36 PM

I just caught my first new episode of How It's Made in HD and it was truly breathtaking!
If you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything.
- Emmett "Doc" Brown


Equpiment: SL3 Dish, SWM-16 w/ DECA, HR20-700, HR21-200, HR22-100, Genie HR34-700
Detailed Setup: LINK

DirecTV since 2006

#29 OFFLINE   Googer

Googer

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 28 September 2007 - 11:15 PM

Indeed, the new episodes of How It's Made that are actually true HD are absolutely breathtaking - I consider segments such as the carved candle being made reference-quality HD. :D Smithsonian HD looks pretty good but it's still not in the same class that this is. :)

#30 OFFLINE   Radio Enginerd

Radio Enginerd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,913 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2006

Posted 28 September 2007 - 11:25 PM

Indeed, the new episodes of How It's Made that are actually true HD are absolutely breathtaking - I consider segments such as the carved candle being made reference-quality HD. :D Smithsonian HD looks pretty good but it's still not in the same class that this is. :)


Between looking at steel wool, stoves, slot machines and carved candles, it was worth saving on the DVR to showcase my plasma. The best HD I've seen on the Science Channel to date.

Smithsonian looks amazing as well.
If you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything.
- Emmett "Doc" Brown


Equpiment: SL3 Dish, SWM-16 w/ DECA, HR20-700, HR21-200, HR22-100, Genie HR34-700
Detailed Setup: LINK

DirecTV since 2006

#31 OFFLINE   DanL74

DanL74

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2007

Posted 29 September 2007 - 02:36 PM

Has anyone found a solution for this yet?

I have the premiere package with the original HD pack. I had to call in and have the Starz charge line added to finally get Starz. but still no Science.

3 calls to D* , reset several times and they have no idea what the problem is.

This is the only HD channel I am not getting....any ideas?

#32 OFFLINE   w6fxj

w6fxj

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 311 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2005

Posted 29 September 2007 - 03:13 PM

Has anyone found a solution for this yet?

I have the premiere package with the original HD pack. I had to call in and have the Starz charge line added to finally get Starz. but still no Science.

3 calls to D* , reset several times and they have no idea what the problem is.

This is the only HD channel I am not getting....any ideas?


If you do not see SCIHD in the guide, and have an HR20 or 21, make sure you have both the 284 SCIHD and 284 SCI enable in the guide you are using.

#33 OFFLINE   DanL74

DanL74

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2007

Posted 29 September 2007 - 03:34 PM

I'm getting SCIHD in the guide, but when I hit that channel I get a blank screen with the "channel not ordered" message.

#34 OFFLINE   troman

troman

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 08, 2007

Posted 30 September 2007 - 10:34 AM

The Science Channel is the only new HD channel that I get the 721 message for. I had the Total Choice Plus package, which is no longer offered, so they are billing me for Total Choice. The strange thing is, I get alot of the Choice Extra channels. like ESPN Classic, Fuel, Fox Reality, VH1 Classic, but I don't get others like Science Channel, the Military Channel, etc.

I'm guessing they are honoring the Total Choice Plus lineup for me, and it didn't include the Science Channel. Unfortunately I don't have a list of Total Choice Plus channels, and it's not on the DirecTV website.

Can anyone confirm this?

#35 OFFLINE   weaver6

weaver6

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 563 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2005

Posted 30 September 2007 - 04:38 PM

I have the old Total Choice Plus package, and I get the Science Channel.
AU9 5 LNB Dish
HR21-100 with AM-21 to Sharp LC-60E79U using HDMI, optical to Harmon/Kardon AVR-247, 2 TB external hard drive
HR21-700 to 31" Mitsubishi CRT, 2 TB external hard drive
Westell 7500 Router, Hardwired to HR21-100, 7500 hardwired to Netgear switch to HR20-100

#36 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,416 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 30 September 2007 - 04:45 PM

I have the old Total Choice Plus package, and I get the Science Channel.


Ditto

#37 OFFLINE   troman

troman

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 08, 2007

Posted 30 September 2007 - 05:20 PM

Hmm, well then I'm confused. You guys are billed for Choice, not Choice Extra, I assume?

The DirecTV rep is telling me Total Choice PLus doesn't include Science Channel, and I need to upgrade to Choice Extra....

#38 OFFLINE   DanL74

DanL74

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2007

Posted 30 September 2007 - 09:55 PM

Well, the Science channel just came on by itself today. No calls, no resets.
Strange. But glad it's finally there. Great picture!!

#39 OFFLINE   robmfielding

robmfielding

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 October 2007 - 06:25 AM

I'm seeing something unusual on the Science Channel. My picture has what can only be described as "twinkling little lights or stars" across the middle section of the screen. It's subtle but it's there and only on this channel for me. I have a HR20-700 with hdmi to a Sony 40" LCD. Please let me know if anyone else sees this. You have to look closely and it appears noticeably with darker backgrounds. It could just be my setup causing this but I am interested to see if anyone else can confirm what I am seeing.

#40 OFFLINE   mmicha

mmicha

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2007

Posted 05 November 2007 - 07:48 PM

I'm seeing something unusual on the Science Channel. My picture has what can only be described as "twinkling little lights or stars" across the middle section of the screen. It's subtle but it's there and only on this channel for me. I have a HR20-700 with hdmi to a Sony 40" LCD. Please let me know if anyone else sees this. You have to look closely and it appears noticeably with darker backgrounds. It could just be my setup causing this but I am interested to see if anyone else can confirm what I am seeing.


I see it as well. You are not alone.

#41 OFFLINE   soloredd

soloredd

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2007

Posted 06 November 2007 - 12:37 PM

God, I love this channel. I had it on Comcast (SD) and watched it continuously. So glad to have it in HD, though! And they show a TON of HD programs.

269-287 is the best block of channels, IMO.

#42 OFFLINE   Josh

Josh

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2007

Posted 14 November 2007 - 03:38 PM

Hey guys -- i had the same problem and here's how we fixed it:

I used to have the old TiVo setup that was 59/month.
When i upgraded to the '20 they kept me on the same 59$ plan and charged me 10/month for the HD package.

Aparently, D* was supposed to back me out of the 59/month plan, and put me on the HDDVR plan for 69.(Same price different "behind the scenes")

After I called them they did this and the Sci channel comes in now. No resetting or anyhting it appeared during the phone call. No change in cost of programming.

#43 OFFLINE   romulox

romulox

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2007

Posted 16 November 2007 - 02:09 PM

I see it as well. You are not alone.


FINALLY..... someone else seeing this issue with the noise / pixelation on the Science Channel.

I've posted this issue here and in the directv forums and no one can seem to relate. Out of frustration I hooked up a 27" Olevia lcd flat panel (my normal tv is the kds-60a2020) to the hr20 via both hdmi and component - I see the problem. Based on that alone I can rule out the TV and my cables (doubtful both sets of cables made by different vendors would be bad).

I then checked my signal strength on 103a (or was it b? - which ever is the one people here have you check for the HDs). My signals were all between 94 and 100.

I don't suspect my rg6 cabling or this white noise would happen on all channels and would only be happening to me - not to mmicha, robmfielding, or my buddy in town with the same issue.

This leaves we with 3 culprits - the hr20 itself, the science channel, or the b band converters. If it's the science channel, nothing I can do. If it's the HR20 - I don't even feel like dealing with it. But the BBCs? I guess I could order some new ones.

Anyone else with thoughts or ideas?
RAMONE..... get this kid a life!

Simple setup: DVR not networked, no multiswitch, no phone line

Complete setup plus signal strengths: click here

#44 OFFLINE   DTTC

DTTC

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2006

Posted 12 December 2007 - 08:24 AM

Sparkle problem has been fixed.

#45 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • Registered
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 12 December 2007 - 08:37 AM

Thanks, DTTC. I appreciate your good work and letting us know. I really enjoy the Science Channel. It's one of my presets on my Harmony remote.

Any chance I can get you to comment on the audio sync problems widely reported here on Mythbusters over the past few weeks?

* rubs lamp *
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#46 OFFLINE   DTTC

DTTC

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2006

Posted 12 December 2007 - 12:44 PM

There are numerous reports of lip sync problems across many channels. Speaking for the Discovery HD networks (Discovery, TLC, Animal Planet and Science), I can assure you that the signals that we monitor on the satellite downlinks for our own networks are all correctly in sync. These downlinks that we monitor match the signals that are delivered to our affiliates (DirecTV, the cable headends, etc) so we are confident we are delivering correctly timed signals to these affiliates.

From postings on various forums it appears that if home viewers reboot their STB's it corrects the lip sync problem, which validates the statement above.

#47 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • Registered
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 12 December 2007 - 03:58 PM

Thanks again, DTTC. That's good to know.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A




Protected By... spam firewall...And...