Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discussion: Animal Planet (Channel 282)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
39 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 18 September 2007 - 01:40 PM

Discussion thread for the new HD channel: Animal Planet (Channel 282)

Topics: PQ, Programming, Stretch-0-vision (we hope not!), etc.

And don't forget our other coverage of the new DIRECTV HD channels:

The list of Launched Channels,
Troubleshooting Tips for the New HD Channels,
and just for fun, The "I Got Them!" Challenge.


DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 04:49 AM

APLHD - Confirmed 282
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 26 September 2007 - 04:53 AM

Anyone have an idea about what shows are offered in HD on this channel? I already know Meerkat Manor is.
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#4 OFFLINE   GC71388

GC71388

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Mar 12, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 05:15 AM

WOW sunrise earth in MPEG 4!!!!!!!!!

#5 OFFLINE   petergaryr

petergaryr

    Passed away April 24, 2010

  • Registered
  • 608 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 06:03 AM

Watched a little, but it was mostly upconverted. Looking forward to Meerkat Manor in HD.

#6 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 26 September 2007 - 06:30 AM

Could not find 1 HD show in the guide for this channel.

Sunrise Earth looked terrible.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#7 OFFLINE   mhking

mhking

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 546 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2002

Posted 26 September 2007 - 06:36 AM

Sunrise Earth looks a little muddy; definitely not as good as on HD Theater....
Wish list of channels for D*: C-Span 3; BBC World News; Sky News International; CBC Newsworld; France24; EuroNews; Eurosportnews; Setanta Sports News; ABC News 24 (Australia); Australia Network (soon to be ABC Asia Pacific); Al Jazeera English; Russia Today; NHK World; DW-TV -- Heck, how about an entire English-language international tier so I don't have to keep switching to my Roku?

#8 OFFLINE   PR Buick

PR Buick

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 06:36 AM

Yeah, Sunrise Earth looks upconverted. Why would they run it that way?

#9 OFFLINE   GC71388

GC71388

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Mar 12, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 06:37 AM

Yeah sorry about that, it looked really good in one shot I saw.

#10 OFFLINE   SinBin

SinBin

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Apr 13, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 06:39 AM

I can't stand the Animal Planet HD logo on the screen. At least they could try putting their annoying logo a bit further down and to the right. IMO, logos in general take away from the viewing experience

#11 OFFLINE   Spartn1

Spartn1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 07:46 AM

Animal Planet is one of two channels that I couldn't get...I get the 721 channel not purchased code, but I was sure that it is part of my package...checking again...

#12 OFFLINE   David HDDX

David HDDX

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 08:06 AM

I can't stand the Animal Planet HD logo on the screen. At least they could try putting their annoying logo a bit further down and to the right. IMO, logos in general take away from the viewing experience


Tell me about it. I wrote them awhile ago wrt their static branding being ever present and a threat to my equipment vis-a vis burn-in and they basically said we don't get any complaints.

Time to pepper them with complaints, IMO.

My Local PBS has an enormous static opaque brand and I am in the process of complaining the second time to them. I warned them this was going to be an issue.

A nice brand should be translucent, small and shifting by four corners. Heck, it shouldn't be there at all. We know what were watching!

Diligentia Vis Celeritas
HR20-700 thru
HDMI NATIVE=OFF
To Onkyo TX-SR606 AVR in passthru mode
To SONY 34XBR970 CRT


#13 OFFLINE   jcloudm

jcloudm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 08:49 AM

I wonder if Meerkat Manor is actually going to be in HD. I know that the SD is letterboxed, but when I looked at the guide on my HR20 this morning, the showing for this friday's episodes of MM didn't have the HD logo next to it. I guess we'll have to wait and see.

#14 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:43 AM

I wonder if Meerkat Manor is actually going to be in HD. I know that the SD is letterboxed, but when I looked at the guide on my HR20 this morning, the showing for this friday's episodes of MM didn't have the HD logo next to it. I guess we'll have to wait and see.


Every episode I have watched has also available in HD on the screen at the beginning.
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#15 OFFLINE   BuffaloDenny

BuffaloDenny

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 691 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 06:44 PM

Is anyone getting just a little bit of black bars on the sides for Blue Planet? It's not completely filling up my screen. Not pillar boxed, just maybe an inch or so on each side.
HR20-100S/Seagate
H20-100
Panasonic TH-58PZ800U Plasma
Pioneer Elite AVR SC-05
Toshiba HD-A1 HD DVD
Sony PS3 Blu-Ray

#16 OFFLINE   lmurphy

lmurphy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2004

Posted 26 September 2007 - 07:34 PM

Yes, my Sony was that way also with the very small black bars on the side.

#17 OFFLINE   rposly

rposly

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2007

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:14 PM

Two things:

- Yes, I have about an inch of black on either side of the screen, too. Strange.

- And yes, my HR20 is not showing that Meerkat Manor is going to be in HD. Quite a let-down.

#18 OFFLINE   Meglos

Meglos

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2006

Posted 26 September 2007 - 09:34 PM

I turned on Sunrise Earth this morning this on Animal Planet HD only to become extremely annoyed at the frequent commercial interruptions. It totally destroys the serenity of the program. Not what I want to wake up to.

It'll be back to DSHD for Sunrise Earth for me. :)

#19 OFFLINE   ShiningBengal

ShiningBengal

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2003

Posted 27 September 2007 - 04:11 AM

Is anyone getting just a little bit of black bars on the sides for Blue Planet? It's not completely filling up my screen. Not pillar boxed, just maybe an inch or so on each side.


You are getting a SD program that has been upconverted and zoomed. This results in a cropping of the image at the top and the bottom and a narrow pillar at each side. Also, pretty crappy PQ is the result. I will say it's a better alternative to Stretch-O-Vision. Better yet would be to leave the damned picture alone and present it in its normal full 4x3 format.

#20 OFFLINE   It's Poo!

It's Poo!

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 27 September 2007 - 08:34 AM

Animal Cops Houston looked really good in HD last night.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...