Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discussion: The Discovery Channel (Channel 278)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
41 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,392 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 27 September 2007 - 04:29 PM

As I understand it was shot this way to give the best results for SD and HD. I suppose it is a slight compromise for HD. If you see the same program in SD it is letterboxed 4x3.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   John W

John W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 549 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2005

Posted 27 September 2007 - 06:15 PM

I'm wondering if anyone else is having a problem with Discovery HD no filling the screen. I've attached a pic to show you guys.

Thanks


It fills the screen in normal aspect on my Dish receiver.

#23 OFFLINE   Johnboat

Johnboat

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2006

Posted 27 September 2007 - 08:12 PM

It isn't just you.
It same thing was happening when it was on 9301. Sometimes it would be full screen and other times it's like you've posted.


Ahh good :). I've noticed it's only certain shows too. When I took that pic How it's Made was on, after that Cash Cab was on and it filled the whole screen. Oh well no biggy I guess.

Thanks
The curse of Bobby Layne is over! I guess we'll finally see if curses are real. LOL
_______________________________________________
DirecTV HR20
Panasonic 52" HDTV DLP
^Upstairs
==================
Phillips DirecTivo
Sony 32" Trinitron SDTV
^Downstairs

#24 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,964 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 27 September 2007 - 08:28 PM

I see this in movies also. Now that we are in true HD land, I believe we are subject to filming ratio. Just like watching Gladiator in anamorphic widescreen, you will still have blacked areas of the screen.

#25 OFFLINE   bobpenn

bobpenn

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 September 2007 - 08:34 PM

I think that the shows which have the odd framing are in fact upconverted SD shows which have been zoomed in and cropped and probably slightly stretched to give the appearance of a normal frame. It's well done, but I am pretty sure it's just a nicely upconverted SD program.

#26 OFFLINE   gphvid

gphvid

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 498 posts
  • LocationThousand Oaks, Ca
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 27 September 2007 - 10:00 PM

SD shows that are upconverted to HD get softer as a result of trying to get 720x486 in the 1920x1080 frame. It has to be expanded or "blown up" to work. Some upconversions are pretty clean but you can still tell the difference.

#27 ONLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,870 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 28 September 2007 - 07:56 AM

At one point, I was able to find something on the Discovery site that said that Mythbusters was NOT in HD. Clearly it is, at least the newer ones.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#28 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 28 September 2007 - 08:07 AM

It isn't in HD but is streched and I am still loving it. Tell me how I never heard of Cash Cab before. I am on the lookout for him and his taxi. I can't imagine how long they must wait for someone to actually help them on the street shout outs. :)
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .

#29 OFFLINE   Johnboat

Johnboat

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2006

Posted 28 September 2007 - 08:56 AM

Cash Cab is a great show. My wife and I love it.
The curse of Bobby Layne is over! I guess we'll finally see if curses are real. LOL
_______________________________________________
DirecTV HR20
Panasonic 52" HDTV DLP
^Upstairs
==================
Phillips DirecTivo
Sony 32" Trinitron SDTV
^Downstairs

#30 OFFLINE   tealcomp

tealcomp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 20 October 2007 - 08:30 PM

Hi All:

I was watching Mythbusters on 278HD tonight; I was noticing some major corruption/pixelation with the 9 and 10PM broadcasts tonight; I did experience my first 771 error, so I did a reboot from the menu (sorry forget the acronym we finally settled on)..it doesn't help about not using the red button LOL, when it is the first thing the HR-20 says to do in the help screen...Anyway, anyone else see any problems with Mythbusters tonight?

-Dan

#31 OFFLINE   Johnboat

Johnboat

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2006

Posted 20 October 2007 - 08:54 PM

Yeah I'm getting a sound stutter during mythbusters. <aybe some issues gong on tonight :(.
The curse of Bobby Layne is over! I guess we'll finally see if curses are real. LOL
_______________________________________________
DirecTV HR20
Panasonic 52" HDTV DLP
^Upstairs
==================
Phillips DirecTivo
Sony 32" Trinitron SDTV
^Downstairs

#32 OFFLINE   tealcomp

tealcomp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 20 October 2007 - 09:16 PM

Yeah I'm getting a sound stutter during mythbusters. <aybe some issues gong on tonight :(.


As long as it was not my issue; I feel better now

#33 OFFLINE   ChicagoTC

ChicagoTC

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 244 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2007

Posted 20 October 2007 - 11:25 PM

Issues here as well, 771 error but not bothersome enough to reboot. I'll try again tomorrow
Tom

#34 OFFLINE   vegasflyby

vegasflyby

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2007

Posted 01 November 2007 - 07:39 PM

Anyone watch Stormchasers last night? The last few episodes have been HD. I'm watching on the DVR now and there are 1.5" bars on the side and the picture looks distorted (squished together). Just wondering if anyone else noticed.
Hate the 50 SL limit? Call (800-DIRECTV) or write Directv to let them know and join the discussion here.

#35 OFFLINE   bosco10021

bosco10021

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 514 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2006

Posted 01 November 2007 - 08:16 PM

I am having audio lip sync problems right now watching Myth Busters...anyone else ?

#36 OFFLINE   vegasflyby

vegasflyby

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2007

Posted 01 November 2007 - 08:37 PM

I had major lip sync issues on Mythbusters, too.
Hate the 50 SL limit? Call (800-DIRECTV) or write Directv to let them know and join the discussion here.

#37 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 06 November 2007 - 07:59 PM

Anyone else getting a pretty severe video delay on 278 right now? The video seems to be about 250ms behind the audio.
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#38 OFFLINE   corey

corey

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2007

Posted 06 November 2007 - 08:15 PM

I am having lipsync issues on multiple shows on this channel on both a HR20-100 and a H20-100 Any ideas. It seems to be the only channel that has them.

#39 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 06 November 2007 - 08:20 PM

I am having lipsync issues on multiple shows on this channel on both a HR20-100 and a H20-100 Any ideas. It seems to be the only channel that has them.


Looks like it's fixed right now. Nothing you can do about it really, seems like it's a problem on D*s end of it.
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#40 OFFLINE   mridan

mridan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 549 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 07 November 2007 - 10:36 PM

Audio lipsync problem on Mythbusters tonight.Also recording of Dirty Jobs from Tues has lipsync issues.Storm Chasers tonight looks ok,no lipsync issues.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...