Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discusson: Bravo (Channel 273)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
45 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,920 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 18 September 2007 - 12:32 PM

Discussion thread for the new HD channel: Bravo (Channel 273)

Topics: PQ, Programming, Stretch-0-vision (we hope not!), etc.

And don't forget our other coverage of the new DIRECTV HD channels:

The list of Launched Channels,
Troubleshooting Tips for the New HD Channels,
and just for fun, The "I Got Them!" Challenge.


DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:14 AM

Confirmed
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:22 AM

Bravo-HD is without Closed Captioning, just like USA-HD and SCIFI-HD. :(

As I said in those threads, it seems NBC-owned networks don't believe the deaf/hard of hearing people use their channels. If they fail to provide closed captioning, they won't, either.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#4 OFFLINE   terryfoster

terryfoster

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:58 AM

Yes! More upconverted infomercials. ;) The good news is it doesn't appear that they stretch their infomercials, so that's a good sign.

#5 OFFLINE   noneroy

noneroy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 373 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:27 AM

I think Top Chef is in HD...and this would be just in time for the finale. Hells. Yes.

I'm betting Project Runway is in HD too, which would be cool. And, yes, it sort of IS a chick show, but my chick got me into it and now I'm addicted. :lol: :lol: I wonder if the barely naked models have anything to do with it.

Wasn't Universal HD originally BravoHD? Shows how far we have come.

#6 OFFLINE   generalpatton78

generalpatton78

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 422 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2003

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:33 AM

I guess bravo HD decided to un retire lol. What's good in HD on this channel now? It used to be the West Wing channel.

#7 OFFLINE   djzack67

djzack67

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:37 AM

I think Top Chef is in HD...and this would be just in time for the finale. Hells. Yes.

I'm betting Project Runway is in HD too, which would be cool. And, yes, it sort of IS a chick show, but my chick got me into it and now I'm addicted. :lol: :lol: I wonder if the barely naked models have anything to do with it.

Wasn't Universal HD originally BravoHD? Shows how far we have come.


TOP Chef Tonight.....Go Dale. (He lives a few blocks from me)
Waiting for
BBCA HD

#8 OFFLINE   JerryElbow

JerryElbow

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 218 posts
Joined: Jun 14, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:43 AM

I got no joy this morning on Bravo-HD; nothing but a black screen. Hopefully, it'll be fixed by the time I get home tonight.

#9 OFFLINE   noneroy

noneroy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 373 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:44 AM

TOP Chef Tonight.....Go Dale. (He lives a few blocks from me)


For real.

If I may quote Homer Simpson, "I like my beer cold, my TV loud, and my homosexuals FLAMING!"

Seriously, Dale has been cracking me up all season. I'm rooting for him for sure.

#10 OFFLINE   djzack67

djzack67

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:48 AM

For real.

If I may quote Homer Simpson, "I like my beer cold, my TV loud, and my homosexuals FLAMING!"

Seriously, Dale has been cracking me up all season. I'm rooting for him for sure.


He's a totally cool guy, what I love, what you see on TV, is really him. What I think is great is he his real nice, did a few local neighborhood benifets this past month, and is now looking to open a restuerant here in the hood. Dale you rock.
Waiting for
BBCA HD

#11 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:50 AM

I've been watching. I hate the "Hung your food is technically fantastic but we don't get your soul in it." It's such B.S. When I go to eat good food, I want good food, not someone's soul. They're selling a Casey win anyway.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#12 OFFLINE   Crypter

Crypter

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 454 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:50 AM

They were showing Top Chef Re-Runs this morning from earlier this season and they were NOT HD. I don't think Top Chef is filmed in HD.

#13 OFFLINE   Southpaw

Southpaw

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: May 03, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:56 AM

Anything else in HD on Bravo? Queer eye's final season perhaps?

#14 OFFLINE   Frank_M

Frank_M

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:23 AM

I think they're starting West Wing again... at least I thought I saw that. I assume it would be in HD?

#15 OFFLINE   UrbanDad

UrbanDad

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 10:50 AM

So..... basically we have an HD channel with no HD programming?

Will the new season of Project Runway be in HD?
9 Year D* Customer
Sony KDS-50A2000
5-LNB
(1) H20
(1) HR20

#16 OFFLINE   turbrodude

turbrodude

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 11:20 AM

I looked forward in the guide and saw nothing on Bravo with an HD tag on it. At least they're not stretching or cropping their non-HD content.

#17 OFFLINE   djzack67

djzack67

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 11:23 AM

They were showing Top Chef Re-Runs this morning from earlier this season and they were NOT HD. I don't think Top Chef is filmed in HD.


Top Chef right now not in HD, but the upconvert looks better then the old SD ever did....
Waiting for
BBCA HD

#18 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 11:24 AM

I've noticed several of the new HDs don't have anything in the guide in HD... let us know if that's an error or if it's all upconverted.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#19 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 03 October 2007 - 11:30 AM

I'll still record the SD anyway, until they get captioning on the HD channels. Meh to them for not having it now. :(
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#20 OFFLINE   ralphfurley

ralphfurley

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2004

Posted 03 October 2007 - 12:14 PM

sure HD looks better than SD and I'm glad we have it, but why rush to add HD channels with NO HD programming? Does HGTV and Food have HD programs?I'd rather have MGM or MHD. AT least they added Cinemax
Stay classy,FURLEY OUT! Have I really been coming here for5 years!?!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...