Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discusson: Bravo (Channel 273)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
45 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:28 PM

I just saw a baseball game in HD on TBS-HD. No captioning though.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   OconRecon

OconRecon

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 84 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:56 PM

Man, what a teaser. BravoHD flips on just in time for Top Chef finale and all we get is black bars.

Bummer.

:confused:
D* since 1998

#28 OFFLINE   mrrydogg

mrrydogg

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 11:52 PM

Would of been nice to see the Top Chef finale in HD tonight!!!

Could of been a nice start to the first day of HD availability on Directv.

Woulda, coulda. Man that sucks.

#29 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,297 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 12:27 AM

Right now, there's bandwidth to burn, so D* will put up anything with "HD" in their name. But give it a few months and the transponders will get tight and it'll be put up or shut up time.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#30 OFFLINE   DrrD

DrrD

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:59 AM

I've been watching. I hate the "Hung your food is technically fantastic but we don't get your soul in it." It's such B.S. When I go to eat good food, I want good food, not someone's soul. They're selling a Casey win anyway.


Well, it's an expression, like when I tell someone "put your heart in it" I don't expect them to perform a auto sternotomy.

#31 OFFLINE   petergaryr

petergaryr

    Passed away April 24, 2010

  • Registered
  • 608 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 09:11 PM

Well, so far, nothing in HD on Bravo.

#32 OFFLINE   DawgLink

DawgLink

    Woof Woof Woof

  • Registered
  • 1,543 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 10:02 PM

Ugh, I wish more 30 Rock & West Wing shows were played on Bravo like the last few days

#33 OFFLINE   Ramalama

Ramalama

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: May 02, 2007

Posted 05 October 2007 - 08:50 AM

Are these available? After reading this thread I went and checked and I am not seeing these at all.

HGTV-HD and Food-HD are nearly 100% (I believe) HD channels. They are not just simulcasts of the regular channels. The downside to that is apparently there are a decent number of repeats, but I'd rather have that than just identical programming to what's on the SD channel. What's the point?



#34 OFFLINE   deepthinker

deepthinker

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2006

Posted 05 October 2007 - 09:12 AM

Is anyone other than me wondering why the marathon of "Friday Night Lights" they're running on Bravo HD right now is using the letterboxed 4:3 version instead of 16:9 HD?? I mean this is a VERY recent show that was shot in HD, so WTF? Black bars at top, bottom, and sides? Boy, what a way to launch an HD channel! :nono2: My 65" TV is showing 2/3 of the picture it would get on Bravo SD, so what's the point?:confused:
William
2 HR20-700's, 1 with eSATA 750GB Seagate HDD and Rosewill Enclosure
2 Tivo HD units both upgraded with 1TB drives
Samsung HLT6187SAX 61-Inch LED Engine 1080p DLP HDTV

#35 OFFLINE   leww37334

leww37334

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,499 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2005

Posted 05 October 2007 - 12:47 PM

Checked BravoHD today also, Friday Night Lights is on. These programs were originally broadcast in HD. On BravoHD they are not in HD.

First noticed this on Scifi channel (HD programs not being shown in HD). Something fishy going on.
“Reason is not automatic. Those who deny it cannot be conquered by it. Do not count on them. Leave them alone.” - Ayn Rand

#36 OFFLINE   PR Buick

PR Buick

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 05 October 2007 - 01:44 PM

It looks like this is another situation where D* lit up a channel before the network had actually made the switch. I don't see "HD" on their bug (which is still within the 4:3 area) and, like others have said, Friday Night Lights is available in HD. Hopefully, this network and SciFi will make the switch soon.

#37 OFFLINE   mx6bfast

mx6bfast

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationDelray Beach, FL
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 05 October 2007 - 02:51 PM

Are these available? After reading this thread I went and checked and I am not seeing these at all.

Not unavailable on D*.

Man the sound during Top Chef was terrible. The base was waaaaaaaayyyyy up.
Glory, Glory Man United

My setup with pictures

#38 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,403 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 07 October 2007 - 05:39 AM

Ive seen HD on SCI FI HD but stil nothing on BRAVOHD.

#39 OFFLINE   uncrules

uncrules

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 345 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 07 October 2007 - 06:20 AM

The movie Harlem Nights looked like it was in HD last night. It at least filled up the whole screen and Bravo hasn't been doing stretch-o-vision.
1 HR34-700 (w/AM21N), 2 HR24-500 (1 w/AM21), 2 HR22-100 - Whole Home DVR with DECA and broadband DECA setup
Panasonic Viera 65" TC-P65V10, Magnavox 42" 42MF337B, Sony Bravia 40" KDL40EX400, 2 Vizio 37" E370VL
Directv subscriber since 1995
Xbox 360 Elite, 2 PS3, Nintendo Wii

#40 OFFLINE   vertigo235

vertigo235

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 293 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 07 October 2007 - 09:31 AM

Just give them time, they probably were not ready like SciFi wasn't. The NBC channels have been doing a pretty good job once they get up and going so give em some time.

#41 OFFLINE   ammar249

ammar249

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2007

Posted 07 October 2007 - 11:36 AM

The new NBC show Chuck is being shown in HD right now on Bravo

#42 OFFLINE   ammar249

ammar249

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2007

Posted 07 October 2007 - 12:04 PM

Journeyman is also being shown in HD right now

#43 OFFLINE   StephenK

StephenK

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2007

Posted 13 October 2007 - 02:48 PM

Six Feet Under was HD yesterday on Bravo.

I guess they're steadily adding it. I guess NBCU is 'upgrading' these channels day-by-day. They're still practically in beta mode, so I don't blame them.

I do wonder if Bravo will be upgrading their reality to HD, something not done even by NBC, considering that's a good portion of their network.

#44 OFFLINE   petergaryr

petergaryr

    Passed away April 24, 2010

  • Registered
  • 608 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2006

Posted 20 October 2007 - 09:55 AM

Last night around 11:30 PM I was checking channels after the latest CE on the HR20-700 and spotted the tail end of a movie on Bravo in HD. Unfortunately, the next film was quickly back to SD.

#45 OFFLINE   uncrules

uncrules

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 345 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 03 December 2007 - 07:07 AM

Law and Order: Criminal Intent was in HD last night.
1 HR34-700 (w/AM21N), 2 HR24-500 (1 w/AM21), 2 HR22-100 - Whole Home DVR with DECA and broadband DECA setup
Panasonic Viera 65" TC-P65V10, Magnavox 42" 42MF337B, Sony Bravia 40" KDL40EX400, 2 Vizio 37" E370VL
Directv subscriber since 1995
Xbox 360 Elite, 2 PS3, Nintendo Wii

#46 OFFLINE   jgriffin7

jgriffin7

    Native Texan

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 259 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 29 January 2008 - 11:47 AM

Checked out West Wing yesterday. Letterboxed 4:3.
D*, please remove the 'HD' from the 'BravoHD' label until they bring us something real!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...