Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discusson: Fox Business (Channel 359)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
54 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   zemzem

zemzem

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2007

Posted 15 October 2007 - 11:45 AM

Does anyone know what business package you have to subscribe to in order to watch this at a small business? You think they would have added this channel to all business packages.


The Fox Business Channel is not yet available on ANY business package as of right now with Directv. It IS coming for small businesses and if your package includes all the other news network channels such as cnbc, fox news, cnn etc, you will receive this new channel as well when they do decide to add it to business packages. When that is I don't know. Neither does Directv.
zem

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   sdk009

sdk009

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
  • LocationStanislaus County Farmland
Joined: Jan 19, 2007

Posted 15 October 2007 - 12:03 PM

Not a fan of Fox , but this channel is impressive.


+1

#23 OFFLINE   Tonedeaf

Tonedeaf

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2006

Posted 15 October 2007 - 12:06 PM

oops, didn't have it on "all channels" i hate that the new channels don't show up in your customized list.


That's what is custom about it. You tell it what you want it to show. Glad it actually works this way on the HR20 receivers myself. I am so fed up with the crap channels that my DirecTivo's add every day when I delete them out.
Equipment
HR22-100(VOD/MRV) SWM/DECA connected via HDMI on Panasonic TC-P58S2
HR24-200(VOD/MRV) SWM/DECA connected via HDMI on Panasonic TH-50PZ85U
HR21-700(VOD/MRV) W/AM21 SWM/DECA connected via HDMI to Sony KDL-46V3000
HR22-100(VOD/MRV) SWM/DECA connected via HDMI to Westinghouse 37"LCD
H24-200 SWM connected via HDMI to Samsung 24" LCD

AU9 Dish , SWM-16, SWS-8 Splitter

#24 OFFLINE   AlanSaysYo

AlanSaysYo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 15 October 2007 - 02:15 PM

I am getting slight overscan on the right side and at the top. In both cases it is only a few missing lines. Is anyone else seeing this?


Same here with both FBC and CNBC (or is it MSNBC... whichever). I have slight cutoff of the text on the right side. I typically have a slight cutoff of the ABC HD bug, if that helps you determine anything.

#25 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 15 October 2007 - 04:46 PM

I really like the right side HD panel. Clever usage.

- Craig

#26 OFFLINE   johnnymac96

johnnymac96

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2006

Posted 15 October 2007 - 04:48 PM

This channel is great - very similar to CNBC-HD and just as impressive with all the data and tickers they manage to squeeze all over the place. Also agree with what was mentioned earlier about the "HD Wing", it's a very effective use of the space.

#27 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 October 2007 - 04:55 PM

The channel is labeled as FBNBHD in the guide. Should just be FBNHD, looks like someone fat-fingered it when they typed it in.

#28 OFFLINE   Amerikes

Amerikes

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: May 18, 2006

Posted 15 October 2007 - 05:07 PM

Does anyone know if Fox News Channel 360 is going to HD in the next 6 months or so? This is the news channel that I like, and I haven't seen anything about it going HD.

#29 OFFLINE   ActiveHDdave

ActiveHDdave

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 461 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2007

Posted 15 October 2007 - 05:21 PM

I am getting slight overscan on the right side and at the top. In both cases it is only a few missing lines. Is anyone else seeing this?


I am getting the overscan too but I get overscans on other HD channels too. Like ABC 27 and other channels and my TV does not have any settings to address this. I have a h-20 reciever and have the the picture centered by default.


FBCHD Channel looks good by the way.

#30 OFFLINE   Araxen

Araxen

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2005

Posted 15 October 2007 - 10:36 PM

I tried to watch the After Hours show, but it was really dumb and it wasn't in HD!
If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
PSN: Araxen - Xbox: Gamertag: Araxen II - Steam: Araxen - WiiU: Araxen

#31 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,517 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 15 October 2007 - 11:04 PM

That's what is custom about it. You tell it what you want it to show. Glad it actually works this way on the HR20 receivers myself. I am so fed up with the crap channels that my DirecTivo's add every day when I delete them out.


Yes, indeed.

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#32 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,517 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 15 October 2007 - 11:05 PM

I am getting slight overscan on the right side and at the top. In both cases it is only a few missing lines. Is anyone else seeing this?


Not on either of my TVs.

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#33 OFFLINE   ChrisPC

ChrisPC

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 437 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2003

Posted 16 October 2007 - 01:28 AM

The channel is labeled as FBNBHD in the guide. Should just be FBNHD, looks like someone fat-fingered it when they typed it in.


I saw that too.

#34 OFFLINE   jasonblair

jasonblair

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 547 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 16 October 2007 - 06:07 AM

The channel is labeled as FBNBHD in the guide. Should just be FBNHD, looks like someone fat-fingered it when they typed it in.

I noticed that too.. Very annoying! I'm hoping that soon they can just get rid of "HD" at the end of all the HD channels.

What is more annoying is they have STZEHD next to STZWHD on the guide... So I always assume that STZEHD is Stars East HD, and STZWHD is Stars West HD... But in fact STZEHD is Stars Edge HD or something like that. Starz East HD is actually labelled as STZHD.

My vote - End the madness, and take the "HD" off the label. If it ain't in HD, it's not in my custom guide anyway.

#35 OFFLINE   durl

durl

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,743 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2003

Posted 16 October 2007 - 10:15 AM

Mark me down as a fan of the HD Wing.

#36 OFFLINE   zemzem

zemzem

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2007

Posted 16 October 2007 - 11:17 AM

Does anyone know what business package you have to subscribe to in order to watch this at a small business? You think they would have added this channel to all business packages.


Do you have this channel now?
zem

#37 OFFLINE   kcroyaljosh

kcroyaljosh

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 16 October 2007 - 02:58 PM

Anyone have issues with the sound delay on the Dave Ramsey Show?

#38 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 16 October 2007 - 04:23 PM

End the madness, and take the "HD" off the label.

No way. As long as there is an SD and an HD channel, the HD channel should be designated differently.

#39 OFFLINE   bslowey

bslowey

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2005

Posted 16 October 2007 - 06:10 PM

Do you have this channel now?
zem


Yes, it was on this morning on the commercial choice package.

#40 OFFLINE   ironwood

ironwood

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 16 October 2007 - 06:33 PM

This is a great channel to watch in HD because of extra screen space and better detail it works great for business news. They always try to squeeze as much info as possible on a small screen with faces, tickers, running news lines etc it was always really hard to watch. Business channels from will benefit from HD format.




spam firewall