Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discusson: SciFi Channel (Channel 244)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
465 replies to this topic

#226 OFFLINE   Wire Paladin

Wire Paladin

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 02:58 PM

All seasons of SG:1 are presented in 16x9 on the DVD sets (I own the first season... after seeing it on sale years ago)... and all episodes are presented in letterbox on Sci-Fi... though the first two (?) seasons are edited for content on Sci-Fi (language, violence, and nudity in the case of the pilot episode).
~Alan

If MGM was smart they would remaster the SG1 series and release them in HD. Leterbox is ok but I want the higher resolution. If they can do it to Hogan's Heroes that gotta be able to do it with SG1. And I would guess that if that happens, it would be shown on the new MGM HD channel.

Also I read that SciFi was only licensed to show Enterprise in SD/Letterbox and not HD. Not sure if that is true or not. We'll find out.
Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP
Samsung UN55B8500
Sony KDS60XBR1
Sony BDP-S300
TiVo HD XL DVR

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#227 OFFLINE   msfaulk

msfaulk

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 03:39 PM

I was quite dissapointed when I saw SCI-FI HD. The pillar boxing along with the letter boxing is crap. i can only hope that when SGA comes on it fits my screen like it does on Universal HD.

Mike
LG 55LX9500 3D LED, Samsung 52" LCD, Vizio 26" LED,
HR24-500, HR20-700, H21-100, R16 X3, MRV
Harmony 900, DTV since 1999
Beer...The elixir of life

#228 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,403 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 04 October 2007 - 03:47 PM

Has any true full screen HD appeared on SCIFI yet???

#229 OFFLINE   taylorhively

taylorhively

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 04:09 PM

SG-1 has only been HD for either the last 4 seasons I believe. I think season 7 was the first to be shot in HD but I'm not totally sure.

All of Atlantis has been HD.

EDIT:
I guess earlier seasons were shot on film. I guess that means they would have been transfered to video via HD making all seasons HD. So I guess I don't know what I'm talking about.

#230 OFFLINE   ronsm

ronsm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 04:49 PM

Also I read that SciFi was only licensed to show Enterprise in SD/Letterbox and not HD. Not sure if that is true or not. We'll find out.


That makes sense, because Enterprise is already HD on HDnet. They got there first, so to speak. Kinda like BBC getting Torchwood in SD, and HDnet getting it in HD. Besides, SciFi didn't have HD capability when the contracts were made, so they probably didn't want to pay for it

#231 OFFLINE   Dirk

Dirk

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 05:14 PM

I just hope that tomorrow night Stargate Atlantis is in HD.

Also Hi this is my first post. :D I just got Directv 3 weeks ago and I am loving it so far. I just want the waivers to hurry up. lol.

#232 OFFLINE   Mind Voyager

Mind Voyager

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 05:17 PM

SG-1 has only been HD for either the last 4 seasons I believe. I think season 7 was the first to be shot in HD but I'm not totally sure.

All of Atlantis has been HD.

EDIT:
I guess earlier seasons were shot on film. I guess that means they would have been transfered to video via HD making all seasons HD. So I guess I don't know what I'm talking about.

I believe you were closer to being right before you edited this :) I know they started off with 16mm film. At some point (3rd season?), I'm pretty sure they went to some flavor of 35mm film. Near the end (perhaps 7, perhaps later, I do not have the info onhand) they did start shooting with HD cameras. As has been discussed in other places, anything done on film could be re-scanned into high-def. However, I seriously doubt at this point that SG-1 has had this done -- that would have been an awful lot of expense for a TV show. Someone could certainly go back now and re-scan SG-1 into HD (like they did with Star Trek: The Original Series), although I would imagine all the effects shots were done in SD video and would only be able to be upconverted instead of being "true" HD.

The episodes of Atlantis that have shown on UHD were filmed in HD, but I'm not so sure about the effects shots. I suspect those were also done at a SD resolution, being that at the time the only way to view the show was in SD. It always seems to go very soft during any kind of special effect (look at the gate in a regular shot when no effects are going on, and then look at it during a "kawoosh" - all the symbols around it go fuzzy)

#233 OFFLINE   FlyBono24

FlyBono24

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 484 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 05:34 PM

No, I've seen them all, and the ones you mention are the only ones I remember.:)

They are too quick to debunk...just because the air conditioning can thump occasionally, doesn't mean the a/c is the ONLY thing that goes thump.

Sorry for the O.T., but for a show called "Ghost Hunters," they are just too skeptical.


I think they mentioned once that they try to take a scientific approach to everything, and if something would not (theoretically) hold up in a courtroom as "evidence", then it was not going to pass by their standards.

So if there's something on film that could be an "orb", or it could be a speck of dust floating around... if there's any doubt in their mind, they are going to debunk it and just say it's dust... even if it is an orb, if it is not undisputable evidence, they'll toss it out.

#234 OFFLINE   tealcomp

tealcomp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 05:34 PM

Don't get me started. ECW is hardly science fiction....:nono:


LOL, not worth seeing in SD let alone HD, of course that is my opinion; yours may vary :)

-Dan

#235 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 05:44 PM


Also I read that SciFi was only licensed to show Enterprise in SD/Letterbox and not HD. Not sure if that is true or not. We'll find out.


This would totally bum me out as it's one show i'm looking forward to in HD - 4 hours every Monday.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#236 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 05:45 PM

I just hope that tomorrow night Stargate Atlantis is in HD.

Also Hi this is my first post. :D I just got Directv 3 weeks ago and I am loving it so far. I just want the waivers to hurry up. lol.

:welcome_s
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#237 OFFLINE   MrKlaatu

MrKlaatu

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 407 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 06:01 PM

Three or four years ago, I started to watch SG-1 from the beginning in order. I watched them all. The first 4 (or was it 5) seasons were in 4:3 and then it switched to 16:9 -- I think the year it became a SciFi original (instead of Showtime).

#238 OFFLINE   MrKlaatu

MrKlaatu

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 407 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 06:02 PM

:D :lol: :D

retardis!!! (I'm just getting caught up on this thread)


Finally someone picked up on that.

#239 OFFLINE   generalpatton78

generalpatton78

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 422 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2003

Posted 04 October 2007 - 06:03 PM

This would totally bum me out as it's one show i'm looking forward to in HD - 4 hours every Monday.


SCifi does NOT have the rights to the HD Enterprise. Mark Cuban and HDNET has been doing deals for the exclusive rights to the HD portion of shows for years. That said SG1 and Atlantis have been HD internationally for years and if Scifi doesn't have the rights to them somebody at scifi should be fired.

#240 OFFLINE   vertigo235

vertigo235

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 293 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 06:29 PM

yeesh, what good is even starting an HD Network if you can't air anything in HD? I surely hope they renegotiate some deals!

#241 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:03 PM

This Species movie on right now is the first actual HD content I've seen since the channel launched. Picture looks good, but I don't think I could bring myself to watch this particular show :lol:

Crossing my fingers for Atlantis in HD tomorrow :D
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#242 OFFLINE   EFGFE36TWGOU4

EFGFE36TWGOU4

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:03 PM

species: the awakening movie tonight looks to be True HD, is this the first on Sci_fi?

#243 OFFLINE   taylorhively

taylorhively

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:44 PM

Same here, this is the first HD conetent they've had so far. This is encouraging. I'm hoping this means that Atlantis will be in HD tomorrow night. Hopefully this means more than that but at least we've seen real HD finally.

I'm hopeful (for Atlantis)
5 DirecTV HD DVRs: HR20-700, HR20-700, HR22-100, HR21-100, HR24-500
60" Sony SXRB HD

#244 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:47 PM

Standing by with pitchfork and torches if SG:A is not in HD tomorrow.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#245 OFFLINE   skakusha

skakusha

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:51 PM

First appearance of the SciFi HD bug, which is a good sign as well. Let's keep our fingers crossed for SGA in HD.

At first I thought it was Enterprise in HD, because of the actor who plays Malcolm, Enterprise Armory Officer, being a character in the Species flick.

#246 OFFLINE   Koyukon

Koyukon

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:56 PM

man, you guys are funny. geekin' out over stargate atlantis. don't you know hd was invented for sports. you know outside. or does the sun burn you? lol
when the day comes, it will be here.

#247 OFFLINE   skakusha

skakusha

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:59 PM

The Dallas Cowboys Star is a logo for a sports team. :P Being a geek and an athlete are not mutually exclusive. LOL! Yes, I can admit it. :D

#248 OFFLINE   Koyukon

Koyukon

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 08:02 PM

just givin' you guys a hard time, that's all.
when the day comes, it will be here.

#249 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 08:07 PM

First appearance of the SciFi HD bug


Nope, I definitely saw it there yesterday.
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#250 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,025 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 04 October 2007 - 08:16 PM

And I would guess that if that happens, it would be shown on the new MGM HD channel.


MGM-HD is MOVIES only... so they would have to change the channel to accomodate series programming, or create a second channel.

Also I read that SciFi was only licensed to show Enterprise in SD/Letterbox and not HD. Not sure if that is true or not. We'll find out.


You are correct. HDNet has the HD broadcast rights to "Enterprise", as they do with "Torchwood" and "Smallville"... among others...

~Alan




Protected By... spam firewall...And...