Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discusson: SciFi Channel (Channel 244)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
465 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   patsrule316

patsrule316

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 187 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:50 AM

Does anyone know if Flash Gordon is in HD?


If HD stands for Hugely Disappointing it is. :D

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   nino2469

nino2469

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:53 AM

lol, yeah its not great, but for some reason I still watch it.

#53 OFFLINE   aktick

aktick

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 105 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:53 AM

OK, maybe I'm just an idiot, and never noticed it on other channels - but while watching "live TV" on SciFiHD, the screen saver came on - I didn't think this happened while watching live?

#54 OFFLINE   vegasflyby

vegasflyby

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:56 AM

Same thing happened to me yesterday...first time.
Hate the 50 SL limit? Call (800-DIRECTV) or write Directv to let them know and join the discussion here.

#55 OFFLINE   msmith198025

msmith198025

    Member of the Year

  • Registered
  • 1,259 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:02 AM

Don't get me started. ECW is hardly science fiction....:nono:


Nope! Just fiction;)

#56 OFFLINE   Jagg

Jagg

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:19 AM

Whoops. I posted the completely wrong error message. I'm getting a 771 - searching for signal on SciFi HD and USA HD. After a restart Bravo HD comes in.


771 error seems to be pretty common. There are some threads on it. I have the same problem :(

#57 OFFLINE   mridan

mridan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 554 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:20 AM

I hope stargate atlantis is in hd this fri,did new series link but no hd icon :(

#58 OFFLINE   Argee

Argee

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:26 AM

Flash is letterboxed on the SD version so at the very least they SHOULD broadcast it 16x9 but then again they are letterboxing Beastmaster so we will have to see.

#59 OFFLINE   pdawg17

pdawg17

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,488 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:27 AM

OK, maybe I'm just an idiot, and never noticed it on other channels - but while watching "live TV" on SciFiHD, the screen saver came on - I didn't think this happened while watching live?


Rebooting the box should fix that...

#60 OFFLINE   Nobody

Nobody

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
  • LocationSo Cal
Joined: Aug 04, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:30 AM

[quote name='jediphish']Re: the letterboxed Beastmaster, even if they don't have it in HD, shouldn't it be widescreen upconverted?

QUOTE]


I think this is odd as well.

#61 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:39 AM

We'll just have to see if HD content shows up later tonight. I'm pretty sure the lack of HD indicators is probably just guide data error.
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#62 OFFLINE   kcarstens

kcarstens

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:42 AM

Looks like all the good stuff (SGATL, DRWHO, etc) is in letterbox, as is currently running beast master. Prefer this over stretch-o-vision, but had really hoped for 16:9. The current letterbox view (beast master) is ready (logo in right place) to be cropped and broadcast in 16:9.... hardly a marked improvement over 244 SciFi-nonHD

#63 OFFLINE   jbellanca

jbellanca

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:45 AM

Thank you DirecTV. Can't wait to watch/record Stargate Atlantis in HD tomorow.


Wouldn't that be great... if they'd list any shows as actually being broadcast in HD?!?!?!?!?!?? What's the point of an HD channel if they're only broadcasting 480p. Hope that changes and they just forgot to change the guide!

#64 OFFLINE   bgartz

bgartz

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:00 AM

Flash is letterboxed on the SD version so at the very least they SHOULD broadcast it 16x9 but then again they are letterboxing Beastmaster so we will have to see.


The Pilot episode of Flash was in HD on Universal HD. I am hoping that the rest of the series was filmed in HD.

#65 OFFLINE   OinkinOregon

OinkinOregon

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:08 AM

Does the channel tag at the bottom of the screen show SciFiHD or is it just a stretched version of the SD channel?

#66 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:09 AM

Don't forget to setup your seies links on the new HD channel. Eureka is still in the guide so you can even "fix" that one for next season too.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#67 OFFLINE   PMX4

PMX4

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:19 AM

I hope stargate atlantis is in hd this fri,did new series link but no hd icon :(


One of the Stargate: Atlantis's creators said in the intreview with Gateworld wesbite that fourth season definitely will be aired in HD. :)


I hope that they have closed captioning for Stargate: Atlantis and Battlestar Galactica on SciFi Channel HD because I am a hearing impaired. That would suck if I had to watch them on SD-version channel because they have CC.

#68 OFFLINE   mridan

mridan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 554 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:24 AM

One of the Stargate: Atlantis's creators said in the intreview with Gateworld wesbite that fourth season definitely will be aired in HD. :)


I hope that they have closed captioning for Stargate: Atlantis and Battlestar Galactica on SciFi Channel HD because I am a hearing impaired. That would suck if I had to watch them on SD-version channel because they have CC.


I hope there picked up for a fifth season,I read some time ago on gateworld that if fourth season ratings are low,there might not be a fifth season:(

#69 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:25 AM

I hope there picked up for a forth season,I read some time ago on gateworld that if third season ratings are low,there might not be a forth season:(


Season 4 already started - last Friday.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#70 OFFLINE   ronsm

ronsm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:28 AM

So far, SciFiHD is just a duplicate of SciFi, no change in presentation, logo, or program listing. In other words, no HD is being shown. Someone on another thread said that the HD channel hasn't been launched yet. If so, why would D* even have the channel available, and when is it supposed to be launched?

#71 OFFLINE   mridan

mridan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 554 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:28 AM

Season 4 already started - last Friday.


Sorry season five

#72 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,568 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:28 AM

I'm going to update my season pass for SG:A because even if its not in HD I'm sure the picture is still better than the SD channel.

#73 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,231 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:37 AM

I'm going to update my season pass for SG:A because even if its not in HD I'm sure the picture is still better than the SD channel.

Agree. The HD channel will at least be an upgrade, even though small.

#74 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:38 AM

Agree. The HD channel will at least be an upgrade, even though small.


I'm betting it will be HD on Fri.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#75 OFFLINE   taylorhively

taylorhively

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:41 AM

I'm going to update my season pass for SG:A because even if its not in HD I'm sure the picture is still better than the SD channel.

Agreed.
It looks as if they're still broadcasting the HD content in letterboxed SD.
This is a total buzzkill because most of shows on SciFi hare shot in HD and have been for years. Some of the (SciFi) shows re-run on Universal HD look splendid in HD.

But I'll be recording on the HD channel even though it uses more disk space. DirecTV drops the SD resolution from 720x480 down to 480x480 I believe, and as a result all SD channels look pretty bad on my 60" 1080 LCD rear projection, ESPECIALLY when you stretch/crop the letterboxed show to fill the screen. It looks pretty bad.

I've found that SD letterboxed on the HD channels at least have been upconverted on the broadcast side so even the SD resolution is actually better and looks pretty good.

I'm just ecstatic that they have the HD channel going. At least SciFi no longer has the excuse that no one carries the HD channel therefore why spend the money to broadcast in HD.
HOPEFULLY they'll get a real HD feed going within a few months so we'll at least get part of the SG-A season in HD.

For now I'll just have to take the letterboxed in HD. It look 1000 times better stretching to full screen on the HD channel than it does on the SD channel. I almost don't care that it's not true HD except that the picture gets cropped off a little when I do this.
5 DirecTV HD DVRs: HR20-700, HR20-700, HR22-100, HR21-100, HR24-500
60" Sony SXRB HD




Protected By... spam firewall...And...