Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discusson: SciFi Channel (Channel 244)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
465 replies to this topic

#101 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 12:38 PM

Beastmaster was around like 8-9 years ago, I highly doubt they filmed it in HD.


But it was shot in widescreen .. SciFi could fill up the 16:9 screen even if the content were SD.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#102 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,866 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 12:41 PM

Random screen savers can usually be solved by a reboot.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#103 OFFLINE   Mykroft

Mykroft

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 12:47 PM

Even upconverted SD will have to be better than the picture I've been getting on the SD channel. This past Friday parts of Flash Gordon were practically unwatchable because the cinematography made the picture so dark and fuzzy I could barely tell what was going on.


I'm glad that wasn't just me.... yes, parts of it were way too dark and impossible to make out.

#104 OFFLINE   doo4usc

doo4usc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 159 posts
  • LocationTemecula
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 12:57 PM

I messed up and didn't get last fridays SGA, does anyone have any info of a title or replay? Thx Doo

AVR-2000
RDR-GX330
Hr44-500

R22-200

2x R22-100
4x H25-100
Since 1996


#105 OFFLINE   taylorhively

taylorhively

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 01:03 PM

I messed up and didn't get last fridays SGA, does anyone have any info of a title or replay? Thx Doo

It was part 1 of a 2-parter. So at least when you watch this week's they should have a "previously on" catch up leading in to the episode.
Here's a little info on the episode:
http://www.sg1archiv...lantis/s4.shtml
It doesn't look like a replay is planned any time soon. Just check the scifi schedulebot: http://www.scifi.com...ebot/index.php3 . Do searches on "atlantis" to see what's coming up.
5 DirecTV HD DVRs: HR20-700, HR20-700, HR22-100, HR21-100, HR24-500
60" Sony SXRB HD

#106 OFFLINE   doo4usc

doo4usc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 159 posts
  • LocationTemecula
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 01:09 PM

It was part 1 of a 2-parter. So at least when you watch this week's they should have a "previously on" catch up leading in to the episode.
Here's a little info on the episode:
http://www.sg1archiv...lantis/s4.shtml
It doesn't look like a replay is planned any time soon. Just check the scifi schedulebot: http://www.scifi.com...ebot/index.php3 . Do searches on "atlantis" to see what's coming up.


Thx Bud!!

AVR-2000
RDR-GX330
Hr44-500

R22-200

2x R22-100
4x H25-100
Since 1996


#107 OFFLINE   oldfantom

oldfantom

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 661 posts
Joined: Mar 13, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 01:10 PM

It appears, from the guide that the daytime programming for SciFi is SD and the prime time stuff is HD. Eureka season finale rebroadcasts, I think, tonight. I have dual conflicts for whenever the rebroadcast is, so I did not pay much attention.

#108 OFFLINE   bberkley

bberkley

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 01:12 PM

I just want to know if the shows I watch on SciFi will be in HD Friday night (i.e. SG Atlantis and Dr. Who). My channel guide doesn't show any HD content yet for SciFi HD.

#109 OFFLINE   clefebvre

clefebvre

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 01:34 PM

I'm so happy to see this new hd channel, just in time for the new species move. now I just hope it will be broadcasted in hd.

#110 OFFLINE   digitalfreak

digitalfreak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 02:25 PM

I hope I'm pleasantly surprised, but the guide data I'm seeing right now doesn't show any shows on SciFi HD as actually being in HD. The guide data for USA HD does...

#111 OFFLINE   JJJBBB

JJJBBB

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 02:41 PM

Yeah baby SciFi HD! Next Spike and our treky dreams will come true!
What happend to Spike?
NATIONAL HD... I want it all, I want it now. I've been really patient. (Will dance for more HD :stickman:)

#112 OFFLINE   skakusha

skakusha

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 02:55 PM

Thx Bud!!


If you really want to see it and don't mind paying $1.99, you can download it from iTunes. Just have to make sure you select Season 4, since Season # seems to be the default. I just checked it out to confirm the availability.

#113 OFFLINE   PMX4

PMX4

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 03:06 PM

No Closed Captioning on SCIFI-HD. :( Looks like I have to complain to NBC. I'm guessing that it won't be quick to come since they've yet to fix this on Universal-HD. I imagine Bravo-HD--also an NBC owned channel--is without captioning too.



I recently e-mailed to the SciFi Channel concerning lack of closed captioning on their HD channel.

Let me know if you get a response from NBC, just asking.

By the way, some of the shows like Surface and few others on Universial-HD have closed captioning and I could read them just fine.

#114 OFFLINE   joekun

joekun

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 118 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 03:14 PM

Next Spike and our treky dreams will come true!

Are they going to be airing the new HD versions of TOS?

#115 OFFLINE   kitchj

kitchj

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 272 posts
Joined: Aug 03, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 03:30 PM

Even upconverted SD will have to be better than the picture I've been getting on the SD channel. This past Friday parts of Flash Gordon were practically unwatchable because the cinematography made the picture so dark and fuzzy I could barely tell what was going on.


That's not the ONLY reason Flash Gordon is unwatchable :P It reminds me of a movie my friends and I made in 10th grade with our parent's old Camcorder. lol
.......\\|//
.......(o o) Jared was here
---oOOo-(_)-oOOo-----------


My Setup

#116 OFFLINE   MrKlaatu

MrKlaatu

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 407 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 03:46 PM

I just want to know if the shows I watch on SciFi will be in HD Friday night (i.e. SG Atlantis and Dr. Who). My channel guide doesn't show any HD content yet for SciFi HD.



Doctor Who is not shot in HD. They say it would be too expensive because of all the visual effects. Spinoff, Torchwood, is shot in HD and currently airs on HDNET. But it's not nearly as good.

#117 OFFLINE   gphvid

gphvid

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 498 posts
  • LocationThousand Oaks, Ca
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 03:51 PM

Closed captioning in HD is a little different than cc in SD. In SD, the signal occupies line 21 but in HD, it is part of the picture as digital bits. As such, I don't think captioning will occur unless the TV sets and displays have this type of decoder, or the networks send out a separate cc stream.

I'm also not certain if the law that requires cc also pertains to HD. Just a thought but I believe it was only for SD programming, although I'm sure they could update it as necessary.

The cc issue could also be one that D* could remedy with their boxes and making access to the cc decoder an easy one-button setting.

#118 OFFLINE   gphvid

gphvid

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 498 posts
  • LocationThousand Oaks, Ca
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 03:56 PM

Doctor Who is not shot in HD. They say it would be too expensive because of all the visual effects. Spinoff, Torchwood, is shot in HD and currently airs on HDNET. But it's not nearly as good.


Not shooting in HD is really a weak reason for Doctor Who. The effects are most likely done on the same equipment that do effects for Torchwood and even motion pictures. It is just whether they set the rendering to 720x486 vs 1920x1080.

Once Doctor Who comes out of its one season hiatus, maybe they will finally go to HD shooting. They will be doing three special episodes like the Christmas Special, but not a full season next year, but then they will return with a full set of episodes in 2009. Perfect time to move to HD.

#119 OFFLINE   NoNameEMT

NoNameEMT

    Ambulance Doctor

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:00 PM

1 word.... Awesome! Thanks D*!

(2) HR20-700's running 0x1DE
Philips R15 DVR (Only 1 Input Cable due to Location)
AU9-S Dish with Zinwell WB-68 Multiswitch
Sony Bravia KDL-40V3000 40" 1080p LCD via HDMI
Sony Bravia KDL-40XBR2 40" 1080p LCD via HDMI


#120 OFFLINE   MizzouTiger

MizzouTiger

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 602 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:02 PM

amazing how it was just in time to MISS the last episode of Eureka.


I was thinking the very same thing!!:(
<p>HR44-700 Toshiba 55SV670U | HDMI to Denon AVR-1909| Native On | All Resolutions Selected | DD On | DECA | SWiM | Harmony One | HR24-100 Philips 37PFL5322D/37 | HDMI to TV | Native on | All resolutions Selected | DD Off | DECA | SWiM | Harmony 880 | HR24-100 Sony KDL40V2500| HDMI to TV | Digital Optical Audio out to Yamaha HTR-5490| Native On | All Resolutions selected | DD | DECA | SWiM | Harmony 880




Protected By... spam firewall...And...