Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discusson: SciFi Channel (Channel 244)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
465 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   bobbyv

bobbyv

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 115 posts
  • LocationEdmond, Oklahoma
Joined: Sep 29, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:33 PM

Has anyone actually found something in HD on Sci-Fi over the next few days?

I hope the guide is just off . . . maybe, just maybe SGA will be in HD this Friday.

We can hope right?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   skakusha

skakusha

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:36 PM

Yeah, I don't know what the deal is. BUT -

I have my box set to native, and the TV reports the incoming signal on a channel change, and this is 1080i. So I set to work -

HD channels you can't force the scaling mode but my TV can. I set my TV to zoom, same as crop and i got the full screen. And, it is HD, upscaled of course, but looks as good as any other HD channel.


I wish it was 16 x 9, but I have to admit that I prefer to play with the TV aspect ratio settings then watch it in SD. This is a big picture improvement, and it is nice to have DD 5.1 sound as well.

Let's hope we see the HD versions very soon, and I mean before Friday night. :)

#128 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,052 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:45 PM

Also, if Beastmaster was "filmed" then there is no reason they cant transfer it to HD.


If "BeastMaster" was filmed, there is no reason they can't transfer it to HD, but just because "they" can transfer it to HD, doesn't mean it's been transferred to HD, and even if it has, it might not be available to Sci-Fi...

Look, I'm just as disappointed as anybody in the uncertainty of HD on Sci-Fi... considering the amount of programming on Sci-Fi that could be shown in HD compared to other networks... not to mention the amount of programming that is shown in letterbox that could be upconverted to 1920 x 1080 16x9... but it's possible that DirecTV went ahead a uplinked this channel (and USA-HD/Bravo-HD) in anticipation of Sci-Fi airing HD in the next few days... but they don't have all the kinks worked out.

I'm willing to give them a little time before I start getting upset...

~Alan

#129 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,188 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:47 PM

Can anyone explain why mine is neither stretched or pillar? I have a 6x9 SG1 inside a 6x9 black frame.

#130 OFFLINE   ronsm

ronsm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:50 PM

Yeah, I don't know what the deal is. BUT -

I have my box set to native, and the TV reports the incoming signal on a channel change, and this is 1080i. So I set to work -

HD channels you can't force the scaling mode but my TV can. I set my TV to zoom, same as crop and i got the full screen. And, it is HD, upscaled of course, but looks as good as any other HD channel.


Well, SG1 is presented in widescreen, on a 4X3 screen. I have the zoom option, so I can fill the 16X9 screen without cropping, but it still doesn't look any where as good as a true HD presentation. You aren't actually adding info to the picture when you zoom it, you are just separating the pixels a little more. But, it's still better than watching the reduced size.

Incidently, SCIFI now has the largest logo I have ever seen on the tv. It added GHOST BUSTERS, and it's time, on top of the logo, in large letters.

#131 OFFLINE   ronsm

ronsm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:54 PM

Can anyone explain why mine is neither stretched or pillar? I have a 6x9 SG1 inside a 6x9 black frame.


Are you sure it isn't 16X9 inside a 4X3 screen? It's the way wide screen is presented on an SD television. The picture should look exactly the same as it does on the SciFi SD channel. If you have a Zoom option on your tv, try that. it should then fill the screen.

#132 OFFLINE   Slip Jigs

Slip Jigs

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 721 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 04:55 PM

I wish it was 16 x 9, but I have to admit that I prefer to play with the TV aspect ratio settings then watch it in SD. This is a big picture improvement, and it is nice to have DD 5.1 sound as well.

Let's hope we see the HD versions very soon, and I mean before Friday night. :)


Anything in letterbox IS 16 x 9, and the channel is 1080i, so it is HD. The difference is, for some reason, they're not pre-stretching the picture.

#133 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,188 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:00 PM

Are you sure it isn't 16X9 inside a 4X3 screen? It's the way wide screen is presented on an SD television. The picture should look exactly the same as it does on the SciFi SD channel. If you have a Zoom option on your tv, try that. it should then fill the screen.


no, I got pillar on the commercials, looks like it was just sg1

#134 OFFLINE   TMar

TMar

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:08 PM

Did I miss the memo?

#135 OFFLINE   HDTVFreak07

HDTVFreak07

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 706 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:10 PM

Huh? I don't get your post but while I'm thrilled SciFi is in HD (I've noticed the pq being better now), I'm sad to learn the captioning doesn't work on the HD channel. USA Network is the same. It is NOT D*'s fault... it is the network. I just e-mailed them and now I'm keeping my fingers crossed for another week.

#136 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:10 PM

Memo concerning what exactly?
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#137 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:12 PM

Did I miss the memo?


Here it is:
http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=101359
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#138 OFFLINE   setiamon

setiamon

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:13 PM

the Sci-FI HD kinda sucks.everything is boxed.black pillars etc etc

even the commercials....

#139 OFFLINE   HDTVFreak07

HDTVFreak07

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 706 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:14 PM

the Sci-FI HD kinda sucks.everything is boxed.black pillars etc etc

even the commercials....


It's still early. I'm pretty confident that SciFi will start going 16:9 eventually. At least they're not doing the stretch-o-vision, which isn't very good.

#140 OFFLINE   TMar

TMar

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:16 PM

I figured it would have been all over the front page. I checked when I got home for anything on here (same as always) and didn't noticed until I just change the channel to SciFi that it was in HD now.

#141 OFFLINE   ronsm

ronsm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:16 PM

Anything in letterbox IS 16 x 9, and the channel is 1080i, so it is HD. The difference is, for some reason, they're not pre-stretching the picture.


Not true. Wide screen and HD are two separate issues. I have seen widescreen movies on tv's since the 1960's. they had bars top and bottom, but it certainly wasn't HD. Stargate atlantis has always been presented in widescreen, but it wasn't HD. Just because your TV or DVD player scales it up to 1080I, doesn't mean it's HD. That's why there are DVD players that scale up the picture to "Near" HD quality, and then you have other players that are HD.

Stretching the picture does not give you HD either. That's why most people think TBSHD stinks. Streching the picture distorts what you see.

#142 OFFLINE   TMar

TMar

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:20 PM

It's still early. I'm pretty confident that SciFi will start going 16:9 eventually. At least they're not doing the stretch-o-vision, which isn't very good.


I would much rather have it stretched than pillar boxed.

#143 OFFLINE   ampman337

ampman337

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:22 PM

It's still early. I'm pretty confident that SciFi will start going 16:9 eventually. At least they're not doing the stretch-o-vision, which isn't very good.


I may get flamed for this but, to me I would rather have it stretched. the black bars annoy me. I say this for all channels CNN, TWC etc.

#144 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,180 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:25 PM

I may get flamed for this but, to me I would rather have it stretched. the black bars annoy me. I say this for all channels CNN, TWC etc.


We don't flame for ignorance and bad taste, only trolling . . . ;)

(For what it's worth my wife agrees with you. :lol:)

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#145 ONLINE   mexican-bum

mexican-bum

    "Jack Of All Trades, Master Of Some"

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 729 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:25 PM

I would much rather have it stretched than pillar boxed.


please don't say that or they may start:crying:

#146 OFFLINE   cygnusloop

cygnusloop

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:26 PM

I would much rather have it stretched than pillar boxed.


I may get flamed for this but, to me I would rather have it stretched. the black bars annoy me. I say this for all channels CNN, TWC etc.


Then stretch it with YOUR TV. Broadcasting a program in anything other than its original aspect ratio is a travesty. Good job Sci-Fi, Bravo!

#147 OFFLINE   DrZaiusATL

DrZaiusATL

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:28 PM

It's still early. I'm pretty confident that SciFi will start going 16:9 eventually. At least they're not doing the stretch-o-vision, which isn't very good.


I will bet you 100 bucks that they will.......EVERYONE has too much 4:3 content to do anything else....

THE PILLARS SUCK!


I have spent way to much money on plasma's and LCD's to have them burned.
"If we have learned one thing from the history of invention and discovery, it is that, in the long run - and often in the short one - the most daring prophecies seem laughably conservative." - Arthur C. Clarke

SYSTEMS
Stuff that displays video in a great way and the sounds are even better! :D

#148 OFFLINE   ronsm

ronsm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:29 PM

no, I got pillar on the commercials, looks like it was just sg1


Let me rephrase that. Currently, SciFi, is just sending their 4X3 SD signal for their SD channel over the HD channel. So, if you flip between the two channels, they will look the same, whether its on a program or ad.

The SD channel is set up so that it can be shown on a 4X3 screen without distortion. When it is on the smaller screen, it fills the screen on the left and right, but it needs bars on the top and bottom. So, when this same signal is sent to a widescreen HDTv, it is just like it was sending a 4X3 picture to the screen, and has pillars on the left and right. Only now, the top and bottom bars are part of the picture that is being broadcast. So, it looks like you have a frame all around the picture that you want to look at. But, D* or your tv are only adding the pillars so that the 4X3 picture fills out your widescreen. So, it is a 16X9 picture, being placed on a 4X3 screen format, and it is being broadcast on a 16X9 signal. Make sense? If you can zoom the picture in, it will fill the screen without distortion.

#149 OFFLINE   Slip Jigs

Slip Jigs

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 721 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:33 PM

Not true. Wide screen and HD are two separate issues. I have seen widescreen movies on tv's since the 1960's. they had bars top and bottom, but it certainly wasn't HD. Stargate atlantis has always been presented in widescreen, but it wasn't HD. Just because your TV or DVD player scales it up to 1080I, doesn't mean it's HD. That's why there are DVD players that scale up the picture to "Near" HD quality, and then you have other players that are HD.

Streching the picture does not give you HD either. That's why most people thing TBSHD stinks. Streching the picture distorts what you see.


I agree - i wasn't saying the what makes it HD was the aspect ratio- what makes it HD is horizontal resolution.

Now, we don't know what the origirnal source is, but the native signal coming in is 1080i (unless my TV is getting it wrong). So what we're seeing is actually squeezed picture - so when you crop it you'll get the full signal. On SD channels it's the other way around - cropping a letterboxed 480i signal to full screen blows it up beyond its native scaling, and looks crappy.

I don't know why this channel seems to be unique when it comes to this - maybe they just haven't worked out the kinks yet.

#150 OFFLINE   skakusha

skakusha

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 05:33 PM

Anyone know when Ghost Hunter's is on? LOL!

That is just annoying . . . I have seen the big transparent images off and on, but I hope it does not become common practice among channels or the NBC/Universal family.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...