Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discusson: SciFi Channel (Channel 244)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
465 replies to this topic

#161 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,914 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:32 PM

Let me rephrase that.


Yea, right after posting a sci-fi logo came up and I saw the reasoning. Another reason for HD channels to stretch their SD material. I think I will send them a suggestion email.:lol:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#162 OFFLINE   malaern

malaern

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:33 PM

Bummer! Time for a new tv, anyways, last years models are outdated already.


Yeah. I'll give them a little while to actually broadcast their widescreen stuff in 16:9. If not, I guess I'll just have to look at a new Plasma :D
DirecTV subscriber since Jan. 1996
Finally got TCM HD summer 2012!

#163 OFFLINE   MrKlaatu

MrKlaatu

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 407 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:48 PM

1. My Panny won't zoom HD connected via HDMI or Component, so I'm stuck with window-box around all four sides.


Here's a workaround. Change the format of your HR20 to 480p Pillar Box, then your TV should be able to zoom it.

Crazy to have to do that, I know. They should just start showing HD content!!!!

#164 OFFLINE   ronsm

ronsm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:50 PM

I
Now, we don't know what the origirnal source is, but the native signal coming in is 1080i (unless my TV is getting it wrong). So what we're seeing is actually squeezed picture - so when you crop it you'll get the full signal. On SD channels it's the other way around - cropping a letterboxed 480i signal to full screen blows it up beyond its native scaling, and looks crappy..


Upon further reflection, they are probably just taking their 480I signal, and airing in on the 1080I bandwidth. So, the signal may be HD, but the picture is still SD, because they didn't improve the resolution.

Is Mpeg compression done by the station, or by D*? I always thought it would be D*.

#165 OFFLINE   NoNameEMT

NoNameEMT

    Ambulance Doctor

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:53 PM

Anyone know when Ghost Hunter's is on? LOL!

That is just annoying . . . I have seen the big transparent images off and on, but I hope it does not become common practice among channels or the NBC/Universal family.


Haha, I was thinking the same thing, that is WAY too big of a channel "bug"

(2) HR20-700's running 0x1DE
Philips R15 DVR (Only 1 Input Cable due to Location)
AU9-S Dish with Zinwell WB-68 Multiswitch
Sony Bravia KDL-40V3000 40" 1080p LCD via HDMI
Sony Bravia KDL-40XBR2 40" 1080p LCD via HDMI


#166 OFFLINE   Rodneyt

Rodneyt

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:57 PM

I just don't get this. If they broadcast in pillars then everyone can get what they want, but if they stretch then there's no way for me to unstretch if I want pillars. The conclusion seems obvious.


I 100% agree! I imagine the main issue is people who like stretched content are also one's who don't understand their television set enough to setup the stretchovision on it, so they want to impose their taste on the rest of us.
1 Sony SVR2000
1 Hughes HDVR2
1 Philips DSR 7000
1 Toshiba RS-TX20
2 TiVo HR10-250's
Channel Plus modulators means All TiVos in All Rooms!

#167 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:04 PM

It does appear the the source of the SD upconvert is at the head end back @ SciFi.com. Maybe SciFi is just waiting for the flux capacitor to show up so that they can finally turn on real TV. At least DIRECTV has done their part and now we can all scream at those guys from the spaced out channel. ;) :) :D.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#168 OFFLINE   psweig

psweig

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,070 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:09 PM

Beastmaster is in letterbox, which would seem to indicate it's an HD show--strange they aren't showing it in HD. (At least they're not showing it in stretch-o-vision. TNT/History Channel/TBS, are you paying attention?)

BTW, could they make their on-screen logo (with the Ghost Hunters promo) any more conspicuous?


It's not that I'm ungrateful; I wanted SciFi in HD very badly but so far it's letterbox as well as pillar box. I think that I will keep the SD channel around for a while. :nono2:
Antique
___________
slimline, WB68
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR23-700 (passed away, hard drive in lieu of flowers), Panasonic TC-32LX85, Two receivers HDMI (Toslink audio to Sherwood R7502 7.1 A/V Receiver in living room). One receiver component.
Wired network, from Dell 530S, 2.2Dual, 3gig mem, vod enabled, AT&T 2WIRE Broadband Router in computer room. 3 mgbit download speed.
Three composite hookups to RCA RF modulator to 20" Toshiba SD TV in bedroom and 13" Samsung TV in computer room.
Added blu-ray panasonic xmas 2008, added D-link switch in living room, Roku player, March 2009.

#169 OFFLINE   FlyBono24

FlyBono24

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 484 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:10 PM

Ghost Hunters? Is that a new show? What hannel is it on? Posted Image


A new episode is on right now... it is supposedly an old military base in San Francisco... looks interesting!

#170 OFFLINE   mika911

mika911

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: May 01, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:57 PM

I don't know how anyone would want letterbox instead of widescreen. If it is a wider aspect than 16x9 the bars at the top and bottom are fine, but to have it boxed in by 4 sides is silly.

#171 OFFLINE   Slip Jigs

Slip Jigs

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 721 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:10 PM

Upon further reflection, they are probably just taking their 480I signal, and airing in on the 1080I bandwidth. So, the signal may be HD, but the picture is still SD, because they didn't improve the resolution.

Is Mpeg compression done by the station, or by D*? I always thought it would be D*.


I think you're right - otherwise the 4:3 commercials would be pillarboxed inside the already letterboxed window. But on the other hand, there is still some sort of upcoversion going on somewhere - probably by D* before they send it out. We could be getting full screen at full rez, just that part of that picture consists of the borders.

Still, when I zoom in, it does look like the real thing - if I zoom in on the SD channel - even if my box is converting to 10801, it just doesn't look as good. That tells me that on the HD channel, the information is in there somewhere.

#172 OFFLINE   MrKlaatu

MrKlaatu

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 407 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:14 PM

I don't know how anyone would want letterbox instead of widescreen. If it is a wider aspect than 16x9 the bars at the top and bottom are fine, but to have it boxed in by 4 sides is silly.


I propose the term "window boxed" for 16:9 shows with black bars on the top, bottom, and sides.

#173 OFFLINE   bdowell

bdowell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 665 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2003

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:15 PM

Definitely don't want stretch-o-vision on this channel or any other, but am glad to see this channel in hi-def finally :)

#174 OFFLINE   malaern

malaern

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:20 PM

Here's a workaround. Change the format of your HR20 to 480p Pillar Box, then your TV should be able to zoom it.

Crazy to have to do that, I know. They should just start showing HD content!!!!


Duh, I can still Zoom on the TV. It's only the TV's stretch option that is disabled via HDMI. So I can switch between Full and Zoom, hopefully without cropping.

Like most, I'm cool with unstretched 4:3 on HD. Hopefully 16:9 for their widescreen stuff is coming soon!

I'm a happy camper! (And now that Ghost whatever is on, the bug is back to normal size.)

#175 OFFLINE   vertigo235

vertigo235

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 293 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:21 PM

What's with all this debate? If it's not in HD I'm not even going to watch it on the HD channel, because I record it on DVR it would just be a waste of space.

#176 OFFLINE   brittonx

brittonx

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 414 posts
Joined: Dec 25, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 08:50 PM

3. New Webisodes still won't atone for cancelling Farscape!


+ 100,000,000,000
1-HR20-700 w/1TB Seagate HDD, 1-H21-200, 2-H20-100, 1-H20-600
Slimline Dish via WB68 multiswitch.
Primary display: 52" Sony Bravia 1080p to HR20-700 via HDMI
Second display: 42" Emerson Plasma to H21-200 via HDMI
Media Server Windows 7 Ultimate
HR20 & H21 wired to Netgear Gigabit Switch via Cat 5e cables.


#177 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:01 PM

I don't know how anyone would want letterbox instead of widescreen. If it is a wider aspect than 16x9 the bars at the top and bottom are fine, but to have it boxed in by 4 sides is silly.


+1
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#178 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,288 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:21 PM

Total disagreement. I will have to keep the SciFi channel available in SD as well to cover the letterboxed shows, of which there are many. I turned on SciFi this morning, and it was Beastmaster (didn't care) but it was in tiny-vision, BOTH pillar and letter boxed. WTF? Would it kill them to stretch this one? I can stretch 480 picture on my TV, but I cannot stretch 1080. I don't know if I'm alone in that, but I really cannot stand tiny-vision on my 55" HDTV!


1) The function you want is zoom, not stretch.

2) Most modern televisions can zoom this just fine in 1080. I'm pretty sure even Mits has stopped with that silly limitation by now. I sold my Mits just because of that.

3) 86% of us hate stretch or zoom being done by the station. The user should select the format, not the station.

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=102141
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#179 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,288 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:25 PM

+1

Actually, as much as I dislike the station screwing with the format, in this exact single case (windowboxed SD), I could live with the station doing a linear 2-axis zoom. I can see the argument against (some folks may not like the loss of rez), but it does look pretty silly windowboxed.

Then again, if you zoom it on YOUR TV, the bugs disappear....
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#180 OFFLINE   Juppers

Juppers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 596 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 10:41 PM

As long as OAR is maintained, I don't care if they prezoom it to fullscreen. Just saves me a step for the 16x9 letterboxed and pillarbarred stuff.




spam firewall