Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need Help "771" on New MPEG4 Stations


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
36 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Milenkod

Milenkod

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 01 October 2007 - 11:19 PM

I can not get most of the new MPEG4 HD stations. I keep getting a "771" error message.
I can, however, receive TNT-HD, TLC-HD and VsGLF HD just fine. All the other MPEG4 stations are blank with that message. My locals in MPEG4 work fine as well as the older MPEG2 stations and all SD stations.

D* has replaced my HR20, checked the LNB signal and the line right at the reciever....all check out fine. The installer did ask me if I had a splitter connected and couldn't remember as it would be in the crawl-space of my home. However, if there was a splitter, there'd be no MPEG4 stations at all and the tech's meter would show it when connected to test the line.

What else could it be? Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 01 October 2007 - 11:46 PM

I doubt if there would be splitters in both lines...you could always run your own, tempporay lines, just to check it out, if you can get to your dish. I gather you're using some existing wiring.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#3 OFFLINE   Milenkod

Milenkod

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 07:25 AM

I doubt if there would be splitters in both lines...you could always run your own, tempporay lines, just to check it out, if you can get to your dish. I gather you're using some existing wiring.

Not sure what you mean about both lines. I only have a single line to the HR20 (...not using dual tuners).

All the wiring is existing, but it's the same wiring that I was recieving the MPEG4 locals and other stations on.
What baffles me is that I do get a few of the new MPEG4s, so I'm ruling out that there's an old-style splitter....unless the channels i am getting fall within the frequency range designed for the 'supposed' splitter. That's a long-shot guess, but not out of the real of plausible. My first guess is that any new channel wouldn't work if there was a splitter in-line.

So let's assume that I do find a splitter in-line....I assume I needed to have it there for some reason, so what do I replace it with in order to maintain compatability with the new channels?

#4 OFFLINE   bt-rtp

bt-rtp

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 524 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2005

Posted 02 October 2007 - 07:44 AM

Call DirecTV and tell them to verify your subscription tier for the HD channels. I had a similar problem and it was caused by my subscriber information being setup with the wrong HD Tier.

Be sure to ask the CSR to check this in both of their subscriber control database systems. (yes, they have two and they often don't have the same and correct information)
HR24-500 with AM21
HR21-200
HR20-700
HR20-100


#5 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 08:57 AM

.....So let's assume that I do find a splitter in-line....I assume I needed to have it there for some reason, so what do I replace it with in order to maintain compatability with the new channels?

Ok on the single-wire HR20. In my experience, standard cable TV splitters cause really unpredictable results. A symptom is that you get very low signal stength readings on only certain tp's, like there's a "trap" for that particular frequency. If you had a splitter, I would think you would have already noticed an inability to receive certain regular old SD channels prior to this problem, but you should review your tp readings in any case, just to verify what I'm saying.

You'd replace it with a standard double female coupler from anyplace in town that sells F connector fittings. You really should have the the ones designed for Ka (blue dialectric), but that's a whole 'nother subject... I get mine from D* trucks that I happen upon.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#6 OFFLINE   Milenkod

Milenkod

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 08:57 AM

Call DirecTV and tell them to verify your subscription tier for the HD channels. I had a similar problem and it was caused by my subscriber information being setup with the wrong HD Tier.

Be sure to ask the CSR to check this in both of their subscriber control database systems. (yes, they have two and they often don't have the same and correct information)

I already had them reset my HD subscription the other day. Besides, I wouldn't be able to get only SOME of the MPEG4 HD's.... If the tier was wrong, I wouldn't be getting ANY of the new MPEG4s.

#7 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 09:04 AM

Please tell us all your tp #'s for 103(B).
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#8 OFFLINE   Milenkod

Milenkod

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 09:09 AM

Ok on the single-wire HR20. In my experience, standard cable TV splitters cause really unpredictable results. A symptom is that you get very low signal stength readings on only certain tp's, like there's a "trap" for that particular frequency. If you had a splitter, I would think you would have already noticed an inability to receive certain regular old SD channels prior to this problem, but you should review your tp readings in any case, just to verify what I'm saying.

You'd replace it with a standard double female coupler from anyplace in town that sells F connector fittings. You really should have the the ones designed for Ka (blue dialectric), but that's a whole 'nother subject... I get mine from D* trucks that I happen upon.

I think that i may have one in-line, but it's the same one that's been there while I had MPEG2 HD's and MPEG4 Local HD....never had a problem with any of the SD's with my H20 before it or HR20 currently.

When the D* installer was troubleshooting yesterday, I asked about how to split it or what to use. He sadi it's not possible to do so...which leads me to think he wasn't knowlegable enough to even troubleshoot my issue.
I specifically asked him to check the line with his meter to see if it was split. He said that it would show a 'short' on the meter if there was a problem or a splitter....but whent on cover his 'butt' by saying that the meter wasn't 100% sure that it would show a splitter in-line.


In the end, singals strenght was very high and didn't see any problems.

#9 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 09:12 AM

I think that i may have one in-line, but it's the same one that's been there while I had MPEG2 HD's and MPEG4 Local HD....never had a problem with any of the SD's with my H20 before it or HR20 currently.

When the D* installer was troubleshooting yesterday, I asked about how to split it or what to use. He sadi it's not possible to do so...which leads me to think he wasn't knowlegable enough to even troubleshoot my issue.
I specifically asked him to check the line with his meter to see if it was split. He said that it would show a 'short' on the meter if there was a problem or a splitter....but whent on cover his 'butt' by saying that the meter wasn't 100% sure that it would show a splitter in-line.


In the end, singals strenght was very high and didn't see any problems.

I understand. I would like you to post your tp signal strength readings for all 16 103(B) tp's.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#10 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 09:19 AM

That would be MENU on the remote > Help & Settings > Setup > Sat & Ant > View Signal Strength. Then Select on the remote to 103(B) from the 101 default after selecting the "-" from the "+" default with the left arrow on the remote.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#11 OFFLINE   Milenkod

Milenkod

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 11:32 AM

I understand. I would like you to post your tp signal strength readings for all 16 103(B) tp's.

Am I allowed to post a picture? I'd rather take a snapshot when I go home for lunch and post it..

#12 OFFLINE   bt-rtp

bt-rtp

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 524 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2005

Posted 02 October 2007 - 12:31 PM

What does your 103(B) satellite signal levels look like ? Can you attach a picture ?
HR24-500 with AM21
HR21-200
HR20-700
HR20-100


#13 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 12:34 PM

Am I allowed to post a picture? I'd rather take a snapshot when I go home for lunch and post it..

You don't need to post a picture, just type in the first 3 rows, the 4th is "na".
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#14 OFFLINE   oldguy1

oldguy1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 491 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 02 October 2007 - 12:57 PM

I think that i may have one in-line, but it's the same one that's been there while I had MPEG2 HD's and MPEG4 Local HD....never had a problem with any of the SD's with my H20 before it or HR20 currently.

When the D* installer was troubleshooting yesterday, I asked about how to split it or what to use. He sadi it's not possible to do so...which leads me to think he wasn't knowlegable enough to even troubleshoot my issue.
I specifically asked him to check the line with his meter to see if it was split. He said that it would show a 'short' on the meter if there was a problem or a splitter....but whent on cover his 'butt' by saying that the meter wasn't 100% sure that it would show a splitter in-line.


In the end, singals strenght was very high and didn't see any problems.


If you have a splitter (or diplexer) in-line, make sure the BBC's are installed on the incoming source side BEFORE the first splitter (or diplexer).
Living room - HR 34-700, Insignia NS-L322Q-10A LCD TV
Bedroom - HR 20-700 on second floor.
Basement - HR 20-700

DECA connecting all HR20-700 boxes together and 1 3800HGV-B Gateway wireless router connecting them to internet via AT&T VDSL.

Windows 7 acting as server thru DECA.


#15 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 02:02 PM

If you have a splitter (or diplexer) in-line, make sure the BBC's are installed on the incoming source side BEFORE the first splitter (or diplexer).

Thanks, he doesn't want or need one. He's just not sure if there was a pre-existing one that needs removal, and, if so, where the heck it is!
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#16 OFFLINE   Milenkod

Milenkod

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 02:38 PM

Thanks, he doesn't want or need one. He's just not sure if there was a pre-existing one that needs removal, and, if so, where the heck it is!

Perhaps I can move the BBC to just before where the line dives into the crawlspace. If it works out, I'll know that there's a splitter under the house. There's a barrel connector right before the location where it enters the crawlspace so it'll be easy to do.

I assume that the BBC is not weatherproof...correct?

#17 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 02:48 PM

Perhaps I can move the BBC to just before where the line dives into the crawlspace. If it works out, I'll know that there's a splitter under the house. There's a barrel connector right before the location where it enters the crawlspace so it'll be easy to do.

I assume that the BBC is not weatherproof...correct?

You're right, it's not waterproof, but a splitter is not the same as a diplexer. If you run a sat feed line through a standard cable TV splitter, you can still have the problems to which I referred above, even if you move the BBC. Before you start climbing around up there, please pass along those 16 103(B) tp sig strength readings off of your HR20.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#18 OFFLINE   Milenkod

Milenkod

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 02:52 PM

You're right, it's not waterproof, but a splitter is not the same as a diplexer. If you run a sat feed line through a standard cable TV splitter, you can still have the problems to which I referred above, even if you move the BBC. Before you start climbing around up there, please pass along those 16 103(B) tp sig strength readings off of your HR20.

Unfortunately I forgot to do so when I went home for lunch today...will do tonight though.

#19 OFFLINE   Milenkod

Milenkod

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 06:51 PM

Before you start climbing around up there, please pass along those 16 103(B) tp sig strength readings off of your HR20.

Here they are:
0-0-0-0-0-0-39-53
0-0-51-53-29-38-N/A-N/A

#20 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 02 October 2007 - 06:53 PM

Here they are:
0-0-0-0-0-0-39-53
0-0-51-53-29-38-N/A-N/A

Well we have a serious problem here!!! ".... the tech's meter would show it when connected to test the line...." Where's that tech???
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...