Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

RSN Discussion: Comcast SportsNet Chicago HD (640)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
66 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   bakerfall

bakerfall

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 458 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 11:41 AM

No. I watched many games this year on CSN but it wasn't in HD. Next year it will be.


I really don't see how that's possible, unless you lied about where you live. RSNs are blocked out during games.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 03 October 2007 - 11:44 AM

I'm confused as to why people are so excited about seeing the cubs or whoever in HD next year. Wouldn't the games be blacked out if you're not in a team's market anyways, except on MLB EI? Basically all you're getting is HD versions of the crappy pre/post game shows and highlight shows, isn't it?


Well, many of us are MLB-EI subscribers!

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#28 OFFLINE   jillc1731

jillc1731

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 12:33 PM

I really don't see how that's possible, unless you lied about where you live. RSNs are blocked out during games.


The HD was just a spot beam... I live in Iowa and CSNC is my RSN... But being 300 miles from Chicago... I wasn't part of the Spot beam... So I get the Cubs & White Sox... Just not in HD.. Until Today, Hopefully

#29 OFFLINE   mikeybc

mikeybc

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 12:50 PM

Am I just odd (or lucky), or was I the only one in Chicago already getting 640 in HD, MPEG-4 prior to today?
Sci-Fi channel in HD, geeks everywhere rejoice!!!

:joy:

#30 OFFLINE   dgordo

dgordo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,010 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2004

Posted 03 October 2007 - 12:59 PM

Am I just odd (or lucky), or was I the only one in Chicago already getting 640 in HD, MPEG-4 prior to today?


Everyone in the area of the chicago spotbeam was, now it is available nationwide.

#31 OFFLINE   Blurayfan

Blurayfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,756 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 October 2007 - 12:59 PM

Am I just odd (or lucky), or was I the only one in Chicago already getting 640 in HD, MPEG-4 prior to today?

Chicagoland viewers in range of the spot-beam were getting 640 in HD. What changed is DIRECTV moved 640 off the spot-beam to a CONUS beam. Making the channel available to the entire US with the correct programming package.

Slimlin-5 with SWM16
HR44-700 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 4.0 TB
HR24-500 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 2.0 TB
HR21-700 with DECA adapter for network
Network: Netgear R7000
Internet: Comcast 105/20


#32 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 October 2007 - 01:00 PM

What is channel 680 for Earl?


640... follows the same structure..
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#33 OFFLINE   dgordo

dgordo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,010 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2004

Posted 03 October 2007 - 01:02 PM

640... follows the same structure..



Thanks. Strange that they would have it in 2 places.

#34 OFFLINE   BigJ52

BigJ52

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 313 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2007

Posted 03 October 2007 - 01:29 PM

Am I just odd (or lucky), or was I the only one in Chicago already getting 640 in HD, MPEG-4 prior to today?


I think others who live in the Chicagoland area already had the station in HD, but those that live quite a distance from Chicago, but Comcast Chicago is still considered the local RSN didn't have access to the HD station.

In Iowa we actually have Chicago, Minnesota (FSN North), and Fox Sports Midwest as local RSN's and also get Milwaukee Brewers baseball which I'm not quite sure why but hey I'll take it.:D

#35 OFFLINE   Cobra

Cobra

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 542 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 03:03 PM

I am not receiving these new sport channels, should I be getting them? I live in east central wisconsin
HR21-200/AM21 connected HDMI 1.4 through Harmon Kardon 254 receiver to Panasonic TC-P54G25
connected to internet and networked
Pioneer 051FD Bluray player
H20 connected to Mitsubishi via Component
D11-100 receiver connected Coaxial

#36 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 03 October 2007 - 03:17 PM

I am not receiving these new sport channels, should I be getting them? I live in east central wisconsin


If you have HD access and a sports pack subscription level, yes you should be getting them. Try resetting your receiver and/or refreshing your services.

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#37 OFFLINE   Blurayfan

Blurayfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,756 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 October 2007 - 03:18 PM

I am not receiving these new sport channels, should I be getting them? I live in east central wisconsin

Only if the RSN serves your DMA or if you have either Sports Pack or Premier.

Slimlin-5 with SWM16
HR44-700 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 4.0 TB
HR24-500 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 2.0 TB
HR21-700 with DECA adapter for network
Network: Netgear R7000
Internet: Comcast 105/20


#38 OFFLINE   aphoward

aphoward

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 207 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:05 PM

Well, many of us are MLB-EI subscribers!


Yeah but that doesn't matter, as there are separate channels for MLB EI. You still won't get these HD channels for games, unless you are in one of the channel's markets.

I think a lot of people are getting excited about watching games they will never receive, and we'll get a lot more complaints come next season when they are blacked out.

#39 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,238 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:32 PM

Yeah but that doesn't matter, as there are separate channels for MLB EI. You still won't get these HD channels for games, unless you are in one of the channel's markets.


While there are seperate channels for packages like MLB-EI and NBA-LP they're really just remaps of existing RSN to the 700 channel range so when available we should expect to see games in HD in those packages and not have to play around with the limited access to games on ch 94 and 95.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#40 OFFLINE   DawgLink

DawgLink

    Woof Woof Woof

  • Registered
  • 1,543 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Posted 03 October 2007 - 09:43 PM

APHoward brings up a good point

Since we are getting all these new RSN channels....are we going to be getting their local baseball games in HD when next season comes?

I am already an EI subscriber but am curious....adding these RSN's may give me reason not to sign up for EI

#41 OFFLINE   aktick

aktick

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 105 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:31 AM

So Blackhawks aren't in HD tonight? :(

#42 OFFLINE   rahchgo

rahchgo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 295 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL
Joined: Feb 02, 2007

Posted 04 October 2007 - 12:41 PM

APHoward brings up a good point

Since we are getting all these new RSN channels....are we going to be getting their local baseball games in HD when next season comes?

I am already an EI subscriber but am curious....adding these RSN's may give me reason not to sign up for EI


If it works like RSN's did this year, you will only get the games on the RSN's out of your local area if you have MLB-EI, and you will only get the announcers that MLB-EI has enabled (usually home team). It will be interesting to see what they do with the HD next year. This year, you only saw a selected few out of market games in HD on MLB-EI and then, only if you paid for the SuperFan surcharge. I wonder if they will black-out the HD RSN's for MLB-EI if they don't pay for SuperFan? Guess we'll find out next spring.
Rich - Chicago, IL (Tri-Taylor neighborhood) HR44-500

#43 OFFLINE   austen0316

austen0316

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
  • LocationRobbinsville, NJ
Joined: Jun 21, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:35 PM

I have center ice ticket, but dont get the hd version of sportsnet chicago, I live in nj. Its says program not available in your area. I thought all of the new hd rsns were national now.

mike

#44 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,238 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:38 PM

I have center ice ticket, but dont get the hd version of sportsnet chicago, I live in nj. Its says program not available in your area. I thought all of the new hd rsns were national now.

mike



That is correct, you need to catch Center Ice programs in the 760 range.

Checking the Wild's web site it looks like the game isn't in HD tonight, the 10/10 Wilds game is on FSN and is in HD it says.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#45 OFFLINE   teebeebee1

teebeebee1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 415 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 04 October 2007 - 09:00 PM

Tonight was the Chicago feed not the Wild feed, if you didn't live in chicago you didnt get the HD feed of the game and "Not avail. in your area 721" message was displayed

#46 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,238 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 04 October 2007 - 09:12 PM

Tonight was the Chicago feed not the Wild feed, if you didn't live in chicago you didnt get the HD feed of the game and "Not avail. in your area 721" message was displayed


So the game WAS in HD in the Chicago market on CSN-Chicago?

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#47 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 04 October 2007 - 09:32 PM

Blackhawks don't do HD (why would they since they blackout their own home market).

And I got the game on the HD channel in Michigan (SD upconvert which did look better then the SD channel).

#48 OFFLINE   loowaters

loowaters

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2007

Posted 05 October 2007 - 04:43 AM

Blackhawks don't do HD (why would they since they blackout their own home market).

And I got the game on the HD channel in Michigan (SD upconvert which did look better then the SD channel).


I seem to remember a couple seasons ago that they did televise a home game to show off (tease us) their HD capabilities probably for visiting market and network telecasts. I was out of the spot beam and didn't get the HD but I did get to see a home game on CSNC, which was nice. Pat Foley was still doing the games for the Hawks...I miss him.

#49 OFFLINE   rlnoonan

rlnoonan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2007

Posted 10 October 2007 - 01:02 AM

So the game WAS in HD in the Chicago market on CSN-Chicago?


Nope, the game was in SD :mad: . Last season they had a couple of games in HD. They made a big deal out of it as kind of a "showcase" of their HD (if I remember correctly, they were even home games!). It was a lot better than SD, but not the greatest HD (HDNet's hockey games look much better). I would hope they would increase the number of HD games, but I won't hold my breath.

I think this is a CSNC thing, not a Blackhawks issue (they have enough issues!). White Sox games were a similar situation this past season, with some games in HD and some not. Fortunately Buehrle's no-no was one of the HD games...
- Bob

Slimline 5lnb dish (4 RG-6 cables, no multi-switch)

HR20-700.............................. HR20-100S
HDMI to Mitsubishi WD57732............ HDMI to Toshiba 32HL67US Regza
Optical to Onkyo TX-SR604............. Digital Coax to Sony HT-5100D
Protected by APC J10.................. Protected by Panamax 4300-MX
Controlled by Harmony 676............. Controlled by Harmony 676

#50 OFFLINE   johnnymac96

johnnymac96

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2006

Posted 10 October 2007 - 03:50 PM

Does the NFL also black out coaches shows? Specficially, I am trying to watch 640 right now - "Bears Blitz" - and am getting a 727 not locally available message. :nono2:

I may live in Houston but I don't care for the Texans ... yet the NFL is going to make me watch on the Gary Kubiak show now, too? Oh brother!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...