Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

RSN Discussion: FSN Detroit (636)


  • Please log in to reply
148 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Blueoctober

Blueoctober

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2007

Posted 17 October 2007 - 06:55 PM

Ya I hear what you are saying but I'm keeping the faith. You have to figure the timing seems right for that rebuild to happen, I mean until now alot of people didn't have access to all these HD rsn's now between cable and D* and E* it seems to ,make sense to me. Bring it on......


Before I tell all my buddies we may get the away games soon, tell me where on the FSN. website you read this! I could not find it. It makes sense that all major league sports teams do televise locally in HD, and now that we have the bandwith,why not?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 17 October 2007 - 08:52 PM

I'm just happy with home games only. Going from 8-10 HD games a year to over 50 sure sounds good to me. Rome wasn't built in a day. :)

#23 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 18 October 2007 - 12:56 AM

Before I tell all my buddies we may get the away games soon, tell me where on the FSN. website you read this! I could not find it.

http://msn.foxsports.com/id/6275986

#24 OFFLINE   bossmustang

bossmustang

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 26 October 2007 - 06:28 PM

Wierdness in Rochester Hills, Michigan (metro Detroit).

For the past two weeks, my HD20 receiver BLACKS OUT the live Red Wings broadcasts on 636 and 636HD.

My non HD receiver in the same house GETS the games. Nobody at DTV can explain. They've sent me a new HD20, but I'm hesitant to go through the replacement drill when I don't have any other programming issues that I am aware of.

Both receivers are set for the same Zip Code, but I have noted that HD20 "fails" when satellite 99 (B)

Anybody? I'm losing my mind missing the Wings.

#25 OFFLINE   bossmustang

bossmustang

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 26 October 2007 - 08:27 PM

Subject solved....Replaced the HD20 - from the 100 to the 700...the problem disappeared. :grin: Also learned that 99b has nothing for the Detroit market



Wierdness in Rochester Hills, Michigan (metro Detroit).

For the past two weeks, my HD20 receiver BLACKS OUT the live Red Wings broadcasts on 636 and 636HD.

My non HD receiver in the same house GETS the games. Nobody at DTV can explain. They've sent me a new HD20, but I'm hesitant to go through the replacement drill when I don't have any other programming issues that I am aware of.

Both receivers are set for the same Zip Code, but I have noted that HD20 "fails" when satellite 99 (B)

Anybody? I'm losing my mind missing the Wings.



#26 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 349 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 29 October 2007 - 04:37 PM

Now we will get the fsn plus games in hd as well. ch. 669-1 man we are starting to get spoiled:)

#27 OFFLINE   rabi

rabi

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 198 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 29 October 2007 - 08:02 PM

It's in HD nationally now, although with the blackout restrictions, I still don't get to see any Wings games here in LA (unless, of course, they're playing the Kings or Mighty Sucks). If only they shot Michigan Replay in HD so I could get a clearer image of Lloyd Carr's amazing jowels...


Seems like you need to subscribe to Center Ice to follow your Wings...

#28 OFFLINE   jefbal99

jefbal99

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,838 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 30 October 2007 - 06:39 AM

I've been emailing back and forth with D* because the FSN HD games from Saturday were not in HD. Hopefully we can get this resolved early so we don't miss anymore CFB action.

I know the games were on ch 94, but they should have been in HD on 636 also
Receiving Equipment: AU9 Slimline w/Zinwell WB68 & SWM 8 | Winegard MS-2000 w/PS-1503 Power Injector
Living Room: HR22-100 w/AM-21 | Samsung HL-S4266W (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV | Pioneer HTS-GS1 5.1 | Yamaha DV-S6160 (Component/Digital Coaxial)
Bedroom: H21-200 w/AM-21 | Westinghouse LVM-42w2 (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV
Home Theatre: HR20-100 | Sanyo PLV-Z60 (Component/Optical) | Flexio 16:9 100" Screen | Ethernet MRV |Yamaha YHT-690 | XBox 360 (Component) | Harmony 880

#29 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 30 October 2007 - 12:19 PM

I've been emailing back and forth with D* because the FSN HD games from Saturday were not in HD. Hopefully we can get this resolved early so we don't miss anymore CFB action.

I know the games were on ch 94, but they should have been in HD on 636 also


FYI that DirecTV just passes on the feed as is. If the games weren't in HD on FSN-Detroit HD then the channel wasn't showing them in HD. You'll need to complain to FSN-Detroit for not showing them in HD. D* can't do anything about the channel not doing a game in HD.

#30 OFFLINE   jefbal99

jefbal99

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,838 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 30 October 2007 - 12:29 PM

FYI that DirecTV just passes on the feed as is. If the games weren't in HD on FSN-Detroit HD then the channel wasn't showing them in HD. You'll need to complain to FSN-Detroit for not showing them in HD. D* can't do anything about the channel not doing a game in HD.


All other providers (Comcast, Charter, WOW, etc) had both games in HD on their systems with the FSN Detroit HD feed.

Just a note, but the CSRs tried to tell me that based on my Zipcode that I wouldn't get FSN Detroit in HD. I replied with a screenshot from their own site that FSN Detroit is in fact available for 48917 in HD on 636. Haven't heard back yet.

Some RSNs got the HD feeds on Saturday and some didn't, just need to see consistency across the board.
Receiving Equipment: AU9 Slimline w/Zinwell WB68 & SWM 8 | Winegard MS-2000 w/PS-1503 Power Injector
Living Room: HR22-100 w/AM-21 | Samsung HL-S4266W (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV | Pioneer HTS-GS1 5.1 | Yamaha DV-S6160 (Component/Digital Coaxial)
Bedroom: H21-200 w/AM-21 | Westinghouse LVM-42w2 (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV
Home Theatre: HR20-100 | Sanyo PLV-Z60 (Component/Optical) | Flexio 16:9 100" Screen | Ethernet MRV |Yamaha YHT-690 | XBox 360 (Component) | Harmony 880

#31 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 30 October 2007 - 12:34 PM

Got me. Must be that FSN is sending a different feed to DirecTV then to cable. There still isn't anything D* is doing other then passing on the feed they get. They certainly aren't "turning off" HD any time there isn't a Wings game. SD upconverted looks much better then the SD channel. So there is something wrong with the feed that D* is getting from FSN.

#32 OFFLINE   jefbal99

jefbal99

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,838 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 30 October 2007 - 12:45 PM

Got me. Must be that FSN is sending a different feed to DirecTV then to cable. There still isn't anything D* is doing other then passing on the feed they get. They certainly aren't "turning off" HD any time there isn't a Wings game. SD upconverted looks much better then the SD channel. So there is something wrong with the feed that D* is getting from FSN.


I agree, same thing happened for FSN Southwest. I'm trying to make D* aware of this so that they can work with the RSN to get the proper feeds at all times.

But them telling me thanks for being a new customer (in a reply to every email) and that its not available in my area is simply annoying and ignorant.
Receiving Equipment: AU9 Slimline w/Zinwell WB68 & SWM 8 | Winegard MS-2000 w/PS-1503 Power Injector
Living Room: HR22-100 w/AM-21 | Samsung HL-S4266W (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV | Pioneer HTS-GS1 5.1 | Yamaha DV-S6160 (Component/Digital Coaxial)
Bedroom: H21-200 w/AM-21 | Westinghouse LVM-42w2 (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV
Home Theatre: HR20-100 | Sanyo PLV-Z60 (Component/Optical) | Flexio 16:9 100" Screen | Ethernet MRV |Yamaha YHT-690 | XBox 360 (Component) | Harmony 880

#33 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 30 October 2007 - 01:16 PM

I agree, same thing happened for FSN Southwest. I'm trying to make D* aware of this so that they can work with the RSN to get the proper feeds at all times.

But them telling me thanks for being a new customer (in a reply to every email) and that its not available in my area is simply annoying and ignorant.


Agree. Unfortunately you'll get better contact with DirecTV posting here. I'd suggest starting a thread on it's own so that everyone with the problem can list their RSN that has the issue. DirecTV may see it at that point since they monitor here.

#34 OFFLINE   jefbal99

jefbal99

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,838 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 30 October 2007 - 01:21 PM

Agree. Unfortunately you'll get better contact with DirecTV posting here. I'd suggest starting a thread on it's own so that everyone with the problem can list their RSN that has the issue. DirecTV may see it at that point since they monitor here.


There was one on Saturday, I'll see if I can dig it up
Receiving Equipment: AU9 Slimline w/Zinwell WB68 & SWM 8 | Winegard MS-2000 w/PS-1503 Power Injector
Living Room: HR22-100 w/AM-21 | Samsung HL-S4266W (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV | Pioneer HTS-GS1 5.1 | Yamaha DV-S6160 (Component/Digital Coaxial)
Bedroom: H21-200 w/AM-21 | Westinghouse LVM-42w2 (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV
Home Theatre: HR20-100 | Sanyo PLV-Z60 (Component/Optical) | Flexio 16:9 100" Screen | Ethernet MRV |Yamaha YHT-690 | XBox 360 (Component) | Harmony 880

#35 OFFLINE   jefbal99

jefbal99

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,838 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 13 March 2008 - 06:34 PM

The D* EPG is now flagging HD programming on FSN D HD properly.
Receiving Equipment: AU9 Slimline w/Zinwell WB68 & SWM 8 | Winegard MS-2000 w/PS-1503 Power Injector
Living Room: HR22-100 w/AM-21 | Samsung HL-S4266W (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV | Pioneer HTS-GS1 5.1 | Yamaha DV-S6160 (Component/Digital Coaxial)
Bedroom: H21-200 w/AM-21 | Westinghouse LVM-42w2 (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV
Home Theatre: HR20-100 | Sanyo PLV-Z60 (Component/Optical) | Flexio 16:9 100" Screen | Ethernet MRV |Yamaha YHT-690 | XBox 360 (Component) | Harmony 880

#36 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 13 March 2008 - 07:38 PM

Excellent, I just noticed it as well. Guess my emails to FSD finally were heard. :)

Do note that the pregame show, Red Wings Live which is in HD isn't flagged so it looks like games only. It's a start.

Go Wings!

#37 OFFLINE   Kenkong586

Kenkong586

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2007

Posted 31 March 2008 - 11:09 AM

Why is game on Fox 2 in HD from fsn detroit but not HD on FSN Detroit? Is this a sign of things to come this year Directv screwing with our HD broadcasts on FSN? Why does this happen??????!!!!!!!! It's so frustrating! is it really that hard for D* to broadcast a RSN hd game?!
Living Room-Mitsu. WD-62531 62"
Comcast HD DVR, PS3(networked, wired), Xbox 360(networked, wired) connected via Octava 4x1 HDMI switch with Toslink Routing
Philips DVDR 3400(HDMI, Coaxial)
Wii(Component, networked, wireless)
Sony STR-K660P Dolby/DTS Reciever
Bedroom-Panasonic 36" CRT - Comcast HD DVR (Component)

#38 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 31 March 2008 - 11:12 AM

Noooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!! Who can we call?
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#39 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 31 March 2008 - 11:13 AM

It's in HD on FSN Midwest. :mad:
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#40 OFFLINE   pfueri

pfueri

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 31 March 2008 - 11:14 AM

Why is game on Fox 2 in HD from fsn detroit but not HD on FSN Detroit? Is this a sign of things to come this year Directv screwing with our HD broadcasts on FSN? Why does this happen??????!!!!!!!! It's so frustrating! is it really that hard for D* to broadcast a RSN hd game?!

This sucks you should be able to get both in HD like it is listed in the guide




spam firewall