Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

RSN Discussion: FSN North HD (641-1)


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 02 October 2007 - 07:26 AM

Discussion thread for FSN North Regional Sports Network

Topics: PQ, Programming, etc.

And don't forget our coverage of the new DIRECTV HD channels:

The list of Launched Channels,
Troubleshooting Tips for the New HD Channels.


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 13 November 2007 - 03:21 PM

This channel is expected, November 14.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 14 November 2007 - 05:09 AM

This channel is now confirmed.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   gopherhockey

gopherhockey

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2003

Posted 14 November 2007 - 07:50 AM

Gopher Hockey in HD??!?!?!?!
DirecTV since 1994

#5 OFFLINE   mrjim

mrjim

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
  • LocationKenosha, WI
Joined: Dec 04, 2006

Posted 14 November 2007 - 08:52 AM

I am waiting for FSN North-"Wisconsin" HD (642)

Directv customer June 2014-on Dish customer since April 2012-June 2014, DirecTV customer before that - 1/1/1998 to Dec 2011, before merger with DirecTV-USSB 1994-1998. Equipment one Genie, 3 mini Genies, One HD DVR.


#6 OFFLINE   upnorth

upnorth

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 375 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2006

Posted 14 November 2007 - 08:56 AM

Gopher Hockey in HD??!?!?!?!


That would be nice but I dought it they do few Wild games the way it is.
We can only hope.;)
HR20-700 with MPEG-4 locals
H20
AT-9 dish
46" Samsung DLP

#7 OFFLINE   Badger

Badger

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2006

Posted 14 November 2007 - 09:14 AM

I am waiting for FSN North-"Wisconsin" HD (642)


642-1 is up but will only have games on it, have to keep 642 for all the rest of the programming. Same with 641-1 and 641. :)

#8 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 14 November 2007 - 09:23 AM

I live across the border in Minnesota but would rather have the Wisconsin feed. When I go to 641, I get a picture. 642 just gives me a blank screen. Am I SOL?

641-1 & 642-1 both were blank, also, but I expected that.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#9 OFFLINE   JDogHooey

JDogHooey

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2006

Posted 14 November 2007 - 09:40 AM

What about games that these RSNs are only doing in SD - will these channels at least show the SD game upconverted? That would improve the PQ greatly IMO.

#10 OFFLINE   mndwalsh

mndwalsh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 177 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 14 November 2007 - 09:56 AM

Gopher Hockey in HD??!?!?!?!


I wish - Frank's hair would look sweet.

Not this year and maybe a couple next year from what I remember the rumor to be.

#11 OFFLINE   bjlc

bjlc

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 962 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2004

Posted 14 November 2007 - 09:56 AM

I live across the border in Minnesota but would rather have the Wisconsin feed. When I go to 641, I get a picture. 642 just gives me a blank screen. Am I SOL?

641-1 & 642-1 both were blank, also, but I expected that.


you need to explain to Directv that they have the wrong zip code for your address. Say like 54601 in LaCrosse. or something like that.


but I wouldn't know "anything about that, Willis." :D :nono2: :nono: :lol:

but you may then get the Brewers, Bucks and other Wisconsin teams..

#12 OFFLINE   markman07

markman07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 382 posts
  • LocationMinnesota
Joined: Dec 22, 2005

Posted 14 November 2007 - 10:14 AM

I know the Rochester/Mason City/Austin DMA. With Directv we get both the 641 fox sports net and 642 wisconsin fox net. We are considered in the Brewers and Twins markets for baseball too. Doesn't make sense but that is the way it is. Not sure about NBA games. Does 642 carry Bucks NBA games?

#13 OFFLINE   vetrev

vetrev

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 14 November 2007 - 11:18 AM

I know the Rochester/Mason City/Austin DMA. With Directv we get both the 641 fox sports net and 642 wisconsin fox net. We are considered in the Brewers and Twins markets for baseball too. Doesn't make sense but that is the way it is. Not sure about NBA games. Does 642 carry Bucks NBA games?

Yes it does.

#14 OFFLINE   Kash76

Kash76

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 205 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2002

Posted 14 November 2007 - 11:27 AM

There are still not enough Wild, Twins and Wolves games in HD. I think there are only 10-12 games in HD this year for the Wild :(

Kash76
--
HR44-500 --> Panasonic Plasma 50" via HDMI

C41-700 --> Panasonic Plasma 42" via HDMI

H25 --> HDMI split to Vizio 24" 720p & Vizio 24" 1080p 


#15 OFFLINE   mndwalsh

mndwalsh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 177 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 14 November 2007 - 12:27 PM

There are still not enough Wild, Twins and Wolves games in HD. I think there are only 10-12 games in HD this year for the Wild :(


you are correct.

It is hard watching the wild in SD on a 56" screen, maybe next year or the year after or the year after that or.................................

#16 OFFLINE   syphix

syphix

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 14 November 2007 - 08:12 PM

So, is tonight's Wolves game not available in HD?? It's only showing on 641, not 641-1...
Nathan
setup:
- 50" Plasma 1080p HDTV (Samsung PN50A760), 46" LCD 1080p HDTV (Samsung LN-T4665F), 32" LCD 720p HDTV (Insignia). 1 Hopper, 2 Joeys.

#17 OFFLINE   boilerjt

boilerjt

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 908 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2007

Posted 14 November 2007 - 08:59 PM

I know the Rochester/Mason City/Austin DMA. With Directv we get both the 641 fox sports net and 642 wisconsin fox net. We are considered in the Brewers and Twins markets for baseball too. Doesn't make sense but that is the way it is. Not sure about NBA games. Does 642 carry Bucks NBA games?


I just checked out 642 and I get a channel not purchased. The Bucks are playing right now.

#18 OFFLINE   jbharr1

jbharr1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2007

Posted 14 November 2007 - 09:58 PM

I just checked out 642 and I get a channel not purchased. The Bucks are playing right now.



I received channel not purchased on 641 during the wolves game and I live in 55412 or north minneapolis. when the game was over the channel came back on. Tech didn't know what the problem could be but agreed to try swapping the receiver. I have been getting blackouts for all the HD feeds from 641 this season.

my old SD receiver carried 641 no problem.

strange

#19 OFFLINE   Kash76

Kash76

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 205 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2002

Posted 14 November 2007 - 10:01 PM

The wolves weren't in HD tonight. Remember the "-1" channels are no a simucast. It's a games only channel when the games are in HD

Kash76
--
HR44-500 --> Panasonic Plasma 50" via HDMI

C41-700 --> Panasonic Plasma 42" via HDMI

H25 --> HDMI split to Vizio 24" 720p & Vizio 24" 1080p 


#20 OFFLINE   jbharr1

jbharr1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2007

Posted 14 November 2007 - 10:06 PM

The wolves weren't in HD tonight. Remember the "-1" channels are no a simucast. It's a games only channel when the games are in HD


Not sure if this was in response to me but I should have been clear saying I have gotten all FSN north HD feeds 727'd on me on channel 96 this season. The 3 hockey games and 1 hoops game that i was aware of. What happened tonight was similar but first time it happened on 641 and that I got a 721 message.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...