Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Distant Locals???


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TerryC

TerryC

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 518 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2002

Posted 22 January 2003 - 05:30 PM

I just got a new HDVR2 that was an open box return. The previous owner was nice enough to not cancel his account and I was able to watch the channels he had subscribed to. Much to my surprise those channels included all of the distant locals of the big four nets (both east and west) as well as PBS national and Atlanta locals.

Now, I was under the impression that distant locals were not available with DirecTV if you were eligible for LIL. The one thing I miss about Dish Network is my distant locals. Anybody know how he did this?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,829 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 22 January 2003 - 05:49 PM

that qualification for Distant Locals is different than the qualification for LIL, Presuming you in the "right" place, you CAN (by SHVIA) get both. It's up to the the DBS providers to decide if they will alow this.

It's also possible that you got a hacked access card.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#3 OFFLINE   spanishannouncetable

spanishannouncetable

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 717 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 22 January 2003 - 05:59 PM

If you live in a "white area" (no OTA TV reception), you qualify for distants. The DMA you live in makes no difference, and the qualification process for distants vs. locals is different.

There is no cross-referencing process. Having locals does not automatically keep you from getting distants, and having distants does not mean you can't add locals. I have both with no "moving" necessary :D .

Back in '95, I signed up w/PT24 and got E&W distant feeds for all 4 networks. In '99 I was told I needed 2 waivers (NBC & ABC) to keep them, which were granted in writing. In Dec '01, Directv moved Greensboro locals to the 101 spot beam satellite so I added them to my distants with no problems.
Fox News : It grows on you... kinda like cancer.

#4 OFFLINE   AJ2086

AJ2086

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 360 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2002

Posted 22 January 2003 - 07:00 PM

Can you get distants from both LA and NYC on D* or do you have to choose one?
AJ

XM Customer Since: 12/28/02
D* Customer Since: 2/6/03
Tivo User Since: 11/12/03

#5 OFFLINE   spanishannouncetable

spanishannouncetable

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 717 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 22 January 2003 - 07:11 PM

If you qualify, you can get either NY or LA for .89 (I think) per single channel, or both NY & LA feeds for $1.17 per network.

All 4 NY alone would be $3.56
All 4 LA alone would be $3.56
All 8 channels is $4.68 (I have this)
Fox News : It grows on you... kinda like cancer.

#6 OFFLINE   TerryC

TerryC

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 518 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2002

Posted 22 January 2003 - 07:14 PM

Well, upon further review, none of the distant locals work. They all say I need to call for availability, or something like that. I just wonder why they show up in the guide when I've set the guide to "all channels you receive".

#7 OFFLINE   spanishannouncetable

spanishannouncetable

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 717 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 22 January 2003 - 07:34 PM

"All Channels" on a DirecTiVo means just that - every dang channel. PPV, movie, out-of-market sports nets, porn, locals you can't subscribe to - all means ALL, and this list cannot be modified.

The list you should concern yourself with is the "Channels I Receive" list. It will not auto-detect if a channel is open, so add every channel you pay for to this list. TiVo software uses this list to search for your Season Passes and Wishlists, so if you leave a channel off of it, TiVo will not know it is there and could someday miss something you might want to see.

The "Favorites" list is for channels you check on those rare occasions you decide to channel surf. Add just the channels you frequent most often.
Fox News : It grows on you... kinda like cancer.

#8 OFFLINE   Karl Foster

Karl Foster

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,849 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 23 January 2003 - 07:06 AM

Even if you get locals, call Directv and ask them to apply for waivers for you with your local stations. I did that, and Fox granted me a waiver, so I have my local Fox, as well as Fox East/West for $1.17 per month. ABC, CBS, and NBC all declined. It doesn't cost anything, and you may get what you want.
"If you took the time to get to know me, well, you'd be wasting your time. I am exactly who you think I am." - Earl Hickey

#9 OFFLINE   TerryC

TerryC

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 518 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2002

Posted 23 January 2003 - 12:24 PM

Can you tell I'm a newbie?

Thanks for all the replies.

#10 OFFLINE   Karl Foster

Karl Foster

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,849 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 23 January 2003 - 02:05 PM

We've all been there :)
"If you took the time to get to know me, well, you'd be wasting your time. I am exactly who you think I am." - Earl Hickey

#11 OFFLINE   TWood

TWood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 23 January 2003 - 09:33 PM

Has anyone had any luck in challenging denied wavers? According to the SHVIA http://www.fcc.gov/m...a/shviafac.html if you are denied a waver by your local TV station, you can request your satellite provider have a signal strength test performed at your location. Which they have to do within 30 days. If an "acceptable" picture cannot be received via an outdoor rooftop antenna, you will be allowed to receive the distant network feed. If the signal cannot be received, the local TV station pays for the testing. If it can be received, the satellite provider has to pay.

Here's my situation, I live in the Atlanta area. I would like to get west coast network feeds so I can catch programs I may have missed earlier. I requested wavers. ABC was granted on the spot. I received a denial from my local CBS station today. I would like to challenge it, but I can get a watchable albeit fuzzy reception with rabbit ears. So I believe if I had testing done, they would say I can receive an "acceptable" picture with a rooftop antenna. My question is this: If one challenges the denied waver, would the satellite provider and TV station just go ahead and let you have the distant network feed to avoid the expense and trouble of testing? Or are they going to follow the SHVIA to the letter and go through the testing despite the trouble and expense. I know this may just depend on each TV station. But thats why I asked my original question.

#12 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,756 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 24 January 2003 - 12:28 AM

My thinking is that they will infact go by the letter of SHVIA and follow thru with testing...Also I thought that if the tests proved you COULD get an acceptible signal that the subscriber and not the satellite company paid for the testing.....Though I could be wrong on that...
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al

#13 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,829 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 24 January 2003 - 09:05 AM

More than likely, you won't get ANY signal test done - there was no penalties put in SHVIA on either TV station OR DBS provider, the upshot is that NEITHER will do a signal test.

And not getting the station on rabbit ears is insufficient anyway. The test would be for an OUTSIDE dipole 30 feet above the ground.
If you couldn't get the station with a big OUTSIDE antenna aimed properly, you might have a case.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#14 OFFLINE   AJ2086

AJ2086

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 360 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2002

Posted 24 January 2003 - 10:25 AM

Well not only is my house in a valely surrounded by mountains but there a trees all over the place. We once messed with the antenna on the roof and all that we got was the local UPN (WCTX, WBNE at the time) affiliate, nothing else. I called D* and asked about locals and given from my address I am already approved for Fox and NBC. Should CBS and ABC be a problem? I think I got NBC cause it is an O&O.
AJ

XM Customer Since: 12/28/02
D* Customer Since: 2/6/03
Tivo User Since: 11/12/03

#15 OFFLINE   TWood

TWood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 24 January 2003 - 10:50 AM

A good point about no penalties for the satellite provider or TV station. I guess if one wanted to go to the trouble of filing a complaint with the FCC, maybe they would do the testing. Maybe not. Either way I'm pretty sure a tester would say I can receive an acceptable signal since I can get a half way decent signal with rabbit ears. If I had a rooftop antenna, I could probably get a truly decent signal (nowhere as good a digital satellite of course).

Its just annoys me. I can understand the local TV station not wanting satellite subscribers to watch a show on a different network affiliate when they are broadcasting the same show at the same time. However, I don't see how they are losing anything if I want to re-watch or tape a show that I missed at a later time from a west coast affiliate.

Oh well. I'm probably going to switch to D* soon and get a couple of DircTivos. Then it won't be as big a deal.

Thanks for your replies! :)

#16 OFFLINE   TWood

TWood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 24 January 2003 - 11:09 AM

Originally posted by AJ2086
I called D* and asked about locals and given from my address I am already approved for Fox and NBC. Should CBS and ABC be a problem? I think I got NBC cause it is an O&O.


Well, from my understanding of the SHVIA, the TV stations base their decision on waivers on how far you are from their transmitter. The provision about requesting a tester if the wavier is denied is there for situations like yours. Where you may be close enough to receive a signal according to the FCC model, but obstructions such as trees and mountains prevent you from actually getting a picture. Take a look at the SHVIA Fact Sheet yourself: http://www.fcc.gov/m...a/shviafac.html. Read items 8 - 14. That may help you decide what to do if they deny your waivers.

#17 OFFLINE   AJ2086

AJ2086

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 360 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2002

Posted 24 January 2003 - 11:42 AM

Well here are the tower locations for the networks I am approved for:

Fox (WTIC)- Farmington, covers a 63 mile radius (Map found here: http://100kwatts.tmi...72-49-57&rad=63)

NBC (WVIT)- A little NW of New Britain (Map found here: http://100kwatts.tmi...=72-49-57&rad=0 I am slightly south west of Waterbury.

The other 2 (ABC & CBS)-

ABC (WTNH)- Gaylord Mountain, Hamden 59 mile radius.

CBS (WFSB)- Talcot Mountain, Avon 63 mile radius
AJ

XM Customer Since: 12/28/02
D* Customer Since: 2/6/03
Tivo User Since: 11/12/03

#18 OFFLINE   raj2001

raj2001

    Icon/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 929 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2002

Posted 24 January 2003 - 12:14 PM

I don't get it. What's so special about our locals in NYC?


Seriously, I have been wondering this for quite a while.

#19 OFFLINE   RichW

RichW

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 6,526 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2002

Posted 24 January 2003 - 12:17 PM

The problem is that there is no law that REQUIRES DBS companies to provide you with distant networks even if you qualify. That is why there is no penalty for not testing. It is an option of the DBS company whether or not to provide distant signals. Same goes for the superstations.
No man stands so tall as when he stoops to help a child.

#20 OFFLINE   Karl Foster

Karl Foster

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,849 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 24 January 2003 - 12:36 PM

Originally posted by raj2001
I don't get it. What's so special about our locals in NYC?


Seriously, I have been wondering this for quite a while.


The ONLY thing I use my NYC Fox station for is to record American Idol, Joe Millionaire, because my wife always has conflicts when she records. It just gives us (my wife) the opportunity to record earlier. This is important on Monday nights when Fear Factor, King of Queens, and Joe Millionaire are on at the same time. I can only record two at once. We also run into problems on Tuesdays with Real World, American Idol, and The Bachelorette all on at the same time. American Idol actually gets recorded later on the LA Fox station.

It isn't for the news, or any noble purpose. It is simply selfish so I can watch trashy Fox tv, and not have it interfere with anything else. I also get a kick out of watching the traffic reports in NYC and LA. When when my wife complains about traffic, I have her watch the traffic report on the BQE, or the Santa Monica Freeway. Makes SLC traffic not look not so bad. Seriously, though, if Fox took it away, I wouldn't care that much and it really isn't a big deal, but for $1.17 per month, I just couldn't pass it up.
"If you took the time to get to know me, well, you'd be wasting your time. I am exactly who you think I am." - Earl Hickey




Protected By... spam firewall...And...