Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SNY HD Channel 625 Wrong Resolution


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
56 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 05 October 2007 - 06:26 AM

SNY on 625 is still being broadcast at 720p.
This channel should be 1080i.
The duplicate on 683 is 1080i.
Please fix this.

I will bump everyday.
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Blurayfan

Blurayfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,753 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 October 2007 - 06:43 AM

SNY on 625 is still being broadcast at 720p.
This channel should be 1080i.
The duplicate on 683 is 1080i.
Please fix this.

I will bump everyday.

Are you sure the two are duplicates? Because as far as I know D* doesn't change the resolution in anyway for the MPEG4 feeds.

Slimlin-5 with SWM16
HR44-700 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 4.0 TB
HR24-500 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 2.0 TB
HR21-700 with DECA adapter for network
Network: Netgear R7000
Internet: Comcast 105/20


#3 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 05 October 2007 - 07:20 AM

625 was spotbeamed until D10.
683 appears to be that spotbeam now while 625 is the national channel.
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .

#4 OFFLINE   Mixer

Mixer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 05 October 2007 - 07:28 AM

When I flter to HD guide I do not even see 683. At least not that I can recall from last night.
HR20-700:Component, TV:Mitsubishi WS65807, Audio is connected using Digital Toslink cable. OTA:NO, Locals:New York, Native:Off, Network:Yes, eSata:No, AT9 dish, BBC: Yes, Harmony 880. HR20 is wired, Streaming Music and Photos through Twonky Media Server and internet connection is 5MB DSL.

#5 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 05 October 2007 - 07:36 AM

I saw 683 last night. Maybe it is gone now. If that is the case then there is even more reason to fix 625. Now there is nowhere to get the correct resolution.
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .

#6 OFFLINE   evad

evad

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 05 October 2007 - 07:53 AM

its 1080i on my tv -----------683

720p on -------------625

#7 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 05 October 2007 - 08:10 AM

I saw 683 last night. Maybe it is gone now. If that is the case then there is even more reason to fix 625. Now there is nowhere to get the correct resolution.


Correct resolution? Are you saying that SNY braodcasts in 1080i and D* is converting it to 720p? That doesn't make much sense. Or are you asking D* to broadcast it in 1080i regardless of what SNY braodcasts it in? That would make even less sense.

#8 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 05 October 2007 - 08:14 AM

The correct resolution is 1080i.
The NYC area received 625 in HD since spring of this year.
D* is sending it incorrectly I believe. Just as TBS HD was being sent wrong at first.
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .

#9 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 05 October 2007 - 09:41 PM

Posting from my new iPod touch. SNY is still the wrong resolution on channel 625.
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .

#10 OFFLINE   byron

byron

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 968 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2004

Posted 05 October 2007 - 10:07 PM

agreed.... get this fixed. 625 has been beautiful all year long, whatever they did this week screwed it up on 625.

#11 OFFLINE   Blurayfan

Blurayfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,753 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 06 October 2007 - 09:00 AM

There's no way to know what resolution the channel is actually broadcasting, only a presumption based on the duplicate programming on the two mentioned channels. The channels could be seperate (regional sports alternate) that were showing the same programs.
For example in my area there's 640 and 668. Most of the time 668 is off air until two events need to be aired together. Sometimes though the feeds show the exact same programming.

Slimlin-5 with SWM16
HR44-700 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 4.0 TB
HR24-500 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 2.0 TB
HR21-700 with DECA adapter for network
Network: Netgear R7000
Internet: Comcast 105/20


#12 OFFLINE   funners

funners

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2007

Posted 06 October 2007 - 09:04 AM

SNY on 625 is still being broadcast at 720p.
This channel should be 1080i.
The duplicate on 683 is 1080i.
Please fix this.

I will bump everyday.



resolution is determined by broadcaster.... directv does not change that... action is typically shown better in 720p anyways... that's why espn shows 720p.....the satellite used has no affect on this either

#13 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 06 October 2007 - 09:37 AM

Thee mpeg4 spot beam of this channel that the NYC area has been receiving since spring is 1080i. The new national channel is 720p. Obviously one can not be correct.
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .

#14 OFFLINE   funners

funners

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2007

Posted 06 October 2007 - 09:43 AM

Thee mpeg4 spot beam of this channel that the NYC area has been receiving since spring is 1080i. The new national channel is 720p. Obviously one can not be correct.



why? If it's being sent by the broadcaster physically different then they can send it however...do you KNOW it's physically the same exact feed from the broadcaster? if the two are physically seperate then it can be different... I see alot of ASSUMPTION in this thread

#15 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 06 October 2007 - 10:06 AM

why? If it's being sent by the broadcaster physically different then they can send it however...do you KNOW it's physically the same exact feed from the broadcaster? if the two are physically seperate then it can be different... I see alot of ASSUMPTION in this thread


I don't understand you.

The NYC area has been receiving 625 on a spotbeam since before the baseball season started. This channel was shown on D* and the local cable systems as 1080i.

Now channel 625 is being shown at 720p.
Now channel 683 was added the same day as channel 625 switched to 720p. This channel 683 is 1080i.
I can watch the new channel 683, but I am concerned those may be removed at some point.

I am assuming nothing. Everyone was showing SNY HD as 1080i and now D* is not.
They did the same with NESN HD. It should have been 1080i but D* was showing it at 720p.
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .

#16 OFFLINE   funners

funners

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2007

Posted 06 October 2007 - 10:19 AM

I don't understand you.

The NYC area has been receiving 625 on a spotbeam since before the baseball season started. This channel was shown on D* and the local cable systems as 1080i.

Now channel 625 is being shown at 720p.
Now channel 683 was added the same day as channel 625 switched to 720p. This channel 683 is 1080i.
I can watch the new channel 683, but I am concerned those may be removed at some point.

I am assuming nothing. Everyone was showing SNY HD as 1080i and now D* is not.
They did the same with NESN HD. It should have been 1080i but D* was showing it at 720p.



hhmm interesting... i just mean are we sure the broadcaster isn't literally using diff equipment... that's what i mean by different means in sending signal... literally diff equipment and literally another way of sending their signal... interesting... anything is possible... rare though that that happens... well if it is on directv im sure the broadcaster will make them aware of this.. if on directv they prob already know but good question ....

#17 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 09 October 2007 - 06:30 AM

The resolution on 625 HD is still incorrect.
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .

#18 OFFLINE   byron

byron

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 968 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2004

Posted 09 October 2007 - 07:48 AM

this is a bit ridiculous... i realize that now that baseball season (at least as far as SNY is concerned) is over there isn't much on SNY-HD, but come on.... this can't be hard to fix.

#19 OFFLINE   monetnj

monetnj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 219 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2004

Posted 09 October 2007 - 09:51 AM

When TBS HD had this issue, Earl sent it on to his contacts and the resolution was fixed. Hopefully, Earl is paying attention to this thread and can do the same for SNY HD.

#20 OFFLINE   NYSmoker

NYSmoker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 10 October 2007 - 06:30 AM

Daily bump.
Resolution still incorrect.
HR21-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 42" LCD
HR20-700 HDMI --> Sharp Aquos 26" LCD .




Protected By... spam firewall...And...