Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

maxtor shared storage II media server


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   GoneHuntin

GoneHuntin

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2007

Posted 20 October 2007 - 01:12 PM

I have my HR20 seeing my laptop through wmp 11 with few problems. I installed a maxtor shared storage II NAS and turned on the media server for this. I noticed my HR20 sees the NAS media server and the folders and files on the NAS. All the files have an X next to them however and will not play. any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Simpleton24

Simpleton24

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2007

Posted 22 October 2007 - 04:57 PM

I have my HR20 seeing my laptop through wmp 11 with few problems. I installed a maxtor shared storage II NAS and turned on the media server for this. I noticed my HR20 sees the NAS media server and the folders and files on the NAS. All the files have an X next to them however and will not play. any ideas?


It's most likely that the NAS is just storage and doesn't have a media player (wmp11) or media streamer to play through the HR20.

I have a HP Mediavault that does the same exact thing.

Try this thread http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=99327 ,it has a lot of info. Maybe you could try something in the Alternate Media Sources section of this thread. I was thinking of trying a few things myself.
HR20-700: 0x036F
HR22-100: 0x036F
H20-600: 0x4138
H21-100: 0x42EB
My Setup

#3 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 23 October 2007 - 01:18 PM

I have my HR20 seeing my laptop through wmp 11 with few problems. I installed a maxtor shared storage II NAS and turned on the media server for this. I noticed my HR20 sees the NAS media server and the folders and files on the NAS. All the files have an X next to them however and will not play. any ideas?


I use a NAS storage off my Linksys WRT350N router. The router has a media server software on it as well. I have the same issue with music. So here is what I did, I mounted the drives to my windows XP box as drive X, I then started my nero 7 media home software up, and sharted drive X out from the nero 7 media server software and it works.

As mentioned in the above post...
There is a section in the network help link in my signature called Alternate Media Sources.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#4 OFFLINE   GoneHuntin

GoneHuntin

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2007

Posted 24 October 2007 - 08:30 AM

NAS has mediaserver/media streaming built into it. I was hoping to be able to put media there and not have laptop on. I saw a reference to installing twonky on the nas itself. I might have to look into that a little more as well. Other wise guess will mount to laptop.

#5 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 24 October 2007 - 08:56 AM

NAS has mediaserver/media streaming built into it. I was hoping to be able to put media there and not have laptop on. I saw a reference to installing twonky on the nas itself. I might have to look into that a little more as well. Other wise guess will mount to laptop.


Yep, that will probably be the quickest way to get it going unless you can get Maxtor to include the LPCM transcoder into the media server firmware. Even if they do it, it will be a while before you see it. I opened a issue up with Linksys on this for them to get it fixed, ever so often they send me a beta drop to try and I keep telling them, "Nope, it does not work! Do not close the issue!".

Also, Welcome to the Forum! Have fun and enjoy the tons of information here.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98





Protected By... spam firewall...And...