Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What equipment/Dish to go with new HR20/21


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Bill D

Bill D

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
Joined: May 10, 2002

Posted 26 October 2007 - 01:44 AM

Hello,
Currently I have a 3 LNB Dish with built in switch that gives you 4 outputs, that feed my two SD tivos. I am going to be adding one HR20/21 in the near future. I would like to keep the other tivo's.

Obviously I need the new 5LNB dish. I assume these have built in switches? What does it break out to, 4 outputs?

If that is the case would I need some sort of other switch inside my house to get me from 4 to 6 outputs to feed the 3 DVR's?

Just want to make sure I get what I need when I order.

thanks
Bill

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Greyshadow2007

Greyshadow2007

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 246 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 26 October 2007 - 03:16 AM

You are correct, the 5-LNB dish does have a built in 4 port multiswitch. With the inputs you need for 3 DVRs you'll also want a multiswitch. The current one recommended by D* is the Zinwell WB68
-) They are listening... don't stop complaining... just do it constructively...
-) Be true to yourself and be good to one another... this is a community, not a barroom...
-) Keep the CE alive by participating... giving feedback... giving ideas

-Earl Bonovich

#3 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 26 October 2007 - 07:23 AM

I recommend having your dish installed. They will supply the correct switch and get it aligned properly. They supplied my Zinwll WB68 since I need it.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#4 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,710 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 26 October 2007 - 12:36 PM

When you buy the HD DVR, request free installation. DirecTV typically provides free installation of the 5-LNB dish and required multiswitch when you buy new HiDef DVRs or Receivers.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#5 OFFLINE   Bill D

Bill D

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 432 posts
Joined: May 10, 2002

Posted 26 October 2007 - 06:50 PM

Sounds good everyone, thanks for the info. I wasn't planning on even asking about doing my own install, climbing on roofs is where I end my DIY stuff. Much easier letting someone else take care of this stuff.

Good to know multiswitch can go inside though, does it have to be a certain distance from the receiver or dish?
thanks

#6 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,710 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 26 October 2007 - 06:51 PM

Sounds good everyone, thanks for the info. I wasn't planning on even asking about doing my own install, climbing on roofs is where I end my DIY stuff. Much easier letting someone else take care of this stuff.

Good to know multiswitch can go inside though, does it have to be a certain distance from the receiver or dish?
thanks


Anything under 100-150 feet is fine.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#7 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 26 October 2007 - 10:13 PM

Let DIRECTV do it all.

The dish, switch, cables, etc. are all a part of what you get for free.

These tips will help you make sure you get everything listed in your work order: HD DVR (HR20) Ordering Tips. Click each link especially the Agreement link to see this will create a new 2-year contract.

Also, there are still a couple more days in the Big Ten Offer.

- Craig

#8 OFFLINE   Bill D

Bill D

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 432 posts
Joined: May 10, 2002

Posted 27 October 2007 - 11:48 AM

Anything under 100-150 feet is fine.


cool thanks




Protected By... spam firewall...And...