4line dish to swm

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by Pcv76, Oct 27, 2017.

1. Pcv76

Pcv76 New Member

Oct 27, 2017
    I've never tried to setup a directv system before so looking for educated people to point me in the right direction.

I have an older 4 line dish setup at a cabin I bought. It came with the property and was in use by former owner.
    I have a hd box without a built in power inserter that I would like to use out at cabin a couple weeks a year. It will be just the one box.

Can I buy a power inserter and hook it up to one of the coax cables and power the dish this way or do I need something else...

I apologize if I've left anything out but I'm not familiar with how it all works.

2. satinstallerguy

satinstallerguy Member

Apr 21, 2013
    Cleveland
    What Model is it H-24 , H-25, H-23???

And what do yo mean by power inserter? The receiver if it is older has a built in power supply vs the newer receivers that have external power supplies...

A power inserter is what is used to power the SWM lnb.... Your cabin doesn't have one from your description...

Those 4 lines come down from a legacy Slimline 3 or 5 lnb and should go to a ground or 6x8 switch.... then lines to the receivers..

Last edited: Oct 27, 2017
  3. Pcv76

Pcv76 New Member

Oct 27, 2017
    Sorry, I'm sure that info would be useful here. I'll have to get back to you on model when I get to cabin.
    Will it require something different dependent on the box?
    All I know off hand is that it doesn't have a power inserter.

4. jimmie57

jimmie57 Hall Of Fame

Jun 26, 2010
    Texas City, TX
    If your system at home is SWM, take a look in the settings and see if it says it is a Slimline 3 or a Slimline 5.
    Next you will need an LNB that matches the one at home, then you need a 21volt power inserter.