1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

722K and OTA antenna

Discussion in 'ViP612/622/722/722K DVR Support Forum' started by Randy Watson, Oct 17, 2010.

1. Randy Watson

Randy Watson New Member

Oct 17, 2010
    Hi all,

First post here and I'm far from an expert on these things. Here's my dilemma: I've got a 722K and was told at installation they couldn't get the local channels in HD. Is there a way to install an antenna for the locals and still use the DVR to record them? Also-would an attic antenna work? We're able to get decent reception with just a set of rabbit ears-but the wife says they have to go :lol:

Thanks in advance

2. Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon Roving Reporter Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Jan 7, 2005
    Kittrell, NC
    Do you have the OTA module installed in your 722K?

It comes with an open expansion bay on the back (covered by a blank plate if the module is not installed) to install an ~$30 OTA module.

IF you have (or purchase) that module... then all you have to do is connect an antenna, and you will have 2 OTA tuners from which you can record any OTA channel after you go into the menu and run a Local Channel scan.

3. BattleZone

BattleZone Hall Of Fame

Nov 13, 2007
    We can't know the answers without looking at a TVFOOL plot of your local channels.

http://www.tvfool.com

Put in your address and you'll get a "radar" plot of all of your locals as well as a channel list and estimated signal strength for each at your location.

4. Randy Watson

Randy Watson New Member

Oct 17, 2010
    It doesn't have the module, are those available only through Dish?

I hope this is the right info from TVfool:

tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3da362134ea29027

5. TulsaOK

TulsaOK New Member

Feb 23, 2004
    No.

6. bz2dy

bz2dy New Member

Sep 28, 2010