1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Another] Cinema Connection Kit (CCK) question

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by liquidsense, May 23, 2012.

1. liquidsense

liquidsense Mentor

Apr 13, 2007
    I'm very new to the scene (less than a week), and I'm having a bit of difficulty understanding the CCK module.

My current setup is as follows:

1. TV 1: HR34 receiver; ATT U-Verse Wireless Router two feet away from HR34 (but not connected in any way).
    2. TV 2: H25 receiver.
    3. TV 3: H25 receiver.
    All of the TV's are in communication with each other. I can watch shared DVR content on any of the three TVs. I'm guessing this is what is commonly referred to as MRV (a/k/a multi-room viewing).

So, why do I need the CCK? Can't I just hardline the HR34 into the router and enjoy the On Demand stuff on all TVs since they are all in communication with one another?

Also, despite that the CCK is on its way to me in the mail, and I'm sure the instructions will better inform me, I thought I'd ask: How do you connect it? Do you hardline an ethernet cable from the modem to the CCK and then another cable from the CCK to the HR34?

2. Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek Well-Known Member

Jun 13, 2009
    You need to connect the Ethernet on the HR34 to your router or switch and all of the receivers will have internet access. There is no need for the CCK.

BTW, this ONLY works with the HR34.

3. The Merg

The Merg 1*

Jun 24, 2007
    Northern VA
    In your case, you can plug an ethernet cable into the HR34 from the router and it will act as a bridge for your coax network to your home network. The one downside is that if the HR34 loses power or reboots, while it is down, your other receivers will not have access to the Intenet. Usually, that is not a big deal.