Auto Delete on Genie

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by toobs, May 29, 2014.

  1. May 29, 2014 #1 of 408
    toobs

    toobs Legend

    564
    15
    Oct 10, 2012
    I was watching my recorded shows and once the show was finished and the Genie went back to the playlist, it not automatically deletes the show that I just watched. I no longer have the option if I want to delete or keep the show.

    Has anyone noticed this new feature?

    How do I turn off auto delete?


    Moderator Edit, please see this post:
    http://www.dbstalk.com/topic/212316-auto-delete-on-genie/page-4#entry3259925
     
    2 people like this.
  2. May 29, 2014 #2 of 408
    Regw3

    Regw3 Mentor

    35
    0
    Dec 11, 2005
    my genie is deleting programs if you switch channels while playing a recorded program.
     
  3. May 29, 2014 #3 of 408
    toobs

    toobs Legend

    564
    15
    Oct 10, 2012
    Is this a bad glitched? I never had this happen before until tonight.
     
  4. May 29, 2014 #4 of 408
    mrdobolina

    mrdobolina AllStar

    403
    15
    Aug 28, 2006
    A Mile High
    Was it a show with the new Start Over/Look Back/whatever they're calling it feature?
     
  5. May 29, 2014 #5 of 408
    toobs

    toobs Legend

    564
    15
    Oct 10, 2012
    No, I was just watching my usually recorded shows, like tonight's Pawn Stars.
     
  6. May 30, 2014 #6 of 408
    mrdobolina

    mrdobolina AllStar

    403
    15
    Aug 28, 2006
    A Mile High
    From what I see, that is one of the shows that you are able to "start from the beginning" aka the new feature. I think there is a bug with these shows even if you scheduled it to record as a series or whatever. Others are posting in other threads about how they'll be watching one of those shows that they recorded, and if they hit "exit" it deletes the recording.

    I'm recording the Don Rickles special and I know for a fact I will not watch it all in one sitting. Probably going to have to re-record it if it is truly going to auto-delete.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. May 30, 2014 #7 of 408
    Laxguy

    Laxguy Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

    15,541
    617
    Dec 2, 2010
    Monterey...
    It could be that these shows are on the very new - what he says just above....

    What channel? Did you press Exit to get back to the List?
     
  8. May 30, 2014 #8 of 408
    inkahauts

    inkahauts Well-Known Member

    25,156
    1,598
    Nov 13, 2006
    Do you know if you started watching the show before it finished recording?
     
  9. May 30, 2014 #9 of 408
    toobs

    toobs Legend

    564
    15
    Oct 10, 2012
    No, i watched the show after it finished recording.
     
  10. May 30, 2014 #10 of 408
    litzdog911

    litzdog911 Well-Known Member

    12,501
    182
    Jun 23, 2004
    Mill Creek, WA
    Have you tried resetting your Genie DVR?
     
  11. May 30, 2014 #11 of 408
    shy007

    shy007 Legend/Supporter DBSTalk Gold Club

    355
    6
    Apr 11, 2003
    I don't have the Genie but I hit exit to go to live TV on my DVR and my Pawn Star episode was deleted. I was very upset because I was making coffee to watch the episode.
     
    2 people like this.
  12. May 30, 2014 #12 of 408
    mightythor88

    mightythor88 Legend

    143
    0
    Sep 22, 2007
    Yeah, I tried it again w. Rickles this morning after recording it off of spike again last night, and "exit" still deleted. "Exit" seems to equal delete (without asking for confirmation) with "look back."
     
  13. May 30, 2014 #13 of 408
    jimmie57

    jimmie57 Hall Of Fame

    10,064
    868
    Jun 26, 2010
    Texas City, TX
    Do you have your , Menu, Recordings, Manage Recordings, Record Defaults, set to " Keep Until: I Delete It "
    If not, you might change that setting and see if the problem continues.
     
  14. May 30, 2014 #14 of 408
    sigma1914

    sigma1914 Well-Known Member

    14,716
    395
    Sep 5, 2006
    Allen, TX
    That's not the problem - it's a really poor bug with the new restart feature.
     
  15. May 30, 2014 #15 of 408
    lesz

    lesz Legend

    225
    1
    Aug 3, 2010
    Did this auto delete issue start coincident with a new software download? For those who are seeing the problem, what is the software version (and date) being used by your equipment?
     
  16. May 30, 2014 #16 of 408
    peds48

    peds48 Genius.

    20,073
    1,075
    Jan 10, 2008
    NY
    right on. Hopefully DirecTV fixes this soon


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. May 30, 2014 #17 of 408
    texasbrit

    texasbrit Well-Known Member

    5,627
    183
    Aug 9, 2006
    To repeat. This IS a bug with the latest software, hopefully it will be fixed soon.
     
  18. May 30, 2014 #18 of 408
    lesz

    lesz Legend

    225
    1
    Aug 3, 2010
    But what I was interested in knowing is what is the software version with the bug?
     
  19. May 30, 2014 #19 of 408
    Laxguy

    Laxguy Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

    15,541
    617
    Dec 2, 2010
    Monterey...
    The bug isn't limited to specific software versions, it seems. At the same time, reporting versions is a good practice.
     
  20. May 30, 2014 #20 of 408
    jimmie57

    jimmie57 Hall Of Fame

    10,064
    868
    Jun 26, 2010
    Texas City, TX
    Is there a way around this bug ?

    Can you press the Guide or other key like List to get out of the recording without deleting it ?
     

Share This Page

spam firewall

Advertisements