Auto Delete on Genie

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by toobs, May 29, 2014.

  1. May 30, 2014 #21 of 408
    sigma1914

    sigma1914 Well-Known Member

    14,716
    395
    Sep 5, 2006
    Allen, TX
    I haven't found a workaround yet... Tried exit, channel +/-, etc. It's a seriously annoying bug. I'm not happy and will cancel if it's not fixed ASAP.
     
  2. May 30, 2014 #22 of 408
    sigma1914

    sigma1914 Well-Known Member

    14,716
    395
    Sep 5, 2006
    Allen, TX
    I also tried FF to the end, selecting to NOT delete but it still deleted it.

    This is inexcusable.
     
  3. May 30, 2014 #23 of 408
    peds48

    peds48 Genius.

    20,073
    1,075
    Jan 10, 2008
    NY
    what happens if you wait until the show is over and play back from the playlist?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. May 30, 2014 #24 of 408
    sigma1914

    sigma1914 Well-Known Member

    14,716
    395
    Sep 5, 2006
    Allen, TX
    Same thing... deleted from the list.
     
  5. May 30, 2014 #25 of 408
    mstenbrg

    mstenbrg AllStar

    139
    20
    Oct 2, 2006
    I am also seeing this issue with my Genie. Though I was doing something wrong, but it does not give you the option to delete or keep, just goes back to your list and the program is gone.
     
  6. May 30, 2014 #26 of 408
    Laxguy

    Laxguy Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

    15,541
    617
    Dec 2, 2010
    Monterey...
    Excellent suggestion. I would have tested that if I were at home. Wonder if it can be fixed server side, so no software updates needed for that on the DVRs....?
     
  7. May 30, 2014 #27 of 408
    WB4CS

    WB4CS Active Member

    159
    35
    Dec 12, 2013
    Huntsville, AL
    Several complaints on here, and even one threatening to cancel over this issue.

    Has anyone REPORTED the issued to DirecTV so they can look into the bug?
     
  8. May 30, 2014 #28 of 408
    sigma1914

    sigma1914 Well-Known Member

    14,716
    395
    Sep 5, 2006
    Allen, TX
    Yes.
     
  9. May 30, 2014 #29 of 408
    Laxguy

    Laxguy Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

    15,541
    617
    Dec 2, 2010
    Monterey...
    Yes. And we can all do so: Use Smartsearch for keyword "send report" and then post the number in the thread for whatever software version your box is running.
     
  10. May 30, 2014 #30 of 408
    Janice805

    Janice805 Legend

    287
    1
    Nov 26, 2005
    Hey WB4CS, I'm completely with you. I posted somewhere else. Didn't see this thread. Below is my post and YES, I'm MAD AS HECK ...
    _____________________________

    I RECORD everything, except for FNC which is on mostly during the day in the background until I'm ready to start watching my recorded stuff.

    My Direct TV bill is $180 x month (without discounts). For that I "expect" to have TV "my way". I can record, RW, FF, skip commericials and whatever.

    Now, DTV apparently has a new feature today (without notice). I recorded something last night that was 3 hours long. I was watching it, then someone came over, I hit EXIT (to live TV), and when they left, I hit PREV to return to the recording ..... and it was GONE !!!! DELETED BY DTV WITHOUT MY PERMISSION !!!

    This happened to 2 other recordings that I tried to watch this morning. Now I see an "arrow" by a LOT of shows. Says you can't FF, etc. So to avoid that problem, I went a hour into the future on the guide and hit RECORD for the same show. Mind you, there was nothing indicating to me that this was one of those "arrow" shows. Same thing happened ... deleted when I cycled between the recording and live TV, which I do a lot.

    This is pure BS (to me). I've been a customer since 1998 and pay huge $$$ to Direct TV, and have four DVR's so I can watch TV ....*my way* ....

    I don't know what generated this new (unmarked) feature but I don't see it as a plus. It's a HUGE minus and removal of services to me. (I don't use on demand also because I cannot FF, etc.).

    So am I the only person on this board that is totally PI$$$$ED about this new "feature"????? If I wanted On Demand, I'd go there. I expect what's on the Guide to be like the rest of the shows on the Guide and be able to be recorded and behave in the same way.

    If this stays, after all these years and bigs bucks I'm paying, I will quit Direct TV in a minute.
     
  11. May 30, 2014 #31 of 408
    dpeters11

    dpeters11 Hall Of Fame

    16,344
    505
    May 30, 2007
    Cincinnati
    I think you're confusing the feature with the bug. I don't think anyone would leave DirecTV over the start over feature itself, and there is no indication that the deletion is by design. It looks to be a bug, and one that needs fixed quickly. The two are related, but not the same thing.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  12. May 30, 2014 #32 of 408
    jimmie57

    jimmie57 Hall Of Fame

    10,064
    868
    Jun 26, 2010
    Texas City, TX
    Has anyone looked in the History to see what reason is given there for the deletion ?
     
  13. May 30, 2014 #33 of 408
    booboo

    booboo New Member

    74
    1
    Mar 2, 2011
    So to get this straight. This isn't a permanent new feature? It's just a terrible bug that's involved with the new feature? The reason I ask is this has happened to me 3 times in 2 days.


    Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
     
  14. May 30, 2014 #34 of 408
    lesz

    lesz Legend

    225
    1
    Aug 3, 2010
    There is at least one workaround that I've discovered. It is a pain, and I certainly wouldn't want to use it long term, but, if someone really wants to avoid this feature/bug, it does work. If you set up the recording via the recordings menu and set up a manual record, the recording will not be automatically deleted.
     
  15. May 30, 2014 #35 of 408
    prushing

    prushing Active Member

    966
    34
    Feb 14, 2007
    just shows deleted ... it also only happens on the channels with that feature
     
  16. May 30, 2014 #36 of 408
    lucky13

    lucky13 Active Member

    2,057
    20
    Nov 27, 2006
    Maryland,...
    I haven't come across this bug, and I leave lots of recordings before they're finished.
    What happens if you PAUSE the recording, then press BACK to return to the playlist? Is the recording still there?
    If you then select another recording, and return the the playlist (via BACK or LIST), is the first recording still there?
     
  17. May 30, 2014 #37 of 408
    prushing

    prushing Active Member

    966
    34
    Feb 14, 2007
    This somewhat works.

    Pause recording with the feature, you can get the list of channels from the post in the HD DVR forum, it affects all channels with this feature

    Then use the back or left arrow to go back to the List. Select any other recording (as long as that recording also doesn't have this feature on that channel).

    Exit/Stop/etc from that recording.

    Both of the recordings will still be in the list, as long as the 2nd recording was on a non-feature channel
     
  18. May 30, 2014 #38 of 408
    lucky13

    lucky13 Active Member

    2,057
    20
    Nov 27, 2006
    Maryland,...
    So a workaround would be to PAUSE, LIST, and select a recording that is no longer airing (and therefore not in the guide) from the list?
     
  19. May 30, 2014 #39 of 408
    swyman18

    swyman18 Legend

    360
    32
    Jan 12, 2009
    It is really amazing that this feature was rolled out with such a terrible oversight. How is it possible that someone didn't think to have the software be able to differentiate between whether it is a "temporary" recording as part of the new feature, or a dedicated recording?

    It really is stunning.
     
  20. May 30, 2014 #40 of 408
    prushing

    prushing Active Member

    966
    34
    Feb 14, 2007
    It doesn't matter if it is recording or not. Any recording on those channels will be deleted, even if it is over. I tested this by recording a show for 1 min and list showed it as completed. Pressing exit deleted the show even though it was completed airing.

    Any recording will work to keep the one you were watching from being deleted, but if you selected one that was also on a channel with this feature, it will delete the 2nd one when exiting from it.
     

Share This Page

spam firewall

Advertisements