1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BSS Primer?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by wilbur_the_goose, Feb 15, 2010.

1. wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose Hall Of Fame

Aug 16, 2006
    Hi - could somebody point me to information on the BSSs on D12? Thanks!

(what do they do, what's the advantage for D* and us?, etc.)

2. jodyguercio

jodyguercio Active Member

Aug 16, 2007
  3. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    Advantage for Directv is (eventually) another frequency band to use for more channel capacity. For us, right now, there is no advantage. It is not known (publicly) how the BSS frequencies will be fit into the existing stack plan and/or if they might require an SWiM-based system or newer/different receivers to handle. Furthermore, the ITU has granted BSS frequency allotments to more than one country and those have to be coordinated among the national regulatory bodies and the various corporate interests involved.

The short answer is: the BSS payload on Directv 12 is helpful to them from a technical, "proving ground" kind of standpoint, with the realization that it's more or less irrelevant to the vast majority of subscribers at this point. :)

4. jodyguercio

jodyguercio Active Member

Aug 16, 2007
    An example of some of that "light" reading I was talking about. Thanks Lefty. :lol:

5. kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte Active Member

Dec 19, 2006
    Outside...
    I thought part of the initial BSS plan had something to do with Alaska? Maybe I'm remembering wrong?

6. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...