1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you spot the problem?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by Manctech, Nov 23, 2011.

1. Manctech

Manctech Icon

Jul 5, 2010
    I asked the guy "So what problem are you having?" He replies - "I'm not getting my HD channels!" - Can you spot the problem?

[​IMG]

I say "For how long?" ... He replies "Ever since they switched to that three and five lnb deal....

2. TBoneit

TBoneit Hall Of Fame

Jul 27, 2006
    Not Being a DirecTV Tech, I'm going to say the dish (LNBs).

It sure doesn't look like any o fthe D* dishes I pass on my commute.

3. HoTat2

HoTat2 Hall Of Fame

Nov 16, 2005
    Los...
    Is the dish's orientation wrong? It looks as though the dish's long axis and LNBs are vertical or perpendicular to the Clarke belt and looks as its due to the J mast being upside down or something.

What kind of dish is that anyhow with two LNBs mounted outboard from the center like that?

4. Manctech

Manctech Icon

Jul 5, 2010
    HAHAH! I like the reply. I too had no clue what I was looking at. Apparently this was a 1st generation triple-sat. It picked up the 101/110/119 birds.

5. veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
    It looks more like a Phase II dish, since the "triple-sat" is the Phase III

6. HoTat2

HoTat2 Hall Of Fame

Nov 16, 2005
    Los...
  7. Manctech

Manctech Icon

Jul 5, 2010
    Looks right to me!

8. HoTat2

HoTat2 Hall Of Fame

Nov 16, 2005
    Los...
    OK, photograph angle must have been taken from well beneath the dish so I initially thought the dish's long axis was vertical to the Clarke belt at first. :D

9. P Smith

P Smith Mr. FixAnything

Jul 25, 2002
    W.Mdtrn Sea