1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Considering switch from TiVo/Comcast +722 questions

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by Bigg, Feb 26, 2010.

1. Bigg

Bigg Godfather

Feb 26, 2010
    I'm not sure if this belongs in the HD forum, but its got so many different topics, I figured I'd post it here.

I'm a college student, and my parents are considering (I'm convincing them to switch) switching from our god-awful analog Comcast with a Series 2 TiVo to Dish Network. My dad wants to get an HDTV, and Comcast doesn't offer much of any HD in our area, regardless of monthly cost or up-front cost (Series 3 TiVo/ Cablecard).

Our area is ex AT&T Broadband, and so they just don't have the capacity for more than a dozen HD channels, and they don't have the two heavy hitters of the HD world, Discovery and History, or A&E or Comedy Central. Its going to be a while until they upgrade the system to digital/ DOCSIS 3, and AT&T VRAD'ed up the next town over, but we're not getting any refrigerator-sized-lawn-ornament love. So that means if we want HD, it's going to be coming down from the heavens.

We were looking at DirecTV because of SWiM, MRV, and the AT&T bundle discount, but it turns out they are $20 more with a $5 discount, and now, if I understand correctly, Dish can effectively stack the two tuners and diplex a backfeed for the second room on the existing RG-6 (installed new with the house in 1999-2000, compression connectors, home run)? Plus, Dish has Travel and MSNBC, DirecTV somehow doesn't.

The other issue is that DirecTV probably can't hit 119, since we have a serious tree problem, so Eastern Arc should help us out a LOT, plus making the DVR's hard drive effectively bigger is a great bonus. We are in Hartford-New Haven.

I have a few questions about Dish Network, the installation, the hardware, etc.