Copying/Cloninng external hard drive used with HR20?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by jksellman, Jan 29, 2015.

1. jksellman

jksellman Legend

Mar 22, 2007
    My current system:
    2 each HR20,.... with an external 2TB hard drive in a Thermaltake dock connected to one of the HR20s via esata.
    I have been running this system for over 5 years and even though it is not the newest Diretv hardware, I am happy with it.
    I have a lot of content stored on the external 2TB HDD. I am concerned that the 2TB HDD may die at some time, I was planning to make a replacement clone to replace it using an identical 2TB HDD.
    My plan is to use http://www.easeus.com/disk-copy/ with 2 Themaltake docks connected via USB to copy from the HDD with the content to the New HDD. My Vaio laptop runs windows 7. I have been told this will work, but I was wondering if anyone has done this procedure successfully.
    Thank you for any information.
    sorry about the typo in the title....not way to correct/edit it....

2. peds48

peds48 Genius.

Jan 10, 2008
    NY
    Stick to what is known to work. There is a lengthy thread here about copy & cloning

Sent from my iPhone 6 using Tapatalk

3. jksellman

jksellman Legend

Mar 22, 2007
    Thank you...but the link to the thread on this subject did not work.

4. peds48

peds48 Genius.

Jan 10, 2008
    NY
    hmmm, I did not post any links. I can't post it myself since I am mobile, but someone will post it shortly

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

5. jksellman

jksellman Legend

Mar 22, 2007
    I only have a laptop...no esata ports.
    The drive I want to copy is external, so I do not need to take the HR20 apart.
    So....Does anyone know if what I am proposing in my original post will work?
    http://www.easeus.com/disk-copy/ is the copying program I was told to use. I know that using USB will be slow.
    Thanks

6. harsh

harsh Beware the Attack Basset

Jun 14, 2003
    Salem, OR
  7. TBoneit