Directtv worth keeping

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by Tritron, Jan 7, 2020.

1. Jan 7, 2020 #1 of 14
    Tritron

Tritron Member

Dec 7, 2019
  2. Jan 7, 2020 #2 of 14
    espaeth

espaeth AllStar

Oct 13, 2003
    Meh. These are few and far between, and you can still work around them.

ISP connection drops here? My iPhone is already on an unlimited plan, and I have a lightning to HDMI adapter to feed the aux input on a TV.

3. Jan 7, 2020 #3 of 14
    raott

raott Hall Of Fame

Nov 23, 2005
    Yes. I’ll pay AT&T $150 a month as a “backup” in the .0005% chance that there is vandalism. My god, are you serious?

4. Jan 8, 2020 #4 of 14
    Rich

Rich DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ
    Our phone plan is the same, we can always use the phone as a hot spot. But I've been streaming for many years and have had very few problems. And no nightmares, like I just went thru with my DVRs. I do have D* as a backup.

Rich

5. Jan 8, 2020 #5 of 14
    Rich

Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ
    That's about what I pay for the "backup" if that's what you want to call it. No need for a backup of any sort in all the years I've been streaming.

Rich

6. Jan 8, 2020 #6 of 14
    Tritron

Tritron Member

Dec 7, 2019
    Well I have Comcast 1 gigabit for 99 I been streaming for over 10 years including international programming. Well what is the cost of streaming, specially with data caps. It is an extra $50 for unlimited Comcast + streaming service youtube tv $55 with only 70 channels. I have xtra package so I get way more than 70 I also have emby with tons of movies shows and ota antenna with silicon dust recording. I have multiple fire stick. I figure out direct tv is cheaper with more channels than any streaming service if you include price of internet. I wish with new laws being passed regarding isp prohibiting them from charging for unlimited data. I guess I can use my old att iphone as hotspot it 150 mbs