1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

directv.com or local installer??

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by zimm0who0net, Dec 27, 2011.

1. zimm0who0net

zimm0who0net Legend

Aug 27, 2002
    I'm in Tucson and looking to do a brand new DirecTV install. Are there any benefits or drawbacks to using one of the many local "Satellite TV" installation guys (or the guy at Best Buy) vs. just going with DirecTV directly on their web site. I have no direct experience (or even indirect experience) with any of the local satellite guys so I certainly couldn't pick one out other than randomly looking through the yellow pages.

2. beestea

beestea AllStar

Dec 13, 2006
    It probably varies from area to area, but in my experience the DirecTV contracted installers do an excellent job. I don't really see an advantage to going with a 3rd party.

3. DogLover

DogLover Hall Of Fame

Mar 18, 2007
    Deals may vary slightly, so you might want to check both places. Also, local dealers may be able to promise you specific models, if that is important to you.

4. Richierich

Richierich Hall Of Fame

Jan 10, 2008
    I've always found that Directv Installs are the way to go and if not happy they will back up their service and I have not had a problem (one exception) with Directv and that one exception was handled and it was Free because of his incompetence but mostly I have had quality installers.

5. zimm0who0net

zimm0who0net Legend

Aug 27, 2002
    Thanks. Honestly I have not seen any difference in the deals so far, but I have not really looked around. Seems that everyone is offering the same thing.