1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DirecTV Genie1 with Bridge saying which TV to replace?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by JEFFREY Webb, Feb 12, 2018.

1. JEFFREY Webb

JEFFREY Webb New Member

Feb 12, 2018
    Hey Guys,
    I'm new to DirecTV. I have a Genie1 with a bridge, 3 wireless mini-genies and 2 4K wired devices. So I have 6 TVs I can currently watch. Today I tried to add another wireless devices and a screen popped up and said something like "I had reached my limit of wireless devices and which one did I want to replace" So it appears my bridge only supports 5 wireless devices (the 4K wired act as wirelss devices). In order to add the new one I had to jump through hoops, enter codes, etc in order to SWAP the new one for one of the others (and it took on the personna "Name" of the one so the new one in the bedroom could now be called BAR.. Here's my question. If I had added this last TV as a totally WIRED device would I not have gotten this error and everything would have been fine? I have two more TVs to add and if I need to wire these I will. I just dont want to still get this REPLACE option.

(I hardwired the entire house so everything wired is a possibility. I have two more TVs to add. DirecTV customer support is a joke. I was on the phone with them for 3 hours tonight, chat for 30 minutes before that and I still dont think I got anything accomplished)

2. Rich

Rich DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ
    I think being hard wired would be the best thing you can do. Sounds like you can do that easily. Wireless can be a bit of a PITA.

Rich

3. NR4P

NR4P Dad

Jan 15, 2007
    Sunny Florida
    What do you mean by Genie1? You have 6 TV's and 2 4K receivers. That reads like a Genie 2.

Do you have a HR54 or HS17?

4. WestDC

WestDC Well-Known Member

Feb 9, 2008
    Welcome to the Site!