1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dish 411 authorization issues

Discussion in 'ViP211(411)/211K/222 Support Forum' started by rob_1, May 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rob_1

rob_1 New Member

May 25, 2007
    Hello All, I'm a newbie at this, so here goes, I recently acquired a opened, but never activated Dish 411 receiver for $50 . I had no problems getting the receiver installed and hooked up to the television. when I went to activate the receiver however, Dish told me that the smart card ID was showing up as invalid, I was on the phone for about an hour, and they claimed that their system would not authorize the receiver no matter what they tried. I've never heard of such a thing happening before, and their only suggestion was to return the box to the retailer that it came from, which I can't do because. I have no idea where it was bought to start with. the odd thing is that one would think that if the smart card slot in the front worked, a new external smart card would override the existing one, thus eliminating the problem. does anyone have any ideas? :confused:

Thanks, Robert

2. James Long

James Long Ready for Uplink! Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Apr 17, 2003
    Michiana
    The 411 has an internal smart card. The slot is there in case Dish Network upgrades their smart card technology and needs to "replace" the card - not as a customer option to replace the card.

Most likely what is triggering that "invalid smart card" is the receiver being stolen or leased and not returned to Dish. Their advice to return it to where you got it seems to fit that scenario even though their words are not saying "stolen".

You might want to check with whomever you got the 411 from and make sure that they bought it and didn't lease it. They can't sell you what they didn't own. The source of the receiver is important.

3. rob_1

rob_1 New Member