1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dish for HR20 -- easiest setup

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by myronnb, Aug 11, 2012.

1. myronnb

myronnb New Member

Jul 20, 2012
    Newbie here regarding dish setup, etc.... so please hold back the laughter as much as possible regarding my question-- I have an HR20 that we will use at our camp every so often. Can someone point me in the right direction in regards to a dish model that will require the least troublesome setup? I have a satellite finder for homing on a signal. I had an old 18" dish we were using, but upgraded to an HD TV for the camp and want to get the HD channels, locals, etc... After reading several posts here, I do realize that fine tuning the signal will be quite a bit more challenging than the old dish. I just want to get a dish with the least amount of installation issues, etc... Thanks in advance for any information.

2. P Smith

P Smith Mr. FixAnything

Jul 25, 2002
    W.Mdtrn Sea
    Get 3xLNBF KaKu slim dish combo 99/101/103W - easy to setup; find at eBay not SWM model, if you don't have a mount, buy a sturdy tripod.

3. veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
  4. myronnb

myronnb New Member

Jul 20, 2012
    Was checking out the one in the first link above -- I'm only running this to one HD DVR -- I will be mounting it on a mast I have already installed. Do I need to purchase anything else to install -- multiswitch, etc... or is basically everything included?

5. HoTat2

HoTat2 Hall Of Fame

Nov 16, 2005
    Los...
    If you purchase that specific model dish in the first link with a "non-SWiM" LNB, be sure to have two B-Band Converters (BBCs).

http://www.satpro.tv/directv-b-band-converter.aspx

6. PokerJoker

PokerJoker Godfather

Apr 12, 2008
    Las Vegas