Dolby Digital Output

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by BigEFan, Jan 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BigEFan

BigEFan New Member

Jan 7, 2005
    I'm looking to buy an additional Dish Network receiver for my new game/ theater room. Of course I have bought a new a/v receiver and would like to take advantage of digital audio that is available on some satellite channels. As a relative newbie I have some questions:
    1) How many channels offer "real" digital audio and is all their programming digital audio or just some of it.
    2) What satellite (edited) receivers are available that have digital audio capabilities. My budget for this project is dwindling so cost is a factor and I am not opposed to buying used equipment. What models, new and old, do you recommend.

Thanks for the advice

2. Codeman00

Codeman00 Godfather

Dec 13, 2003
    Nashville, TN
    1) The only channels that I can tell a difference in are the HD channels HDNET, TNTHD, DiscHD, etc....the main networks in HD also. They are coded in Dolby Digital and sound really good. Usually they are Dolby ProLogic. I don't have HBO, Showtime, etc, so I can't speak for those.

But receivers have their own magic they can do to a regular standard audio signal that make them sound much much better than standard TV audio. Usually they have several sound stage modes to choose from to suit your personal tastes.

2) Most receivers nowadays have digital audio capabilities..either coaxial or optical or both. Just look on the receiver for Dolby Digital 5.1, 6.1, 7.1, etc and or DTS. The logos are on the front. As far as the looking at the inputs in the back of the receiver, check out this webpage for optical or coaxial digital inputs. http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/howto-av.html