1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Downloading Video on Demand

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by Cactus, May 30, 2009.

1. Cactus

Cactus Cool Member

May 22, 2009
    Am I missing something here?? Or does it just take a long time to download a on demand content?

Kind of sucks, finding something you want to watch and having to wait to get it.

Downloaded a movie 1hr 27min moive and it took like 3 hours to do.

Have the hr23-700 with the wall jacks connecting the box to my router.

Should I assume this is normal? I figure just download stuff the night before for the following day.

2. LarryFlowers

LarryFlowers New Member

Sep 22, 2006
    Since the download is routed through your internet connection it would be helpful to know what your internet speed is? Anything less than 6mb is going to made DoD pretty slow.

Larry

3. Cactus

Cactus Cool Member

May 22, 2009
    I am a tech newbie.
    How would I find that out?
    I have roadrunner light service for the internet.
    Would it be on the modem?

4. Mertzen

Mertzen Hall Of Fame

Dec 8, 2006
  5. Cactus

Cactus Cool Member

May 22, 2009
    It goes to download at 0.74???
    Then says user error??

6. Cactus

Cactus Cool Member

May 22, 2009
    My bad it says upload test error.
    Could it be that slow?
    Thanks for your help. Never got into too much tech stuff at all, and found this forum so it intersts me some.

7. LarryFlowers

LarryFlowers New Member

Sep 22, 2006
    Roadrunner Lite is a 768KB downstream service and unfortunately will provide you with a very poor DoD experience. Video files are quite large... many gigabytes... and any connection less than 3MB is going to provide an extremely slow download speed.

Larry

8. MountainMan10

MountainMan10 Icon

Jan 30, 2008
    0.74 is pretty normal for an upload speed. It is the download speed that matters for DOD.